We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel Huntly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel Huntly
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Dined here for Sunday lunch in the hotel dining room with family a few weeks ago. Lovely setting, beautiful gardens and very friendly atmosphere. The restaurant is nicely decorated, old fashioned country house style. I ordered roast beef and trimmings, on the whole it was a good attempt, beautifully presented with a a lovely rich jus, however, the vegetables, which were carrots, and parsnips were hard, the roast potatoes may have been re - heated as they were also hard. The roast beef did not appear to have been carved from a joint, it was very thick and seemed more to be a piece of steak (albeit a beuatiful piece of steak,but it was too much for me). For dessert I had meringue with fruit and ice cream. The meringue base was one of those ready made ones that comes in a pack of four. The ice cream and fruit were lovely. My fellow diners enjoyed their breast of chicken with haggis stuffing. In summary, ok meal but not the Sunday roast I had hoped for. Sorry for this review, however, I was disapointed. Next time maybe we will try a bar meal which I have heard is fab!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeboraPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    60
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
59
102
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went in late one evening (we got lost, it was almost 45 minutes past our reservation time!) and luckily, could still get a table, closer to the bar. The Prix-Fixe menu on a Sunday night was VERY reasonable, and the meal I had (the chicken stuffed with haggis) was - incredible, cooked to perfection.
The owner was there and chatted with us, and you could tell how much he loved his property and was proud of the work they've put into it. He even let us taste, first, a whisky we were unfamiliar with. It was a winner!!
If you do go the Prix-Fixe menu- go off of it for the dessert, and get the Sticky Toffee Pudding (and just get one to share!)
Our B&B owner in a neighboring town had suggested we drive over, and we thanked him afterwards- wonderful place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Dined here one night and had a great tasting meal but vastly over-priced and we had to put up with a manager who thought he was offering Michellin star service but just came over as a cross between Manuel and Basil.
He kept issuing snap instrcutiosn to his staff who were doing pretty well until he interfered and then the bits he did himself were well below standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrick_sw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Castle Hotel as we were attending a wedding at a near-by venue. It is billed as a four-star hotel but all our group felt that some aspects were not in the four-star bracket.

The little things were lacking - toiletries provided were the minimum - no shower cap and no box of facial tissues, certainly no bath robes or face cloths: I would have anticipated a little more.

It is an old building, but even allowing for that the plumbing in our room wasn't great - only a trickle of water from the hot basin tap and the shower was very tricky to adjust the water temperature - such a non-relaxing experience that my husband decided not to bother with a shower on day 2.

Our bathroom was a bit grubby - the mould round the base of the shower screen would have come off with a spray of bleach and a wipe.

But these deficiencies would have been readily forgiven if only the staff had been friendly and helpful.

I arrived with my son and the 'jokey' young man on reception immediately said 'you've got your son here so you won't need me to help with the bags'. He gave us complicated directions to reach our attic room up several sets of stairs and we staggered up with cases and bags of wedding attire. Proper service would have been to escort us up the complicated route and assist in carrying the bags.

Breakfast service was worst of all. Breakfast officially finishes at 9.30am even on a Sunday and this seems to be strictly enforced. Most hotels offer breakfast up till 10.00am at weekends. On the first day, we arrived just before 9.30 but the buffet items were promptly cleared away as though they expected guests to be finished and gone by that time.

The breakfast waitress was studiously unsmiling; requests for coffee or orange juice (as it had been cleared away) seemed to be SO much trouble.

Some of our younger companions were permitted a slightly late breakfast, albeit grudgingly, but my son and daughter were made to eat theirs alone in the bar as staff wanted to get the dining room cleared (even though other members of our group were still eating breakfast in the dining room).

We didn't eat dinner so I can't really comment but some of our wedding group had dinner and felt it was expensive for what you got.

If I were coming to Huntly again, I probably would stay at the Castle Hotel as I'm sure it's better than the other local hotels. But...it is a lovely building in a great setting and could have been a great experience if only the staff could give you a smile and be a bit accommodating. We really felt that having guests staying was all a bit too much bother for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillianAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Welcome, warm, room exceptional, sleep sooo deep. Day two dinner was as delicious as ever (sampled the hospitality here several times before). It is a family home which is open to paying guests, who get the very best in Scottish hospitality, food is locally sourced, with provenance and it is better than Burj al Arab which has a purported 7 stars! I cannot recommend the Meiklejohn's hotel too highly!

Room Tip: Room 10 has a bed that offers nights of sublime sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ORIGINALFINEQUINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Arrival experience: Arrived late afternoon. Proprietress gave us a very chilly greeting, as if we were rouge staff members entering by the wrong door. After explaining that we were guests with reservations, she finally cracked a thin smile.

Room (general): Suite with separate bedroom, sitting room, and large bathroom. Room number was either 20 or 21- on the far left side as you’re looking toward the house from the driveway. Sitting room had had a couch, large chair, desk, and small flat screen TV. The separate bedroom had bed and built-in wall closet. On the negative side, the floors in this room were like a fun house- wonky and slanted all over the place. Very poor restoration when you consider the randomly slanted flooring.

Bathroom: Huge tub, small sink, WC, and nice makeup desk positioned by window overlooking grounds. Although spacious, the layout was not too user friendly and towel racks were nowhere near sink. Tub was clean. Flooring in the bathroom was even worse than the other areas- slanted and creaky.

Bed: Average bed.

Housekeeping: Below-average. Our sitting room had a couple of large spiders (see photo of one) and a dead spider body.

Restaurants: On site bar and restaurant. We ate our dinners in town. Good breakfast. Staff was nice, but overworked.

Bar: Nice, warm, inviting pub. Bartender was nice. Great Scotch whiskey collection and some good draft beer.

Grounds: Excellent garden-like grounds. A pleasure to stroll though.

Pool: n/a

Staff attitude/service: The foreign workers were nice.

Parking: free on site

Misc: Easy walk to Huntly castle and about 1 mile to town center. Also, a helipad is available if you want to helicopter in. One guest did so while we were there. Finally, the random décor from around the faded and fallen Empire was rather pathetic. The décor reminded us of a widow clinging to faded shreds of familial glory.

For some high-res photos of this hotel, check out my photos on Flickr. My username on Flickr is utfiero.

About us: We’re irreverent, younger American professionals who travel regularly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utfiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had dinner here to celebrate our sons birthday.
From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed.
We ordered dinner which was fresh and delicious. The owner came over and chatted with each table in the bar area, just to make sure everyone was happy.
We would have loved to stay here, perhaps next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripgirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Craigellachie Hotel
Craigellachie Hotel
#1 of 1 in Craigellachie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cullen Bay Hotel
Cullen Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cullen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalhousie Castle
Dalhousie Castle
#1 of 1 in Bonnyrigg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Property: Castle Hotel Huntly
Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing