We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like the Marie Celeste” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospederia del Zenete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hospederia del Zenete
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Calahorra
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like the Marie Celeste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

With no hotel booked after a 3.5 hour drive to the area we came upon this hotel as it sits under the shadow of what is a superb 16th century castle in La Calahorra.

It is on a fairly quiet road with good and easy parking. On trying to gain entry we found the doors locked (at 4.00pm). The bar however was open. What do you do but have a drink and inquire from the barman about hotel availability. No problem. We went though a link to the reception and he unlocked the doors. He spoke little English and I spoke a little Spanish and with smiles and gesticulations we understood each other enough and booked into a spacious room on the side of the hotel.

The bar was typically Spanish and not expensive for drinks. The hotel was Rustic Spanish with lots of dark wood, beamed ceilings and hanging chandeliers. Unfortunately, it was definitely not user friendly if you have a walking disability as there were quite a few steps to tackle and everywhere was so dark, with lights switched off. We had no need to look at any other facility that could be available.

The bedroom was large enough and looked over the side of the hotel to mountains and the pool area. Bed was harder than I found acceptable and bolster pillows made it difficult to get comfortable. There was no safe or fridge (4* ?). The air-con was just about adequate, but did not function well. The bathroom was spacious, clean and obviously correctly serviced.

Breakfast was terrible. A toasted half baguette with only marmalade, margarine and a fish paste that must be a local delicacy. No butter. A little cold meat and cheese complimented by a cup of coffee and orange juice finished the choice. Not acceptable for the price or for a so called 4* hotel, which it was not, in my opinion at present.

Free Wi-fi worked well.

There were not enough staff and there wasn't a time that we didn't have to wait to be served or attended to, except when we had to pay on departure. The bar keeper was exceedingly pleasant and helpful and I believe the other staff were afraid to try and communicate in English and my attempts in Spanish seemed to fall on deaf ears with some.

This was at best a 3* and perhaps at present it may be less. I shall try and find somewhere a little better next time.

Room Tip: Side rooms seem to be quiet. All rooms should be fine, but many don't have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NevilleM2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    24
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
34
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camlough N Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

I don't think this is a summer hotel as there were very few guests and a complete lack of atmosphere. The gym is actually a tiny room with four machines and nothing else, not even a mat! The swimming pool is accessed through a locked door that leads to the garage, through the garage and then through a gate. The alternative is to go out through the front door, in full view of the main road and round the side of the hotel and then through the gate. There is no pool service so no chance of a cool drink unless one wants to make the return journey into the hotel in swim wear!
Food is disappointing and relatively expensive. The staff in the bar were very friendly. There is an excellent view of the castle but actually directly opposite the hotel is a farm compound with sheep or maybe they were goats and quite a heap of animal manure!
The hotel is definitely not 4 star, rather a very average 2/3 star

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camlough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We live in the UK, got married in Hungary and had a honeymoon in Spain. We were staying nearby Alicante but wanted to discover the south and enjoy some authentic experience. This hotel is very close to the motorway, our trip to the Alhambra was a long one and we were looking for a hotel to stay on the way back. This seemed ideal, however I had concerns reading previous reviews. So i visited their website first. Nice photos... Then I tried to find the cheapest deal to get value for money, and booking.com was the best offering a package of B&B basis, plus car park and full wellness (quite small but very private and nice) for a really good price. I don't remember exactly how much it was but around 70 euros per room per night. We booked in for one night. On arrival, we entered to the restaurant first. The guy there was alone and seemed helpful but speak no English. We were given a room key took the elevator to the room. It had a view to the castle and a small farm, and had a balcony. The whole interior was like an oldy-worldly castle and old fashioned appliances, but all seemed nice, especially the toiletries (shaving kit, hair kit. etc)... Then we headed to the restaurant for a beer after the long drive we had. Although it stated they had free wifi we could not get onto it (my husband UK provider locked rooming), the guy in charge gave us his laptop so we could get on the internet... very nice.
We had a little drive around and decided to eat at the restaurant. First we checked out the wellness facilities. The gym is quite small, but we spent most of the time in the sauna and the jacuzzi, really nice and private. In the whole hotel I think we were the only guests.... then we went to the restaurant. A lots of locals go there and they really create a great atmosphere....I had the pork shoulder and he had lamb, both were very delicious and tasted organic, the wine was great too and we had a complimentary whiskey and were shown to the private balcony to finish our drinks.
Staff were great! Really very friendly. So we had a great night and next morning had the breakfast which is not a big deal really, toasted bread and aioli. We headed towards the castle that is open only one day a week, it was a Wednesday I think, but not sure... It was nice.
All in all, research what you want but I do recommend to stay there if you wish to feel part of the community for an evening.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daverobo2
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

Well, having read a review we ( late 40's couple ) were slightly wary. We needn't have been, the room we were given had a boring hillside view, but other than that, everything was great. Room was comfortable, as was bed, aircon worked as expected, bathroom was nice, not really that bothered about toiletries, etc, but they were more than adequate ( we tend to use our own ). We arrived late ( 9pm ) but the restaurant welcomed us at 10:00, and nothing was too much trouble. The meal ( and wine ) was good quaility ( spanish - obviously - you don't tend to get chips with everythng this far from resorts ) well presented, and also very reasonable. Only downside was the castle could not be viewed ( sunday ). English not well understood would be my only comment that may put people off, The Hotel is attractive, and has free wireless internet. Wouldn't mind going back in the winter - to see the snow! ( at 4000 ft above sea level it gets cold )

  • Liked — pretty much everything
  • Disliked — nothing to do if you need to be distracted
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daverobo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2008

supposedly 4 stars but the perks have long gone - cheap toiletries, empty space where the minibar once was, broken shower. There isa gym/jacuzzi but you have to pay 12euros pp/per hour to use it. Roadside rooms are noisy.

The food in the restaurant was shocking though the waiter was enthusiatic about our custom.

Really dissappointing.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Calahorra hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Calahorra
9.1 mi away
Hotel GIT Abentofail
Hotel GIT Abentofail
#1 of 10 in Guadix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio de Onate
Hotel Palacio de Onate
#4 of 10 in Guadix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
19.7 mi away
Melia Sierra Nevada
Melia Sierra Nevada
#2 of 13 in Nevada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Melia Sol y Nieve
Melia Sol y Nieve
#1 of 13 in Nevada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
12.1 mi away
Cuevas Hammam Abuelo Jose
10.9 mi away
Hotel Abades Guadix
Hotel Abades Guadix
#5 of 10 in Guadix
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospederia del Zenete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospederia del Zenete

Property: Hospederia del Zenete
Address: Carretera Ragua 1, 18512 La Calahorra, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > La Calahorra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Calahorra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hospederia del Zenete 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hospederia del Zenete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospederia Del Zenete Spain/La Calahorra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing