We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed a few times, it's great.”
Review of Hotel Adler

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Adler
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Villabassa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Stayed a few times, it's great.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times, and the hotel and service are great, it's between two ski resorts, so you can drive to the resort of your choice each morning (if you're there for skiing) I'd recommend it, the owners (Christian and Helen) and the staff know how to run a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    83
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
91
122
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wallington
Level Contributor
165 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed in the beautiful suite with the balcony with our 3 children, aged 5, 8 and 10. We only stayed for 4 nights but would have stayed longer, had we realised how good the place was. There is a unique quality about this hotel that makes it easily one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. It is very well kept, the staff are lovely and helpful and the suite was far more spacious than we were expecting. The food was also very good and we very much enjoyed our evening dining experience. The staff were very helpful and allowed us to feed the children their dinner and then pop them upstairs to watch a movie, allowing my husband and I to enjoy the rest of our meal in peace. This is "hotel gold" for parents, believe me.
The pool area was also lovely and we had a few massages while we were there too. Just what we needed!
Villabassa is a quiet little town, very well located for hiking trips. There is a fantastic children's playground a pleasant 10 minutes walk away from the hotel and the kids wanted to play here every day.
This hotel is incredibly good value.
I can't imagine anyone not loving this hotel. We'd love to go back one day.

Room Tip: The top suite with the balcony was beautiful and spacious. Stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadsabroad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights and looked forward to our five course meals every night after busy days walking or cycling in beautiful countryside. A good buffet breakfast set us up for the day and drinks in the cosy bar meant that we had to get in a full days exercise to burn off the calories. Christian, the owner gave us good advice on the best walks in the area. All the staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English and arranged bike hire for us. We dropped the bikes off in Lienz in Austria and took the train back to Villabassa. Our room had a separate bath and shower, felt very spacious and had lovely soft duvets. The hotel has a lovely indoor pool area which was good for relaxing aching muscles.We feel very lucky to have found such a gem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbeyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are just home from a wonderful holiday at The Adler in Villabassa, Italy. From the moment we arrived at this wonderful Hotel we were treated like one of the family, smiling helpful staff who couldn't do enough for us. One morning after a very tough mountain hike on the Dolomite's the day before my husband and I decided to relax and take it easy, the owner Christian been his usual friendly self asked about our day and within minutes had put us on two electric bikes from the shop next door, map in hand and off we cycled for the day. We discovered more beautiful Villages and a stunning Lake at a lovely leisurely pace, Our room was beautiful and kept spotless with a view of the charming Village square where twice a month fabulous markets are held. The standard of food was only incredible, every course was delicious, local and seasonal, created by Helena a superb chef (Christians' wife). We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maura003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very pleasantly surprised at the class and style of hotel included in my walking holiday tour. Very friendly, excellent service for the whole week - nothing too much trouble. Gourmet dinners, spotless sauna and swimming facilities. Decor filled with delightful local antique. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Back rooms a little quieter and better appointed. You get used to the Church bell but sometimes a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of an adventure holiday and accordingly had quite low expectations but on arrival the Adler really impressed me. It is worlds away from a chain hotel being both luxurious and full of character. The alpine style of the region is reflected in the style of the hotel and it still light and spacious.

The bedroom had shutters which made it very dark, which was excellent in the bright summer conditions. The flat-screen TV was a recent model with a mix of German, Italian and one or two English language channels. My room had a shower without a bath, but it was very powerful and there was always ample hot water.

The standard of service throughout was excellent. All the staff at breakfast, on the desk and at the hotel bar were courteous, polite and didn't have a problem communicating in English. The service did not even slip during the last few days of the trip when a local Mountain Biking event brought in significantly more guests. The extra waiters drafted in were equally as good.

Whilst I didn't use the pool and leisure facilities other people in my party said they were excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter if you prefer to sleep in late. The church bell in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We couldn't fault this hotel. Our room was amazing, extremely spacious, robes, slippers, large bathroom and comfy bed. It was clean and had great views across the square. The service and all the staff were very attentive and the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villabassa
0.0 mi away
Emma - Historic Hotel
Emma - Historic Hotel
#2 of 5 in Villabassa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bachmann
Hotel Bachmann
#4 of 5 in Villabassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Trenker
Hotel Trenker
#1 of 11 in Braies
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gasthof Huber
Gasthof Huber
#4 of 11 in Braies
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Union
Hotel Union
#2 of 22 in Dobbiaco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gasthof Weiherbad
Hotel Gasthof Weiherbad
#3 of 5 in Villabassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adler

Property: Hotel Adler
Address: Piazza von Kurz 3, 39039 Villabassa, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Villabassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Villabassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Adler 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Adler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing