We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all Premier Inns are the same, it seems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Trafford
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Not all Premier Inns are the same, it seems”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I am a big fan of all Premier Inns, but this one is a bit special. It has all the usual PI features - excellent room rates, rooms that work, down to earth & helpful staff and good value food - but apparently this was previously a non-budget hotel. So for the normal PI price, you also get a posher hotel than the usual.

It is in Trafford, but well located for other areas. It is obviously most convenient for the football ground, located just across the road, but also near the Lowry/Imperial War Museum in Salford. Plus it only takes about 20 minutes to get into central Manchester on the tram - I book was on a a business trip in the city centre, and booked because the room rate was good, but actually I may well choose this one again - even if the more central PIs were the same price.

I'm giving 4.5 of my score for a well-run, friendly Premier Inn - and the other 0.5 mark for that little extra non-budget experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    439
    129
    37
    29
See reviews for
616
502
66
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Literally a stones throw from Old Trafford and near to Trafford Centre shopping etc. A good Premier Inn and ideal if you are staying overnight and off to the football for a match / tour. Check in swift, check in area decent with a few computers for use, rooms tidy and up to date and good restaurant and bar on site. The service in the restaurant was swift but not rushed and the food was from a pretty standard menu but was cooked and presented well with a friendly but not overbearing service.
The only gripe was the usual over expensive WiFi at £10.00 per night (24 hours) or £5.00 for 1.5 hours......incredibly steep in my view especially as unlimited home broadband is £10.00 per month......sounds a bit Ryanair'esque' from Premier Inn.
They could do with putting standard sockets near the bed but however pretty good value in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Confortable. Friendly. Good value for money. Clean. Convenient To Old Trafford.
Would recommend this Hotel very highly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mufc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I took my son to the man utd tour for his birthday and booked at the premier inn. The entrance is stunning, very smart makes you feel your in the wrong hotel, The welcome was warm and welcoming, on request our room was opposite the ground, we were treated like we were VIP's, it was great, the food staff everything, has to be my favourite premier inn so far.

Room Tip: We phoned ahead to ask for a room to see the football ground and it was no trouble for them to sort
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mamamurphy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was the perfect hotel for the Old Trafford Football Ground. We could see the ground from our bedroom window.
The staff were really friendly and we arrived at the attached restaraunt when it was close to closing but we were still welcomed in and nothing seemed too much trouble. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MandieGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in a family room with a cot. Great sized room with a lovely view over the water of the Quays. Nice extra of one double and 2 single beds for the kids. Makes it so much easier than having both kids in a double bed(less arguing this way). Enjoyed breakfast with kids eating free.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ourfamiliesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We travelled to Manchester(2 adults,2 teenagers) for Arsenal/Man utd game at Old Trafford (8-2!!! YES!!)
The hotel is ideal for this purpose as just over the road from the stadium. We booked for location and reasonable price as we had not stayed at Premier Inns before we didn't know what to expect. I was very impressed all round. The staff were very efficient, friendly and professional. The cleanliness of the hotel in all areas was impressive and the breakfast was lovely with a wide range of good quality food to suit any taste.
Overall a good price for good service and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livesforthekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafford
0.1 mi away
Hotel Football Old Trafford
0.4 mi away
ibis budget Manchester Salford Quays
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester - Salford Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chesters Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
Victoria Warehouse Hotel
#3 of 3 in Stretford
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel
Address: Sir Alex Ferguson Way, Trafford M17 1WS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Trafford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Trafford
#1 Business Hotel in Trafford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Trafford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get closer to the drama at our very own 'Theatre of Dreams' - Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford. Literally just over the road from the world-famous stadium, and with great views of it to. You're also in the perfect spot for shopping, shows, cricket or just chilling out. Indulge in some retail therapy at the Trafford Centre or Salford Quays. Catch the action at Lancashire Cricket Club, or visit the Imperial War Museum North. Stay with us and support your team at Old Trafford Stadium. Win, lose or draw, you can rely on extra-comfy beds, spacious rooms and a great night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel Trafford
Manchester Premier Inn
Premier Inn Manchester Old Trafford Hotel Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing