We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel But Chilly Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel Huntly
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed here during a week in the Highlands & North East. We received a lovely welcome and were shown to a beautifully appointed room. It was very well decorated and even had its own resident teddy bear ( a nice touch!)

The bar area is very welcoming. Although this is a country house style mansion, it's not a stuffy place at all. The owners have obviously spent a fortune on it. Even the "Ladies" on the ground floor was stunning with ceiling to floor Italian marble and top notch fittings. Lovely fresh flowers in the reception area too ( all added to the niceness of the hotel )

We found the food in the bar was very acceptable as was breakfast.

Sadly, our room was a bit on the chilly side ( even teddy's teeth were chattering) which is why we've dropped it by one star. Would return though but will wait till the warmer months

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne8527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 305 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have eaten here a few times, first in the restuarant and more recently in the Bar (Jan '14) and both are excellent. From what I remember choice in the Restuarant is a bit more expensive 'fine dining' style', where as BAR menu is in the £10 -25 range (Burger £10.95, 10oz Rib eye ~£24.99)

Decor and service is very good and always friendly.

Room was VERY cold but to be fair they had JUST reopened after winter break so I can understand.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_Hardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just spent two nights over New Year (2013/2014) at the Castle Hotel Huntly - super hospitality from the owners and all the staff, super residence, super room, excellent food and good cheer, overall a very exceptional New Year experiance and would not hesitate in recommending to all.

Room Tip: Go for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWabz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Recently had Xmas lunch with my good friend. Dining room really cold, waitress supplied a fan heater for our feet. Food not very hot, traditional turkey and trimmings, no mashed or boiled potatoes, only a few rubbery roasties, no stuffing, gravy tasted like instant. Soup was tomato and butternut but tasted like a tin of Heinz cream of tomato. Service slow and erratic but friendly. Moved to lounge for dessert and seeking warmth but sadly not much warmer. Sat with milk and cup but no pot of tea, offered mince pies while still eating dessert, no napkin or sideplate to put them on so declined. No hot water in toilet. Front entrance shabby looking and lacking festive charm. Suggest some background music, candles, nice smells, mulled wine as a welcome would be a nice gesture. It didn't cost much, £20 each including tip, so we didn't complain. Beautiful setting and has such potential.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank KMRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner on a Saturday night. We pre booked and stayed in the bar area. This enabled us to choose from bar menu and a la carte menu. If you choose to sit in restaurant then only a la carte available.
Great traditional ales with fast service. My glass was never empty for long!
Food was excellent and would definitely recommend it.
We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zen1th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights while visiting family. The hotel is lovely with all the grandeur that you would expect from a property of this age. It was very busy, and due to this the service was slow on the first night. Food was amazing, we opted for the bar menu both nights and were not disappointed. The chicken and leek pie is amazing!!!! Breakfast the first morning was slow again with the service but the food was definitely worth the wait, eggs Benedict, yum!!! We stayed in room 18 which was stunning, over looking the long drive way, you certainly felt like the king and queen of the castle. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: No swimming pool, gym etc at this hotel. If taking kids take a bike, scooter etc for then as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valaraki1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have stayed at the Huntly Castle Hotel quite a few times over the years when I visit family and friends in the North East and am always well looked after in this family run hotel.

Probably the best thing is the peace and quiet. Being a former country house in its own extensive grounds, there is no traffic noise or other disturbances – you are guaranteed a goods night sleep in the well appointed bedrooms. It’s a comfortable and relaxing hotel to stay in.

Breakfast is served in the dining room and cooked to order. I take my evening meal in the bar - as a single traveller it’s a bit more informal and generally the hotel’s focus in the evening, and can get a table to spread out paper work and portable computer and connect to the hotel’s wi-fi network.

I have stayed at many hotels in the North East with various degrees of success, but can thoroughly recommend the Huntly Castle and have every expectation of returning there. Enjoy !

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank quarantedeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
22.2 mi away
Douneside House
Douneside House
#1 of 2 in Aboyne
292 reviews
16.8 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
264 reviews
14.9 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
302 reviews
16.3 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
16.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range: $166 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing