We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel Huntly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castle Hotel Huntly
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Extremely friendly and helpful staff and the owners have a fantastic sense of humour. Myself and my wife came to Huntly for a 50th party and by pure luck managed to get a room at the hotel - and what a room. Large double bedroom, lounge and large bathroom. We had dinner on our first night at the hotel and the food was excellent. Thoroughly recommend and will return as soon as we can

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    59
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
57
100
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Though they seemed a little short-handed that day they handled my mothers 90th Birthday lunch well - food very good and service prompt without being hurried. I'd like to return and have a less busy lunch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_IanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

A great hotle in a great location with some great views with helpful and friendly staff such a pity that the food that we were served was well below expectations. Had I not been in a big party and not wanting to embarras our host I and a couple of others would have returned our food to the kitchen. In an hotel like this one expects the chef to know how to cook a steak ours were meant to be blue (very rare) and the others medium rare, Suffice it to say there was not a hint of pink in any of them. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purdeysboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

my wife and myself booked for an evening meal,from the offset we were made to feel unwelcome and uncomfortable the host did his best to humiliate the both of us with derogatory comments and under the breath put downs ,clearly only a certain class of diner are made welcome , so if you wish to dine at this establishment we hope you meet with their acceptable class standards

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous lunch to celebrate son's birthday. The Castle Hotel is one of our favourite places to eat. I only wish we lived far enough away to justify staying there too.
Beautiful surroundings, excellent food and friendly people, what more could you ask?

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Imagine being part of a country house weekend party and you're someway towards the feeling that the Castle Hotel creates for their guests. The staff ( without exception from chambermaid to barman, to reception) engaged with us, made us feel welcome and helped create a homely relaxed atmosphere. The owners "walked the floor" each evening again adding to the feel of being part of a family house party. Well done to all.
The food in the bar was good, the restaurant coped with large numbers adequately, and the choice of whiskies was tremendous.
The accommodation was fabulous. A suite room so often mean just a sofa in your room, not at the Castle. Ours had a large bedroom, separate sitting room with 3 piece suite, and a huge bathroom, our own little flat. Spend the money and treat yourself.
I left feeling very well satisfied, all through they could not have done more to make us feel welcome and worked hard at service, something that in the UK is missing in many establishments, but not here. There was not one item I could have asked for better.
I will visit again, and gladly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireDruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

One night business trip. Excellent old fashioned place with excellent rooms and service. It was snowing whilst I was there so not much opportunity to venture around the huge grounds. Two minor complaints - no shower in my room (fancy bath though) and really need to be more efficient with breakfast as most of the guests like me were needing to get off to work sharp in the morning. I'll be back soon hopefully.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgdd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
0.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#3 of 4 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#9 of 33 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bognie Arms Hotel
Bognie Arms Hotel
#5 of 9 in Huntly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel Huntly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Huntly

Property: Castle Hotel Huntly
Address: Huntly AB54 4SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Huntly 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel is a beautiful four-star country house located in the heart of Scotland's Castle and Whisky country. You'll find a genuine friendliness and sincerity that is effortlessly nurtured by a team of dedicated individuals who strive to ensure your stay in Scotland is everything it should be. The Castle Hotel encapsulates the very essence of charm and warmth and exudes unparalleled sincerity. Its tranquil location and breathtaking views make it a formidable escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel Huntly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel Huntly Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing