We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'a dirty disgusting flea pit!'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trafford Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Trafford
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we arrived just after tea time to check in and were told we were staying in a deluxe room in the cottage just off the main hotel. I was initially excited thinking what a bargain £29 was for a private cottage. The image quickly disappeared when we arrived at what can only be described between a crack den and a pay by the hour kind of place!

The room... decorated in damp everywhere, had cleary been styled to attract those usually found in the red light district, who obviously would not be bothered about decor, comfort or warmth. There were dubious stains on the carpet and bathroom and behind the bed. The windows were painted shut so the stifling damp smell was terrible. After a horrendous nights sleep, due to noise from other 'guests', i awoke to find myself and boyfriend covered in very large flea bites.

Breakfast was an extra option but to be fair eating out of a skip would have probably been more hygenic, safe to say we didn't plump for that added extra.

Im all for a bargain but seriously this was dire, i have stayed in many budget places that were spectacular in comparison. Even in desperate times this hotel would not even be at the very bottom of any future possible 'places to stay in manchester list!' Do yourself a favour and book anywhere else.

Room Tip: at another hotel!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharlene1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Trafford Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 389 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

I read previous reviews and decided to take the plunge. Luckily, we got a room through laterooms.com for 29 pounds. The hotel is quite spacious although, as other reviews will testify, it looks tired in places (charm perhaps?). The car park attendant and receptionist were both smiley, friendly and helpful. Our family room (number20) was clean and spacious with good tea/coffee facilities and the bathroom, whilst basic, was practical. The doors are a little stiff and our safe didn´t work but other than that, the room was fine with firm beds. The hotel doesn´t do meals in the evening, so you´ĺl need to walk to the retail park (10 mins) for fast food. Bar prices for celebration/commiseration reasonable and good for parking, although beware that the publc can pay to park there too. About a 20 min walk to Old Trafford.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrzej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

You get what you pay for, staying for the football, we didn't want o pay much so accepted what we got! A very old and tired room not attached to the main hotel, empty spirit bottles under the bed and wardrobeand dirty sheets.

Really a place when you have a few beers and just need to pass out!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed at the Trafford Hall recently for one night and was pleasantly suprised at the room.It was very spacious and nicely furnished, with plenty of tea coffee and biscuits!. The staff were very friendlyand helpful. Would definetly stay again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swiftymam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

It is a tired and in need of renovation but if you get it at a cheap price it is perfect for the football or cricket. My bed was terribly uncomfortable and I was glad to get up ! Room 11,right hand bed. But I have to say the staff were great,very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was really worried after reading some reviews but I am a sucker for a bargain, so I booked anyway. It was a very pleasant surprise.

We stayed 2 nights on the way back from our holiday. The room was MASSIVE (number 12), quiet, clean, nice beds/pillows, good TV, excellent secure car park (the gates stay open but they have cameras all over) and friendly staff. Full of shops and restaurants nearby and a stone's throw away from the Metro.

The hotel is in need of some upgrade (carpet has seen better days) but for that price I wasn't expecting the Hilton anyway.

Great find and will definitely be back. I would say it is even worth another tenner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolinaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It was quite unpleasant as upon checking in we have to go trough the bar and climb 3 flight of stairs.
We had to leave our suitcases in the car.
The receptionist was very friendly though.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieSHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafford
0.5 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.5 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stretford
361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - TRAFFORDCITY
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafford Hall Hotel

Address: 23 Talbot Road | Old Trafford, Trafford M16 0PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Trafford
Price Range: $56 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trafford Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*******PLEASE BE AWARE WE ARE CURRENTLY UNDERGOING EXTENSIVE IMPROVEMENTS/RENOVATIONS WITHIN THE HOTEL, SHOULD YOU HAVE ANY QUERIES REGARDING THIS, PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO CONTACT THE HOTEL DIRECT - *** WE OFFER A MATCH DAY THEMED ROOM INCLUDING 2 MATCH TICKETS- ASK FOR AVAILABILITY*** Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you can count on us to make your stay a memorable one. Enjoy the comfort of one of our 30 En-suite Bedrooms each equipped with remote control TV. We are ideally located for all sporting events just minutes walk from both Old Trafford Stadium and Lancashire County Cricket Club. Local attractions include Manchester United Football Stadium, Lancashire County Cricket Club, Manchester International Airport, The Trafford Centre, Salford Quays, The Lowry Centre and Artworks, The Imperial War Museum, MOSI (museum of science and industry), GMex Exhibition Centre, MEN Apollo theatres, Daytona Go-Karting and Sale Water Park. Trafford Bar Metrolink Station located approx. 50 Yards from the hotel provides an excellent transport link to explore the city centre and Manchester train stations. For breakfast, we offer either Continental or Full English which can be booked online with your room. Please note: Any bookings over 5 rooms requires full prepayment at the time of booking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trafford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafford Hall Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing