We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not recommend”
Review of Casa Silva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Silva Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 San Fernando B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not recommend”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Staff not prepare. Place is a beautiful 100 years old house well-conserved, however due to the service ( which is terrible also at the tour in the winery) i do not recommend.

When we arrived we didnt find anyone there and after looking for someone we found. He showed our room and that was it.

We had to ask if there was a pool, we found a bar and when we asked for a menu they dont they didnt have but they could bring us some snacks. We asked for cheese and fruits and the surprise was when we check out the price was 40 dolares for it. We had to complain a lot to not pay that all

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaJunqueira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
58
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Within an hour of arrival room safe stolen with contents. Surprising as only 7 rooms ! Hotel only partially operational following damage in 2010 earthquake. Only dining room used for breakfast. Security very suspect. No senior management on site to deal with emergencies. Fortunately Tour Agent in Santiago came to rescue with help. Additional losses incurred because of theft which were not covered by insurance and Hotel has refused to reimburse. Fortunately local police were sympathetic and helpful.
Beautiful area and vineyard. Owners should concentrate on winemaking and passion for polo and close hotel which is run on very amateurish basis.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Vina Casa Silva is a beautiful família winery in the Conchagua valey. It is a nice hacienda houve transformem into a boutique hotel. Beautiful rooms, esplendido cooking and excelent wine. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Room number 4 is excelent, one of the best in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassiano Montei... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

When we arrived we could not find the front desk.....it is in an unlabelled office. The housekeeping staff was gathered in there when we stepped in and no one turned their attention to us until we spoke up. We were given the key to our room, which was LOVELY, but looked out over the parking lot instead of the pool or the gardens etc. We asked if we could move-"No". This became even more irritating as the evening went along and we realized we were the only ones at the hotel for the night (a bit spooky and odd). We were left to find the room ourselves and no help with our bags was offered despite the fact it is a gravel parking lot which is not amenable to using your luggage with wheels! When we asked where we were to go for the winery tour we were advised it was in Spanish only, despite the fact we were the only ones there and there was both an English speaking and Spanish speaking guide in the tour centre, and we had made these arrangements (tour and hotel accommodation) months in advance. When it came to wine tasting....there was only a very small amount of their best wine left in the bottle, and they said "oh, you'll have to share this".....why, because that was their last bottle??? All of these things would not be worth commenting on, if it wasn't for the fact the price for the tour and hotel room was astronomical. We don't mind paying, but when we do, we would like to be treated commensurately.

We had dinner at the restaurant which overlooks the polo field. The food was spectacular and the service in the beautiful restaurant was good.

The hotel room was lovely (but no air conditioning available), the breakfast was wonderful.....if a little odd given that it was a substantial array of food and we were the only ones there.

Again upon checkout, no offer of help with the bags and no one asked how we enjoyed our stay etc.

All in all......it was a nice stay....lovely dinner and accommodations, but very uneven service which was very inconsistent with the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cacl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We loved it at Viña Casa Silva. The staff was very welcoming, spoke great English! We stayed in Room 4 which was lovely. Incredibly comfortable bed. Had dinner at the restaurant, which is a little ways from the hotel (we rode bikes provided by the Wine Shop). The restaurant overlooks the Polo field. Apparently the restaurant used to be in the winery and closer to the hotel but following the earthquake it had to be moved and has since remained. We had a private wine tour (included) the following day after enjoying breakfast. The pool is small but nice and has room to lounge around.

Room Tip: Room 4 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNMTND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The hotel is perfect. The rooms are nice, the confort is there on rendez vous. The rooms is spacious. Everything is charming. But...a bar is maybe to consider on place. The restaurant is nice about the location but the food was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HDLBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This is a lovely small hotel. Everything is very aesthetically done and it feels like you are visiting a home located in the vineyards. The DaSilva winery is first class, so be sure to tour it, and the restaurant at the winery is very good. We had lunch and dinner there and totally enjoyed both meals. The polo grounds are right next to the restaurant, so at lunch if you are lucky you can sit on the terrace and watch a match while you dine. While we enjoyed the hotel very much, the self-serve breakfast was lacking for what the hotel cost. That aside, everyone was very friendly and it was a wonderful, relaxing and beautiful place to spend a day.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKB-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando
0.6 mi away
Ontiveros Hotel
Ontiveros Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Fernando
37 reviews
22.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Vendimia Premium
22.6 mi away
Cava Colchagua Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Hotel TerraVina
Hotel TerraVina
#4 of 12 in Santa Cruz
460 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#5 of 12 in Santa Cruz
847 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hacienda Los Lingues
Hacienda Los Lingues
#2 of 8 in San Fernando
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Silva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Silva Hotel

Property: Casa Silva Hotel
Address: Hijuela Norte S/N Angostura, San Fernando, Chile (Formerly Vina Casa Silva)
Location: Chile > O'Higgins Region > San Fernando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in San Fernando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Silva Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Silva's winery Boutique Hotel is one of the most refined and elegant destinations of Colchagua Valley. The charming family house beside the old winery at Angostura Estate, where four generations of the Silva family lived, is now the residence of their boutique hotel. The colonial-style home has been delicately decorated by Francisco Silva and is the ideal place to connect with the culture of wine, Chilean traditions and all the peacefulness of the Valley's countryside. Its seven comfortable rooms are perfect for relaxing and enjoying a romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Silva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vina Casa Silva Hotel San Fernando
Casa Silva Hotel Chile/San Fernando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing