We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, amazing food, wonderful staff”
Review of Rowton Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rowton Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Recently attended a wedding at this venue and stayed over night. The day couldn't have gone better! The staff were very attentive, as soon as we arrived Lewis (the toastmaster) gave us all we needed to know and set our bride at ease. He also kindly sorted my reading and speech, getting them ready for the times in the day that I would need them. The rooms were just stunning and views across the back 'lawn' (that really doesn't do it justice) was breathtaking. The food is to die for! The beef was cooked perfectly and melted in your mouth, and the breakfast buffet the following day was of equal high quality. We had the Alderbury Suite with four poster bed - soooo comfy, slept like a baby. Every detail has been considered and everything is done to the highest standard, can't rate this venue enough! :)

Room Tip: The suites are better value for money as the smaller rooms really are smaller.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_miss_brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Lil Miss Brum
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent experience at Rowton.
The guest experience is as important to us as the Bride & Groom on the wedding day, and I am delighted we did not disappoint!
I will of course pass on you kind words to the team, particularly to Lewis, one of our managers, who you felt warranted particular mention.
Hopefully we will see you back at Rowton Castle in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Rowton Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 466 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were guest at this impressive castle for the afternoon and evening.
At the reception the room looked lovely and we couldn't fault the food (lamb was moist and delicious).
In the evening we had a disco which the DJ played up to date and old music to suit everyone's taste and managed to get quite a few people on the floor.
The room was large and clean with a huge bed, that I even had a stool to stand on to climb into it and very quiet.
Breakfast was also very good and although it was a buffet style the waitress served it on a nice hot plate with fresh large mushrooms and creamy soft scrambled eggs which tasted wonderful.
Service was quick, efficient and the staff were helpful and cheerful.
All in all a perfect wedding and venue.

Room Tip: May seem obvious but there is no lift so make sure the elderly are on the first floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oxgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Andura
Thank you so very much for your kind and informative review.
I am delighted you picked up on the important little details - Stool for access onto the large bed in Room 19, the hot plates, quick and efficient service, the helpful and cheerful staff, and you even showed your appreciation for the extremely "creamy scrambled egg" - not the healthiest choice, but it tastes good!
Also, your room tip regarding the lift access is greatly appreciated.
Thank you once again, and very best wishes to you.
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

we had our wedding here on the 30th july 2013. Just like to thank all the staff for making it a perfect day everything was fantastic.. the food, the rooms, the grounds couldn't fault anything, just a shame it went so quickly..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Squarz
Thank you for your kind words; it was our pleasure!!
We hope to welcome you back at some stage in the future.
With very best wishes,
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We felt very fortunate to be invited to our friends wedding here, and I was so impressed by the venue, quality of room and service offered. The facilities in our room were excellent and the bed nice and comfy. The staff were all very accomodating, and the welcome on arrival warm and friendly.
It felt a very a special place.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs ask for a room on a lower floor, as there didn't seem to be a li...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank embo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Embo78
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent visit to Rowton Castle. We view the guest experience as important as that of the Bride & Groom, and we are very pleased we did not disappoint! Hopefully we will see you back at the castle at some time in the future.
With very best wishes
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

i came to visit rowton castle on 17th aug for a viewing for a possible venue for our wedding.
when we drove into the grounds and we just smiled and we both just knew we wouldnt be looking anywere else for our wedding .we didnt imagine it would be as breathtaking as it was. we had a viewing with lorraine and she was just lovely and explained everything it detail and made us feel so special, we were also welcomed with bacon buttys and j20 which was fab and a great touch.
lorraine showed us all round the castle...bedrooms, breakfast room, lounge, bar and were our wedding would take place. the viewing could not of gone any better and we booked our wedding for june 2015
when we left the castle we walked round the grounds at the back which will make a great place for our wedding photographs (weather permitting!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Katherine
Thank you for your kind words regarding your personalised wedding viewing here at Rowton Castle with Lorraine. It is wonderful that as you approached the castle, you new it was the venue for you, and that Lorraine's hospitality and knowledge confirmed that thought.
Rest assured this level of personal service will continue throughout the planning of your big day, and we thank you for choosing Rowton!
With very best wishes
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We attended a wedding on Saturday 17th August which was held at Rowton Castle in Shropshire. We looked at the website beforehand and couldn't wait to get there.

It is a wonderful place and so full of original character and charm, the Staff are more than helpful, knowledgeable and really make each and every guest welcome. Our family room was lovely so nice we would have enjoyed a couple more nights there, other guests had the Suites which were fabulous.

The Wedding ceremony was very simple but none the less very special for the Bride and Groom. The Meal served at the wedding breakfast was excellent and the service was brilliant.

I would definitely recommend couples go and have a look at this place if they are planning a wedding, Im sure you will fall in love with it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sues946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Sues946
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding the recent wedding you attended here at Rowton Castle; It is lovely when guests at a wedding feel compelled to comment so positively.
We work very carefully as an independent hotel to ensure that our team of professional and dedicated staff work with us for many years, and I am delighted that this was apparent from the "brilliant service" you received.
With very best wishes to you
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Having our wedding at Rowton Castle has made all of our dreams come true. My husband and I got married on Tuesday 6th August and loved every moment of our time at the castle. Since our first visit with the very welcoming bacon sandwiches and tea, to our experience night, to meetings with the charismatic Jack, to our beautiful wedding day, all of the staff went above and beyond our hopes and desires. We fell in love with the castle and the magical setting, as did all of our guests who were blown away by everything, with many commenting that this was the best wedding they had ever been to. Similarly our photographer John Poole was absolutely fantastic, he was really down to earth and a nice guy who felt part of our wedding. John has given us some amazing photographs that will be treasured forever. Our wedding day was perfect with every detail put into place, flowing seamlessly between the ceremony, drinks reception in the grounds, garden games and ice cream, to the wedding breakfast (with gorgeous food), speeches and evening party. The staff here anticipated our every need (at times before we even knew we needed it, especially with the children) and the familiar faces made us feel at home. The bridal suite was amazingly luxurious and the best place to spend our wedding night. The following morning was spent with our nearest and dearest in the gorgeous breakfast room, where again staff were friendly and happy to chat. We were delighted with our wedding day and hand on heart would not have changed anything. We still find ourselves smiling whilst reminiscing of happy memories that will be treasured forever. We could not recommend the castle more highly for a wedding.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are amazing but especially the bridal suite with its huge luxurious bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bcherrington, Owner at Rowton Castle, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Charlotte
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent wedding here at Rowton Castle.
We are delighted the level of service received upon your first visit was carried through at every turn until your departure the day after the wedding. For your guests to be saying it is the best wedding they have ever been to is praise indeed!
With very best wishes to you both for the future
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halfway House
8.0 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
7.2 mi away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
637 reviews
7.0 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
8.0 mi away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#10 of 16 in Shrewsbury
359 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowton Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowton Castle

Address: Halfway House, Shrewsbury SY5 9EP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Halfway House
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halfway House
Price Range: $160 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rowton Castle is a beautiful 17th century, grade 2 listed building, set in 17 acres of tranquil grounds, six miles west from the historic town of Shrewsbury. We are the perfect venue for a prestigious function, or a few days away from it all. We are the fairytale venue for a Wedding. A perfect setting, coupled with excellent food and service, guarantee you and your guests a most memorable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rowton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rowton Castle Hotel Halfway House
Rowton Castle Halfway House, England - Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing