We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" My dream Wedding"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
solihull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" My dream Wedding"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2009

We held our wedding at Rowton Castle in February, and we had a perfect day witch was largely due to the staff of this Hotel. From the Duty Manager to the glass collector, they literally could not do enough for us. The Function Suite was flexible for good or bad weather (luckily we were blessed with good weather), the staff were very attentive and helpful, the food was high quality and we loved our room, by the way they just spent a fortune on the first floor bedrooms, FANTASTIC!!!!! .

We booked out the hotel exclusive, and our friends (both those who stayed there and those who didn't) are still talking about what a great wedding it was.

The food was cooked to perfection and served with finesse (we were trying to suit 90 people), and the kitchen were very flexible and helpful in accommodating vegetarians, nut and lactose allergies and a handful of small children. We had bacon baps and chips later in the evening. What a treat!!!
The Hotel inside looks stunning very well kept, we loved the look and the feel of the place very classy. The honeymoon suite is stunning, with a Jacuzzi bath and plasma screen television???

The grounds are also lovely for photographs, especially the tree – cedar of Lebanon-(they told me the name).
I would say overall this place is a gem. Even if you do not stay here book a meal you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neneSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    36
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
165
142
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

We attended a cousins wedding at Rowton Castle last week, and it was wonderful. Food and service were first class, the staff were very welcoming and attentive and we wanted for nothing. The whole day went without a hitch.

The function suite was lovely, there was about 80 of us and we were all in the one room. The gardens were beautiful; even our pictures came out great!

The disco in the evening was brilliant; what a great finish to their wedding day.

We were fortunate enough to stay over in a delightfully furnished Four Poster Room, and breakfast - both Full English and Continental was the perfect way to set ourselves up for the journey home.

We couldn't fault a thing and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

  • Liked — Setting, Service, Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livtheminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

We were invited to a wedding at the Castle and were looking forward to it and the atmosphere we were expecting.
Sadly it did not come up to the standard I was expecting.
Lets look at the reasons.
Reception... I felt we were imposing on the staff's time and certainly one staff member was quite abrupt. There is no reason for this as there had been good , and plenty, of money paid.
Wedding... The room was fine and the wedding went off very well.
The time between wedding and reception was for Piccy's and what a lovely garden. Canapes , they were left on the side to grab as you wish, not delivered on a regular basis to the guests. Drinks were fine and not too expensive.
Reception.... The main room was fine, however some guests had to use a room with a double door into the main room and so when the speeches were on had to leave their tables and cram into the other room?m Not the best of situations.
Meal. Of course it was a set meal and the Main course ( lamb ) and dessert were fine . However the starter of Mushrooms and poached egg was cold? it seems to be a course that needs to be fine tuned to make it hot on arrival.
During the meal staff were being trained on how to move the cutlery etc. I do not expect to have staff training at my table.
Then the rooms were used by various people of the party. I think that is fine but there was not enough room for all the guests to be in one area and so this fragmentised the wedding.
I did not stay overnight and only have hearsay about the services and breakfast. Suffice it to say the general standard was still disappointing.
It is only once when they get wed and it does seem a pity that Rowton did not live up to expectations. The bride and groom enjoyed the day and so that is the main point.

  • Liked — The gardens and position
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdwooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

stayed here for a friends wedding and it was absolutely amazing!!! we stayed in a superior room, four poster bed, lush bathroom, really lovely. the wedding and reception were superb, really helpful staff, gorgeous food and a fantastic setting. if you have your wedding here you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — great food and setting
  • Disliked — room was very warm and only had a small fan
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyfixit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
284 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2008

Just returned from my sister's wedding at Rowton Castle and it was a fantastic venue. The entire place was booked for the day and night and everthing went perfectly. The place looks stunning inside and out and the staff were very helpful and professional. They have a wedding here most days so they are very experienced and it showed. The food was very good and we really enjoyed the hog roast later in the evening. We were lucky enough to be staying in one of the 4 poster bed rooms and it was lovely. The decor was nice, a contrast of antique solid wood furniture and modern abstract artwork. The bathroom was very clean and modern and the shower was powerful. There was a great view of the countryside from the window. There are some further bedrooms in a seperate barn building but If there aren't enough for all of the guests I would recommend the Purple Hotel (previously called Sleep Inn) that is only 10 minutes drive away and good value. Our experience of Rowton Castle was trouble free and faultless, it really is an ideal venue for weddings.

  • Liked — Nice rooms & good service
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TruerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

Rowton Castle is a charming hotel just on the English side of the Welsh border. It has a wonderful period feel and is set in beautiful gardens, on the edge of the dramatic Welsh hills.

Our room was clean, fairly large and equipped with all the facilities a tourist (rather than business traveller) would expect, including newly refurbished bathroom. The decor in the bedroom was somewhat dated though, and the furniture was a little worn round the edges. In fact, the feel was more guest house than top-notch hotel, though this is not a claim Rowton Castle makes, and so cannot be judged as such. Included in the price is a generous breakfast, complimentary water and snacks, and stunning views (though not from our room!).

Overall, an excellent overnight stay and good base for exploring mid-Wales, though also a lovely hotel in its own right.

  • Liked — Building and grounds
  • Disliked — Room decor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank teppy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

We were lucky enough to have our wedding day at Rowton Castle in February 2005, and hired the castle exclusively at a very reasonable rate in comparison to many venues we looked at. The castle was perfect, the food was excellent and the staff were impeccable.
Our every need was catered for, every worry taken away by the staff who were always on hand to help, and keep us calm! The wedding rooms were beautiful, the bedrooms (four poster and otherwise) were laid out to perfection. Our guests were bowled over by the whole day, and are still talking about it, for all the right reasons!
We returned in February 2006 to celebrate our first anniversary, and were remembered by the staff and welcomed warmly. I really cannot think of a bad word to say about Rowton Castle, and hope to continue to visit there on our anniversary for many years to come.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#4 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Shrewsbury Town Centre Hotel
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#8 of 14 in Shrewsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Property: Rowton Castle
Address: Halfway House SY5 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, England - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing