We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Costa Azul
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$103
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Punta Nord-Est(Castellammare del Golfo)
$106
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina di Petrolo Hotel & Spa(Castellammare del Golfo)
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Al Madarig(Castellammare del Golfo)
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vanity SPA(Balestrate)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveler rating
62
45
16
16
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
45
16
16
8
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 147 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Lovely receptionist Linda who is the only person with proffessional skills who knows what hotel guests require on holiday.Lovely Hotel but the OWNER and Daughter are the Rudist people I have ever met on holiday in 45yrs.Will not agree to serve a sandwich middle of the afternoon,sits watching you have your evening meal in the dinning room whilst whatching their TV programme with a face like thunder.Takes a min of 2hrs to have a 3course meal.the food is edible NO CHOICE take it or leave it and of very small portions for the time one has to wait.A large beer is 5Eur in the bar supermarket 89cents 400% mark up.Our Mini suite was lovley,comfortable and well serviced by the made.The hotel is surrounded by tons of litter. the beach is a walk down a back road give this a big miss Urgh.
Pepi guided tours from Sim Sala Bim in Balastrade was brill also his bar for a real Sciclian meal is worth a visit.
I will return to Scilily but would stay in Trapani

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partonj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

This is a new hotel which has been nicely decorated and maintained, so you get all the benefits that come with that i.e. modern facilities, nice rooms etc. We had a mini suite which was beautifully furnished and spacious. The room had 2 flat screen tv's which would have been great if we could have watched them! The only english channel was BBC World News which became a bit repetitive and unfortunately as there is nothing to do after dinner you are reliant on things you can do in your room.

Balestrate is a small coastal town, which desperately needs some care and attention if it is to suceed as a holiday destination. The local beach is disgusting, raw sewage on the beachfront, piles an piles of rubbish and waste along the beach road with all the flies and smells you would expect to see at a rubbish dump are all this beach has to offer.

There are no where near enough ammenities in Balestrate so tourists are forced to either hire a car ( which most peoplpe do) or find some other means of getting out of Balestrate. While we were there all the other guests were British, which meant we were able to give eachother tips about where to go and what to do.

The food on the half board package is extremely basic and is not good value for money...we had omlette and potatoes twice in the space of a week! and the drinks are extortionate. The service at dinner was excrutiatingly slow, on avaerage it took 2 1/2 hours to serve 3 courses.

Having said all that the hotel staff were nice and helpful and Balestrate is well located on the island which means it is easy to get to beautiful and interesting things to do. If you like beaches head to San Vito. Trapani and Palermo offer a good range of restaturants and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islandexplorers74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Could not fault the hotel for service, food or rooms. The pool area is lovely with plenty of sun beds etc. We only had two good days weather wise so were unable to use the pool for the remainder of our week which was a pity as we could have spent time relaxing round the pool .
The walk into Balestrate which was fine during daylight but impossible at night because of the unlit winding road, stray dogs and dark beach, after the evening meal there was nothing to do except sit in the bar which was in the breakfast room or sit in our room. TV is restricted to BBC world news unless you speak Italian.
You definitely need transport at this hotel there are no taxis.There are trips to be booked, which we did not do as we prefer to explore so we hired a car for 3 days. The guests were mainly English and we all had the problem finding things to do. It was our first visit to Sicily and we felt we were probably not in the best area for tourists
Balestrate is not a holiday resort ,not enough bars and restaurants. The natural resources are all there if they cleaned up the beach areas and got rid of the mountains of rubbish piled up against full bins then the area would be much more appealing.
This hotel would be fine for people touring around.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

After having to postpone our holiday for 1 week due to the volcano, we were collected at the airport by the transfer company, Sim Sala Bim and taken to the hotel. The frontage, garden area and swimming pool were imaculately presented, and we were given a friendly welcome by the receptionist, Linda. Having booked a suite for a small extra charge, we were pleasantly surprised by a large living space including our double bedroom and a smaller single room (which we used to store our cases). Large wardrobes, dining table, satelite TV in both the living area and bedroom, along with fridge and safe, all very clean and well kept. Nice bathroom, but small shower. Good balcony with sea view. Having read previous reviews, we were anticipating the food to be quite basic, but am pleased to report that all those guests staying including ourselves, praised the quality and quantity provided. Two choices were given for both the starter and main course - starter always pasta, and the main course varied from Chicken, Veal to different types of fish (swordfish, bream, etc), with choice of potatoes and vegetables/salad (note green salad was only fresh lettuce!). A desert was also included (all quite delicious). On two evenings we decided to have the a la carte menu - I had melon/proscuttio then beef in hot oil, my husband had pasta with mushrooms & sliced truffle and the beef, and we both felt it was more than equal to meals we'd enjoyed in high quality restaurants (such as Harvey Nichols). The only small criticism would be the restaurant lacks a little atmosphere, the TV should be removed and the lighting dimmed or candlelit to add ambience. Otherwise, all staff were most helpful (especially Linda, Lydia & Stephania), we attempted to converse with the lady owner and her daughter in broken Italian and thereafter were most warmly received and greeted daily. The nearby beach could be beautiful if tidied, other guests said the beach/sea were fantastic. A 15 minute walk into centre of Balastrate (via busy road or beach) - go beyond the main square to find more bars/restaurants, and also past the jetty is the best beach by far, suitable for snorkelling, etc. Great trips available from hotel or airport transport company - definitely include Erice, but if you want to go to Palermo (very busy and dusty), then go by bus or trip rather than train. Other local beaches are within easy reach. Other guests hired cars which did make getting around much easier, but avoid visiting Palermo by car - it's manic. Overall, great hotel with good facilities - we would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed here in Oct 2009, hotel probably 2* only. Sea views none existant due to angle of hotel. Situated out of the town, which was not much to see anyway.Rooms a good size, but bathrooms very small. Trains run through the night and approx every hour during the day, can be very noisy especially if you want to open the windows, which we had to do as air con not working. Food was disgusting & certainly not as suggested in hotel advertising , very little choice and tiny portions. Always pasta dish as a starter , which was better than the main meal. One night meal consisted of 2 bones which had no meat at all. Probably worst food we have ever had on the Med.
Breakfast same every day,some cheap processed cheese,& thin smoked plastic ham.Rest continental breakfast and not very appertising. Nothing topped up unless you asked.Tokens for evening meals & breakfast coffee. Bar doubled as breakfast room & pop & adult drinks very expensive & very limited. Best find a bar in the town if you have a car as we did, car hire limited and expensive, cars not very clean either. Staff on reception helpful, but maids rifle through any bags you bring back & report to the owners. You are not supposed to have any food/drink in the rooms as they have a mini bar. This consists of a few tiny shorts,very small bottles of water & some juice all charged at excessive prices (ie Jack Daniels 8.5euro)plus a few little snacks a choc bar at 3.5euro more than 5 times more than a local shopwas selling for,So avoid touching these. No tea/coffee making facilities as stated.
Pool ok, but if hotel had been full was not enough sun beds etc.only alllowed 1 towel per dayAlways seem to be cleaning before lunch so limits use..Beach dirty and full of rubbish, full of stray dogs packs. Hotel is well out of town and down ill from the main road, anyone with walking difficulties would find it a nightmare, car hire is so limited that they ran out of cars even though no main season, so you need to book early.
Best thing about this holiday was coming home, which is something I have never said in over 35yrs of foreign travel. As we had hired the car for all of our holiday visited most of the island, there is little to attract and everywhere we went was run down & neglected.
We would never recommend either this hotel or Sicily to anyone, unless we really disliked them! Have visited mainland Italy, and although someparts are run down it is really nice & the people are great, sadly neither can be said for this island. Outward appearance of hotel is fine but does not meet up to hotel info on the internet.Also has only breakfast /bar to sit in or reception, which is cold and drafty and when raining wet, as water runs under the glass and into the reception area. Be careful when wet as corridors open to the elements and get very slippy.
So all in all there are far nicer Med desitinations to visit.!!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
Thank Holidayoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews