We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel Huntly
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Certificate of Excellence
Lochaber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A wonderful hotel with spacious well-appointed rooms........and fantastic food in the restaurant. We were here for my father's funeral and the "Wake" was held in a private function room in the hotel with its own access to the gardens.
Just a shame about the reasons for our stay, but we would definately stay here again when we're next in the area.

Room Tip: We only saw our room, but it was a lovely 2-bedroomed suite. The hotel is in a very peaceful locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    65
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
104
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful unique old hotel in very well maintained building and grounds. Hosts were exceptionally friendly and helpful, both during arrival and at meals. Family room was very well designed. Excellent all around.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I had not booked but when I arrived to enquire if there was a room available, I was given a warm welcome and a room was found. Delightful old house,excellent family management, good meals and lovely garden and views made it a memorable stay. There is plenty to see in the surrounding area; the remains of a historic castle, the town of Huntly, seat of the Gordon clan; fine rivers to fish, and beautiful countryside to walk in and just enjoy

Room Tip: Because of the situation, the rooms all have interesting country views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 301LizzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We visited again last night for Father's Day and were not disappointed. We chose to have steak with sauces and all the usual trimmings and each and everyone one of us thought our food delicious. For desert we all opted to have the sticky toffee pudding and again really enjoyed it. Lovely place and friendly staff. Will be returning soon to try their "last Sunday of the month buffet" - seemingly you have to book for this - always a good sign.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My partner and I have just came back from staying at Castle Huntly, we have stayed many times before and always find the staff, accommodation and food great. I decided to write a review this time as I have read previous reviews recently and thought they were not appropriate or accurate. We have found the Castle to be a wonderful hotel with fantastic surroundings, we always stay in the ground floor suite, which we highly recommend it is like having your very own house, it is a bit more expensive but definately worth it with a four poster bed and lovely flame fire and comfy couches. The food is seasonal and very good, my favourite is the venison which is superb, steaks are always cooked to your liking and piping hot plenty on the plate for an A La Carte menu.

The area is great as there is so much to do if you are interested in Castles, Whisky, fantastic coastal and forest walks etc.

We had a great weekend, thanks to Stuart and Lucy who are lovely and always look after us so well.

See you all again soon.

Room Tip: Any of the 2 Suites, the one upstairs has a bigger bathroom, the one downstairs you have your own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyCrookston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous ! The Castle Hotel is set in magnificent surroundings, beautiful building with a long history. Sits next to the derelict Huntly Castle which in itself is amazing. Meal was superb, steak was so soft, perfectly cooked (Rare-Medium). Stuart the bar manager is an entertainer in his own right and is quick to put you at your ease. Service was superb. Really enjoyed our visit here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had lunch in bar on a Saturday but all chose from A La Carte menu. This was pricey but food of excellent quality. Venison cooked exactly as I requested it. Scallop starter mouthwatering and the bread & butter pudding verging on decadent. Party of 4 and we all had different choices. Everything was cooked perfectly, well flavoured and well presented. Service attentive but not overwhelming. We were entertaining a visitor from abroad and wanted a traditional setting and this worked perfectly. Lovely surroundings. We will try the bar food menu next time. Have also had reports that the monthly Sunday lunch buffet is excellent. First visit since current owners took over and I would say food has improved immensely. Very enjoyable meal on all levels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Thainstone House
Thainstone House
#1 of 5 in Inverurie
605 reviews
0.0 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
1,332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bognie Arms Hotel
Bognie Arms Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntly
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Property: Castle Hotel Huntly
Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing