We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marina Holiday Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marina Holiday Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrate
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Just spent one night here after touring Sicily but wish we could have stayed longer. The welcome at reception was very good and the service from the staff at the hotel was excellent; they even helped me to pay for the parking ticket that I had picked up in Siracusa. The rooms are large and well kitted out. As it was not high season when we stayed, the hotel was peaceful but I am sure it livens up in the summer. The views over the bay are very nice. If you like being treated like a valued customer, then this hotel is just for you.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrLSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    134
    41
    32
    15
See reviews for
66
305
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waldwick, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great hotel with an excellent off-season rate. It overlooks the sea and has beautiful views. We were fortunate to have great weather, so we could take advantage of the pool and the nearby beach. The staff was very friendly and there is an excellent spa facility on site. The included breakfast was very good. Neighborhood is very quaint with lots of good food to be found. Rooms had good, free Internet. Short drive from the Palermo airport. The railroad runs right next to the property, but the trains are short and they do not run overnight. Not far from the station if you need to use the train.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with at least a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanNazario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel located directly on a small beach and marina. What they forgot to mention was that this four star resort (i use that word with remorse) had no working elevator, no restaurant and no seats outside to enjoy the view. all the services had just stopped the day before, but I doubt it. The sun chairs where put away some time ago.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had a good time here, beautiful hotel, so well decorated. Shabby chic down to a tee!
Marvellous dinner and breakfast too. The owner has a great choice of food and wines, the breakfast was the best i had on my whole two weeks in Sicily.

There is a small pool there but some odd rules that are in place, it was shut from 1-3pm but we just ignored it and carried on sunbathing, the view is beautiful and sunset spectacular. Just go there and have dinner if you are nearby, its amazing.

On the down side... not many sun beds, four I think so we ended up on the grass. They weren't that great when we did try them as you couldn't put the backs down.

The staff weren't very helpful, the receptionist was very severe they didn't give us the room we booked, we asked for a twin and got a double. She told us its no problem for two girls to share a bed!!!
But the rooms were so lovely it was a pleasure to be in them. Id say it was great for a romantic break. There are beaches either side of the hotel but not walking distance really.

Room Tip: There ate four poster beds if you are looking for a romantic break.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

great rooms, great services, we also got a nice dish with gluten free options,
hotel has 2 resturants we eat in the pricey one, service was slow but food was excellent.

good location to get to riserva naturale dello zingaro and terrasini, and a nice relaxing by the sea location.

really liked it.

Room Tip: loved our hydro massage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angie_sims112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balestrate
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Public areas of hotel were very good, pool size very small, breakfast choice excellent as was restaurant. Room size was tiny and bathroom needed upgrading. My daughter and I had booked on a deal with easytobook.com, I don't believe we got a deal, I believe the room we got reflected the price we paid for it. Apart fro that we had a very enjoyable time and would recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank CAWParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days in June 2013; the hotel is set across 3 different buildings, and due to an internet fault in the first building we were in, we were then placed in a different room though this wasn’t a problem since the second room was huge and absolutely gorgeous! The décor of the room was done to a very high spec, and the hotel itself looked lovely! As for the location, there isn’t much to do in Balestrate, though there is a main square where you can get lots of ice cream etc, and a supermarket which is really useful to get bits in for the room (the minibar fridge has lots of empty space). Beware where you stand in Balestrate – we think there are lots of stray dogs, and hence lots of dog muck, which is a shame.

The services for the hotel were ok – the pool is rather small, much smaller than the picture, but if the hotel is quiet then this isn’t too much of a problem (there are only 6 beds in total we think). The pool actually closes between 1-3 (we think due to lunch being served) which is very strange, and something we have never come across before, though we tended to eat out at this time anyway.

Breakfast seemed great at first, but as the hotel got quieter there was much less selection which was a shame – sometimes there was scrambled eggs and Italian meats, but on one day there wasn’t any at all, they do have croissants on some days but again not all days. For lunch and dinner, the food at the hotel was very fishy, and since myself and my partner don’t eat fish we didn’t try the hotel food.

We tried the SPA which was also ok, but not great value for money – we had a couples massage for €120, which was supposed to be for 50 mins, but it didn’t last that long and we were also kept waiting because they were late.

The hotel isn’t too far to get to Mondello beach by Palermo, and San Vito Lo Capo is only 1 hour away by car (bear in mind over by San Vito Lo Capo gets VERY cloudy, so not a great place to stay). There is a small beach nearby to the hotel, but we never tried it – we did sit off the port and fish one day, which was lovely – it is an absolute sun spot around here, and we sat out most days until around 8pm!

All in all I would definitely say the hotel is deserving of its 4 stars – the décor is gorgeous! The location isn’t too bad at all really, and is close to tourist hot spots without it being overcrowded (which Palermo is). Gorgeous views, lovely weather, and VERY accommodating staff (the hotel manager Filippo was extremely helpful). I would recommend to those who want to stay in the north, but a car is a must!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrate
35.8 mi away
Visir Resort and Spa
Visir Resort and Spa
#2 of 7 in Mazara del Vallo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence Villaggio Petruso - Balestrate
41.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Florio Park Hotel
Florio Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Terrasini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
56.3 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
65.3 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Holiday Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Holiday Resort & Spa

Property: Marina Holiday Resort & Spa
Address: Via Riva Dei Pescatori, 90041 Balestrate, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Balestrate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marina Holiday Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the tourist port of Balestrate, born Marina Holiday Hotel, designed to offer its customers the ultimate in comfort and relaxation. MH The hotel has a lift that allows direct access to the beach and the port. In this structure the terrace overlooking the sea is the ideal place to taste the Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Marina Holiday Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Holiday Resort And Spa
Marina Holiday Hotel Balestrate
Marina Holiday Resort & Spa Balestrate, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing