We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trafford Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here as it is close to Old Trafford - that is as far as the good points for this hotel go.
The interior is ancient, the decor is very old and almost has the look of a derelict building from the outside.
The rooms are horrendous - I stayed in a single room, no heat in the room, the shower worked but with only cold water.
I thankfully did not have the breakfast the next morning but my friend did and he remarked that it seemed like it was reheated leftovers from the previous morning.
Do not stay here - reception staff are very unfriendly and the rooms are awful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraffordHallHotel, General Manager at Trafford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, We are currently in the process of redecoration throughout the hotel, as you may have been aware we have notices up throughout the hotel regarding this.
We find it very unfair to say the rooms are horrendous, although we do appreciate you are entitled to your view, we would like to add though that we are NOT a five star luxury hotel, however our customer service is five star standard, we are a reasonably priced, basic and comfortable clean hotel, We are aware the hotel is in need of redecorating and as previously mentioned we are in the process of doing this.
With regard to your comments relating to staff, I completely disagree. All staff at the Trafford Hall Hotel, pride themselves in their customer service skills and this is reflected in previous reviews, as is the excellent breakfast which is cooked to order. We are disappointed that you feel your experience with us was not a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    102
    85
    54
    82
See reviews for
53
117
39
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Heckmondwike
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as we were attending the Final at Old Trafford and after reading the reviews was unsure what to expect. We stayed in Room 18 which had just been newly painted , the room was very big and spacious with a nice comfortable bed, nice bed linen and pillows. The bathroom was very clean with a nice hot shower. The staff on Reception were very welcoming when we checked in at about 10.30pm. We had a space in the car park when we arrived for the game at 1pm and have got to say we enjoyed a pleasent few hours in the bar both before and after the game. Will stay here again when attending games at Old Trafford .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenHeckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

The location is not extremely bad, four tram stops to the downtow, however it is not in the city centre. I decided to give it a go after I had a look at the hotel pictures and i read some reviews.

The "Trafford Hall Hotel" disappointed me, the only advantage could be the cost (they charged me 30 quid per night, without breakfast).

The building needs a heavy refurbishment. The main stairs, leading to the rooms, were covered by a carpet patched with a thick black sticky tape, to not let the carpt falling to pieces !
The room was not clean. The shelves were covered by crambles and the room leaflets (to remind the customers about checkout, etc.) was covered in yellowish stains ! The provided mug and spoon (along with a kettle and some tea bags), were covered with brown scale. The toilet was the worst bit, stains on the wall, light not working, the hot water tap of the basin was not working.
An electrical shortcut left several rooms without electricity for the whole night (thus without heating).....the receptionist did not apologise after waking people up at quarter to 8 am to ask them about the shortcut.

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefano N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I was in town with my partner to catch the United vs Arsenal game on the 10th of Nov, and we were quite pleased with the location of the hotel (within 12 mins) to Old Trafford Stadium.

The room we were in was rather spacious, but kinda old and dingy.

Was quite disappointed that there was no WiFi in our rooms.

No lifts in the hotel (seems like a standard for most of the "affordable" UK hotels)

Overall, a decent place to stay if you are in town to catch a Manchester United home game

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have to say that when I looked at the Pictures online and looked at the Price I thought ok let’s give this a try.
The transport links are excellent. Many busses passing in both directions all day and the Metrolink is around the corner about a 1 minute walk.
I arrived early at the hotel 12.35 and went to the reception. The lady who served me was quite nice, although she didn’t go too overboard with building rapport or saying much of anything except “you can’t check in until 2pm” The hotel didn’t look very busy so I did wonder if it would have hurt her to check if 1 single room was actually free or to even offer to check my bags in.

Anyway she gave me directions to a pub around the corner and I waited there.
When I arrived back I was checked in very professionally by a gentleman, who gave me a run down of the rules etc.
I was in room 22. This room smells. It has a window that has no view except other bedrooms. The heating doesn’t work and the kettle smells of burning when you switch it on.
You can hear every noise of anyone entering or leaving the hotel.
Oh and the shower is a trickle and the toilet bowl was cracked.

There was a pungent smell of something in the room, but i couldn’t work out where it was coming from.
I decided that the bedding was clean and because of the price and the transport links i would stick it out for 1 night.
This hotel could be amazing. It is the old Public hall building for Trafford and as such should be a good quality hotel with some history. But it just looks sad and run down.
If someone has the injection of cash into this place it could be a marvellous conference centre as well. Instead it looks grubby.
I won’t stay here again, but this is not because of the staff. It is because someone somewhere could not be bothered to make an effort and in todays marketplace of choice and exceptional prices they are never going to make this hotel pay if it stays this way.
I didn’t sample breakfast as the smell in the room somehow made my hunger pangs disappear.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosswar_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

There was several girls who went to The Trafford Hall Hotel. On arrival we were told where our rooms were.but no one showed us to our rooms. I had a single room. Very small and a little bit eerie. No wardrobe. Just a rail which when i put my clothes on it. It hung over the television. Just a portable heater in the room. The walls were so thin. I could hear the couple in next room talking till 2.30am. My friends rooms were a little bit better. But overall none of us were impressed. So we wont stay there again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

As we arrived, we drove off to the Trafford centre to shop to put off going in, strange run down car park with over grown weeds and no other cars in the car park... When we returned, still no cars. We went in to the bar and followed the signs to our room number 11 as advised by the receptionist. Carpet on the stairs was basically taped together with tape and looked dirty, the room looked Victorian very run down, beds had no bed boards and strange variety of furniture, however we decided it put up with it and leave early. I had a shower but was not keen on using the toilet or walking across the floors without shoes! The nights sleep was not comfortable, no mattress protectors and the pillows were like paper. We got up the morning and went.

This is certainly the strangest hotel I've been to. However the staff were very friendly, it is in desperate need for an update. It was no dirty, just very run down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafford
0.5 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stretford
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
0.5 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Hall Hotel

Property: Trafford Hall Hotel
Address: 23 Talbot Road | Old Trafford, Trafford M16 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trafford Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*******PLEASE BE AWARE WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDERGOING EXTENSIVE IMPROVEMENTS/RENOVATIONS WITHIN THE HOTEL, SHOULD YOU HAVE ANY QUERIES REGARDING THIS, PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CONTACT THE HOTEL DIRECT - *** WE OFFER A MATCH DAY THEMED ROOM INCLUDING 2 MATCH TICKETS- ASK FOR AVAILABILITY*** Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you can count on us to make your stay a memorable one. Enjoy the comfort of one of our 30 En-suite Bedrooms each equipped with remote control TV. We are ideally located for all sporting events just minutes walk from both Old Trafford Stadium and Lancashire County Cricket Club. Local attractions include Manchester United Football Stadium, Lancashire County Cricket Club, Manchester International Airport, The Trafford Centre, Salford Quays, The Lowry Centre and Artworks, The Imperial War Museum, MOSI (museum of science and industry), GMex Exhibition Centre, MEN Apollo theatres, Daytona Go-Karting and Sale Water Park. Trafford Bar Metrolink Station located approx. 50 Yards from the hotel provides an excellent transport link to explore the city centre and Manchester train stations. For breakfast, we offer either Continental or Full English which can be booked online with your room. Please note: Any bookings over 5 rooms requires full prepayment at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trafford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafford Hall Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing