We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as my first visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Adler
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Villabassa
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As good as my first visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Always nice to return to a vacation location that was magical the first time and have it meet and exceed the second time. I was part of a hiking tour and stayed a week at Hotel Adler last year in June without my husband. Bragged about it so much that we both came back this year! Fantastic.
Very easy to get to also. Last year I rode the train from Munich, this year Milan. Change trains in Fortezza for a one hour ride up a beautiful valley. Step off train go left down the hill and to the front door of the hotel. We took advantage of the hiking tours lead by Iris through the hotel and also bought a 7 day Mobil Card with unlimited use on all the trains on the Sudtirol and all buses. Incredible deal. 28 euro each for the week.
Thank you again Rosmarie, Luciano and all of the staff!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacksonville_FLKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    83
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
91
122
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of a group on a snowshoe walking holiday. Other reviewers have already identified the plus points: substantial breakfasts; excellent 5 course evening meals (with the cover charge for a carafe of water at 1Euro 50 not too outrageous); relaxing spa and ideal location in the quiet village. Many of our group felt that the choice of dark green paint in the bedrooms, made the rooms feel dowdy and small. The woodwork needed some attention too. That said, the rooms were cosy -the heat from the minibar was a great place to dry clothes- and clean. The waiting-on staff were all very friendly, hard working and knowledgeable; making appropriate suggestions for choices of wine. They were good humoured when dealing with our large group, particularly when we couldn't make up our minds over the extensive food choices! Vegetarians and those with specific dietary requirements were well catered for. Villabassa is a small, but it's less than a 5 minute walk to the station, where you can catch regular (and cheap) trains to other towns in the area. The bus stop is a 1 minute walk from the hotel. Reception staff were only to happy to offer suggestions of places to visit, or to give times of trains and buses. We spoke with people who were staying in the apartments and they seemed very happy with the service and the fact that they had the use of the spa/sauna and pool. It would be interesting to return and see the area in summer. I think all of us in the group felt that Hotel Adler was an excellent base for our holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2manyhats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
160 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked a two room apartment through Booking dot com, which I think is the beginning of the problem as this agent simply does not provide enough detail about self catering apartments. I soon realised we were actually staying in an annexe grandly called the "Residence." This is a good 500 metres away and involved wheeling a case across ice covered roads and up a short hill. After check in you are just given the keys and directions. No one accompanies you. No one explains the apartment. We found it, in the roof! An attic, quaintly constructed but not very practicable. One bedroom had no heating (it was January!) the other was heated but with three single beds which looked like jail beds (not that I have ever slept in a jail!). There was only light from a tiny skylight in each bedroom and in the bathroom no windows at all and one bathroom, en suite, also had no ventilation. Artifical light was meagre and a grand chandelier held only about half the potential working bulbs. The kitchen was relatively well stocked with pans and plates but absolutely no essentials at all - no salt and pepper - no dishtowel - no washing up liquid (there is no dishwasher of course). the fridge had had the thermostat removed so could not be adjusted. Presumably another part of the owners' cost cutting? On our first evening I fell leaving the apartment in the dark. there are numerous single outside steps but there was no outside lighting at all. Add to this the fact that no attempt had been made to clear ice or to add grit, and this was lethally dangerous. After we spoke at reception someone was dispatched to fix the lights and throw a few cursory bits of grit down. We ate in the restaurant of the main hotel (see separate review). At the Residence there is no Wifi. We discovered at least one of the staff was staying at this annexe and we think ultimately we may have stumbled on the workers' hostel opportunistically let out where demand could justify it. I think the overall management belongs to an era when people would come and stay here regardless of quality and service. They could so easily have made a better impression. Having someone go with us to the apartment or at least call later, putting some basic items in it like salt and pepper, washing up liquid, a tea-towel and so on - we are used to self catering in Poland, Austria, and indeed elsewhere in Northern Italy where there would even be a bottle of wine to welcome us. Putting the outside lights on without being asked would also have been a kindness....no I am afraid these people do not care.

Room Tip: I understand that rooms and apartments in the main building are better. they could not be a lot wors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Another great visit at Hotel Adler. The hotel is located close to shopping, relaxing, and skiing. The skiing this year was wonderful with great snow conditions. The hotel has comfortable rooms, relaxing living rooms, fun stube, wonderful spa, and amazing staff. We consider this a second home, as the staff are so warm and helpful. The hotel lobby has great information on local events and activities. We took an excursion to Cortina for Hockey and we did a Night Hike of Lago Dobiacco (both were wonderful). The breakfast buffet is well stocked and a great start to our day of skiing. The dinners are culinary delights with local specialties and each plate a work of art. We typically start the day with breakfast, check with the staff on ski/snow conditions, pick a mountain to ski, ski, return to the hotel for rest/spa/stories. The dinner is a delight for the food and story telling. The town of Villabassa has a NaturPark trail and is good for an after dinner walk. Enjoy your visit with Hotel Adler and the Town of Villabassa.

Room Tip: Our room is in the main building and is one floor above the lobby. It is a great location and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Reception staff could not have been more helpful particularly when I needed to arrange an urgent flight home due to a family member falling ill unexpectedly. Excellent food and service in the restaurant. Room decor a little dated and opressive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Thank you Christian and Helene for a wonderfull time in your fine hotel. I stayed with you as part of a walking group in August.. What a joy it was to return each evening after a walk in the mountains to your comfortable and well run hotel. Your beautifull leisure facilities were rejuvenating. I used them every day. Each evening we were delighted with Helenes fine cooking. Your staff looked after us so well. I must mention Rosmary in Reception, Enzo and Tobias in the Bar and Lucciano and Alexander in the Dining Room. They made us feel so welcome and at home. Nothing was too much trouble from them. Well done indeed. I look forward to returning..

Room Tip: Churchbells ring early in Villabassa. Bring earplugs with you if you want to get up later in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnD5186NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I just want to say a big thank you to the wonderful team at Hotel Adler for making my stay so enjoyable. I was there with an Exodus walking trip. The hotel is family owned and run, which really makes a difference, and all the staff are so friendly and helpful. My three massages with Martina were also really good, and a lovely treat after hard days of hiking in the beautiful Dolomites. I also really enjoyed our day bike riding around the lake. What a beautiful and quirky place for a week's respite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villabassa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#2 of 5 in Villabassa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bachmann
Hotel Bachmann
#4 of 5 in Villabassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Trenker
Hotel Trenker
#1 of 11 in Braies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gasthof Huber
Gasthof Huber
#4 of 11 in Braies
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Union
Hotel Union
#1 of 22 in Dobbiaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Weiherbad
Hotel Gasthof Weiherbad
#3 of 5 in Villabassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Property: Hotel Adler
Address: Piazza von Kurz 3, 39039 Villabassa, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Villabassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Villabassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adler 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing