We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate Accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Huntly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coynachie Guest House
Ranked #5 of 9 Huntly B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moderate Accommodation”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We just returned from a 3 week road trip in Scotland staying in 7 different B&B locations. We stayed at Coynachie Guest House for 5 nights and regrettably have to rate the Guest House as the least desirable accommodation. We stayed on the top floor of Fiona and David's home and requested twin room accommodations. The room definitely had two twin beds, child size, compared to other homes where we stayed. The mattresses were the worst that we slept on during our vacation. The bathroom was not en suite, you needed to cross the landing and enter into another area. The bathtub in the bathroom looks appealing but is too high off the floor and when taking a shower the water spouts all over the floor as there is no exterior protection. Be aware: slippery when wet...! Of all the hospitable host/esess we found David and Fiona to be the most aloof. We adored Scotland and the people and will DEFINITELY return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewellden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona0806, Owner at Coynachie Guest House, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write, we are obviously concerned about your review and sorry you are reporting a poor experience of your stay here at Coynachie, we do remember your visit and the time you chose to spend holidaying here with us and are really very surprised to receive this feedback, as you left you appeared very happy with your stay taking the time to chat and even photograph our youngest son with his chickens.

Primrose room was the twin bedded room that you requested several months in advance of your holiday, as on our website it is clearly marketed as having a private bathroom with a free standing, roll topped bath and is not en-suite, we also took the time by email to advise you of this prior to you booking the room that the bath had a hand held shower attachment to use while in the bath (not whilst standing up, as it is not a shower enclosure) you did not request a shower during the booking process, if you had done so we would have encouraged you to consider another room, as we know that some people like baths and others prefer showers – Primrose bathroom has a bath.

Primrose room/s comprises a twin bedded room a private seating area and a large private bathroom, which as we explained prior to booking you had sole use of during your stay with no other guest having access to this floor so your privacy was guaranteed.

The beds in the room are full size adult single beds from Laura Ashley. The mattress is of high quality and has been rated so independently by Visit Scotland our National Tourism Quality Assurance Organisation. Visit Scotland also rate us four star quality assurance for cleanliness, service and food as have many of our past guests when they chose to leave independent reviews on Tripadvisor – frequently reporting positive comments on their stay in Primrose Room and on their overall assessment of their visit here at Coynachie.

During your stay here it appeared to us that you were experienced travellers and who had detailed maps so we are not sure why you give the location such a low rating, as we are situated in the heart of the countryside, as described on our website where you found out about our guest house. We are 5 miles from the market town of Huntly and our home is in a beautiful and peaceful glen as many of our other guests have recognised.

We are obviously disappointed as at no time during your 5 day stay with us did you indicate that you were unhappy in any way with the bed, mattress or bath – you did report a squeaking door, which was easily rectified that day with a drop of oil on the door hinge. Had you let us know that you were unhappy about any other aspect/s of the rooms we could easily have addressed your concerns by simply moving you to an alternative room with an ensuite shower (with enclosure) at least for part of your planned stay here.

We remember spending time with you and providing for you a variety of detailed information of places to visit and things to see during your 5 day stay with us and had some pleasant times laughing and joking with us in the breakfast room in the morning (“aloof”?), but you have elected to make no mention of this friendliness and welcoming service at all in your feedback.

We are sorry you did not give us the opportunity to try and help you have a more enjoyable stay while you were holidaying here as if you had let us know you preferred a shower or were unhappy about the beds we could have moved you to an alternative room very quickly or if you were not satisfied with what we had to offer we would have liked to have been given the opportunity to find you some alternative arrangement. We always try to provide a friendly and efficient service so people feel happy and satisfied with their visit.

Finally it is very encouraging to read that overall you had an excellent holiday here in Scotland..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
28
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July 2013. The accommodation was very comfortable and the breakfasts very good; we had red berry fruit salad on day 1 and fresh herring in oatmeal on day 2. Fiona was a very welcoming hostess and had a great knowledge of the local area, its attractions, culture and eating possibilities. We enjoyed meeting Luke and his hen Goldie who probably laid the breakfast eggs! Unlike some of the bigger hotels who pay lip service to the environment Coynachie has an impressive commitment to it, particularly in relation to sourcing food locally. Pleasant country walks from the doorstep.Would definitely recommend and may well return.

Room Tip: Primrose Room has its own bathroom and sitting area. You have the top floor to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gandnmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona0806, Owner at Coynachie Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and in particular you enjoyed Primrose Room. Many guests comment positively on the spaciousness of this accommodation and having the whole 2nd floor for your private use can help rest and relaxation.

We are assessed independently each year by our national tourism organisation and they pay particular attention to our food sourcing and quality and we try to use local produce and supplies when available in the breakfast menu. We try to improve on our 'green' business credentials each year as this region moves towards a policy of zero waste next year.

As a small family run business we try to offer a friendly and personal service, both David and I love the area and are very happy to spend time with guests finding out what your particular interests are and sharing our local knowledge of what the various local options are for daily travel itinerary planning - being sensitively aware if guests prefer not to have this input too! Most of all we aim to help guests make the most of their holiday time here in the North East of Scotland to try and ensure a great holiday experience both whilst staying here and while visiting the region..

Thanks again for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future if your travel plans bring you to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent and comfortable accommodation, welcoming hosts and superb location. The rooms were very generously sized, and the bathroom luxurious. The "breakfast specials" were an extra bonus. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Primrose Room has the added bonus of a dedicated seating area, separate from the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona0806, Owner at Coynachie Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed Primrose Room, there is lots of private space there to enjoy and be able to be able to relax. Delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast, we try to increase the choice of breakfast options so its good to receive your feedback. Thank you for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Coynachie on our first night of a touring holiday and it really set the bar high for all the other accomodation. The location was idillyc, the welcome warm, the room fresh clean and comfortable. The breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was delicious. A truly wonderful place to stay. Thank You

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew261033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona0806, Owner at Coynachie Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Coynachie. We are very fortunate to live in such a beautiful valley, the peaceful surroundings of trees, streams and farmland aid relaxation! We are really pleased you enjoyed your room and breakfast. Thanks again for taking the time to recommend Coynachie to others, it's much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I'm writing this sitting in my private lounge that accompanies the Primrose room, listening to the birds singing and relaxing in the peaceful countryside near Huntly. I chose the Coynachie because it came up on a search for accommodation north of Aberdeen, and because it sounded the perfect place to start my holiday. Couldn't have been more right! Fiona and David are warm, welcoming, attentive hosts; my room (practically a suite, really!) is spacious, light, but still cosy, and the private bathroom is sensational. Breakfast was generous, full of fresh, local ingredients, and I followed that with one of the walks in the surrounding Darroch Wids. I'm sorry I'm moving on tomorrow after only 2 nights, but I heartily recommend a stay at Coynachie, & now I know about it, I can plan a future break around it :-)

Room Tip: The Primrose room takes up the whole of the top floor, comprising a twin bedroom plus huge private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandabet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona0806, Owner at Coynachie Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
David and I are delighted you found Coynachie and that you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide a comfortable and relaxing surroundings and Primrose Room/s give plenty of space in which to relax.

We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts, there are a lot of very creative food producers in the local area, many of them rear/grow/make and sell their produce at the local Huntly Farmers Market. Recently we have a fishman come round with his delivery van each week, with locallly landed fresh fish which we now incorporate into the breakfast menu - there is still the traditional cooked breakfast available for those who prefer this option.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coyanchie sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived in Coynachie a little too early to check in so decided to do one of the circular walks in the surrounding woodland. I would highly recommend this; the views were stunning and it provided an opportunity to see all the native species of trees that have been planted in the recent years.

When we arrived at Coynachie, we were met with a warm welcome from Fiona and David. Our breath was taken away as Fiona showed us to our lodgings for the night (the Foxglove Room). This converted attic room was both elegant and comfortable with an incredible view over the gardens and the woodlands. On the landing was private seating area where one could sit in the morning and listen to the birdsong. The bathroom was spectactular with a free standing roll top bath.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaB-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona0806, Owner at Coynachie Guest House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and let people know how you felt about your stay here at Coynachie Guest House. There are 6 cirular way-marked routes which can be accessed by walking out our front door. It really is amazing how much the trees have grown over the last 10 years they are really transforming the walks and the valley.

The red route is only a 40min easy walk and as you mentioned takes you up a hill for some fine views and then back along the valley floor beside Priests water. If you have been travelling all day its the perfect way to unwind, enjoy the countryside and stretch your legs! Further up the valley there are some beautiful wild Primroses which put on beautiful show in Spring time.

The rooms you occupied form Primrose Room and we are delighted you enjoyed them. The valley is very peacful and as you mention when you open the windows it lovely just to hear the sound of the stream and the beautiful birdsong. We have recently added some Primrose Pictures in the Room to help with the theme!

Thank you again for taking the time to write, David and I really appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Spent 4 nights at Coynachie and couldn't have been more comfortable or better served if we'd stayed at the Ritz. Snowing and bitingly cold outside, warm and welcoming inside. Breakfasts delicious and bedrooms very comfortable and civilised. Visitors must visit the coast a short distance to the north. Delightful fishing villages and glorious beaches. The perfect holiday destination any time of year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dontcountthecalories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona0806, Owner at Coynachie Guest House, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Wow! Thank you, for your fantastic review! It was a delight having you stay here, and really lovely to see how much of the countryside and coast you were able to visit and enjoy. It really is very easy and quick to get to the mountains or to the coast by car, with the added bonus of not much traffic on the roads at this time of year. The snow has now completely vanished - still some in the mountains! Spring has recently arrived and with it so many of our migrant birds and even some daffodils are making an appearance.

Thanks again for taking the time to make your review, it brought a smile to our faces and we are really delighted that we helped make your holiday an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huntly
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Huntly
Castle Hotel Huntly
#1 of 3 in Huntly
286 reviews
11.4 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
5.1 mi away
Drumdelgie House
Drumdelgie House
#1 of 9 in Huntly
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Castleview Bed & Breakfast
10.9 mi away
Kildrummy Inn
Kildrummy Inn
#1 of 6 in Alford
115 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dullan Brae Accommodation
Dullan Brae Accommodation
#3 of 18 in Dufftown
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coynachie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coynachie Guest House

Property: Coynachie Guest House
Address: Coynachie | Bridgend of Gartly, By Huntly, Aberdeenshire, Huntly AB54 4SD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Huntly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Huntly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coynachie Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelling on vacation or business Coynachie Guest House makes an ideal base. We are a small family run Bed and Breakfast business and provide you with a warm welcome; comfort; relaxation and good food using local ingredients when available, awarded Taste our Best Award by VisitScotland. We have been Quality Assured graded 4 Star by our National Tourism Organisation Visit Scotland. And delighted to be recipient of WorldHost Award for recognition for excellent customer service. Coynachie Guest House is situated 5 miles from the Historic market town of Huntly. We are locacted in the countryside, in a tranquil valley surrounded by streams and a native woodland (Darroch Wids A Scottish Forestry Alliance project) there are six signposted walks accessible from our front door. Within a short 30 minute drive you can reach the Cairngorm National Park, Royal Deeside or the Banffshire Coast. Only 15 miles from the Malt Whisky Capital of the World - Dufftown. The Secret Malts of Aberdeenshire; Pictish Stone Trail; Malt Whisky (Speyside Moray); Coastal and Castle Trails all nearby. Easy drive to Loch Ness 70 miles; Aviemore 60 miles and Aberdeen 39 miles. We look forward to welcoming you at Coynachie Guest House, in the heart of Aberdeenshire, Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coynachie Guest House Huntly, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing