We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything a great Italian should be.”
Review of Sorrento Formby

Sorrento Formby
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Formby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sorrento Italian Restaurant in Formby offers a modern Italian menu using genuine Italian products combined with fresh local produce of vegetables, meat and fish. Our restaurants have been designed with a contemporary and modern feel, with a large open kitchen. We offer a wide and varied evening and lunchtime menu. Our extensive wine list features the highest quality wines imported direct from Italy's vineyards.
NW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Everything a great Italian should be.”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

The decor, atmosphere and service are all as good as the food. The poor reviews I feel are unjust.
I think the comments made about having to be a well known or wealthy person may be due to the fact that the owner seems to have a lot of regulars and friends who visit (It must be good!) and rightfully makes a fuss of them.
A varied menu at a reasonable price, far better than any of the large chain Mc Donald's type italian restaurants!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reallyfussy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    44
    27
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Had a v. enjoyable evening.Food delicious and service impeccable! So pleased that there is a reasonably priced set menu now.Hope Luciano keeps it through the Summer!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
537 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Nice but,”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was our second visit, for a Friday night it was very quiet, probably about 4-5 tables occupied.

The staff are excellent, very welcoming, warm and friendly - they really are a credit to the restaurant.

The service is very good, although this was probably helped by the fact that it was so quiet.

I have to say that the main meal I had was not as good as previously (I ordered chicken), still a very nice evening even so.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank waldorf53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally Amazed!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I rarely feel compelled to write reviews but felt my recent visit to this restaurant was outstanding . Food and service is un matched in the local area. Front of house staff in particular where so charming. Taste and presentation of the food was amazing, I thought there was a real conscientious effort to deliver a great dining experience .

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthportAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“awesome, great food, great service”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I think that in Formby it would appear that restaurants are competing against each other for business, as the recession is upon us, fewer people are eating out, it would seem as though some people are employing 'blackball' techniques to make certain restaurants lose their crowned top spot. Of course, there are another two or three Italian restaurants in Formby, none of which can even come close to equalling the standard of Sorrento.
Their pizzas, garlic breads and pasta are te best I have eaten in England, there simply are not better Italian restaurants in this country, I ate in Rome the other day, and there was only one pizza restaurant (Pizza Re) there that came close to Sorrento, their serving sizes are amazing, they wrap your pizza in foil for you if you cannot finish it, and the waiters are among the most friendly I have had the good fortune to meet. Real characters who know how to provide sterling service. Their meals are good value too. Definitely go out of your way to eat here, the food is sublime. Too bad the competitors are so bitter, I suggest they go and try the food at Sorrento. It speaks for itself.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Struan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Formby also viewed

Formby, Merseyside
Wigan, Greater Manchester
 
Formby, Merseyside
Formby, Merseyside
 

Been to Sorrento Formby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing