We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband was playing in a Golf Competition at Formby and I went along for the leisure faciilities and the Gala Dinner. Not being a Golfer , I can't speak for the course, my husband enjoyed the day but found it quite difficult as it was a slow game. He was on the course from 8.45am to 7.30 pm with 30 minutes for lunch playing 36 holes. Then he had to get ready straightaway for the Gala dinner.The Gala dinner was excellant and they catered for my Wheat/ Gluten Free diet really well.
The swimming pool was great, even though the bubbles weren't working in the Jacuzzii, there were three jets in the pool you could stand under. The only problem I had was that reception told me there were pool towels down by th pool and all I needed was a coin for the locker. After leaving the pool I couldn't find any and had to try to dry myself as much as I could under the hand dryer in the ladies!!!
We didn't eat in the hotel the first night but got a taxi to a pub nearby [The Grapes] and the meal was really very good [Weatherspoons Style]Taxis are quite cheap..
All in all I wouldn't hesitate to go back if I got the chance as the room was excellant too

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Resort and thank you for including some pictures you took of the facilities during your stay, they will prove interesting for our potential future guests.

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and can’t wait to return again.

I have spoken with our Golf Manager and he recalls the event in which your Husband played, the party in question were the only players on the course that day so any delays would have been in relation to the pace of play. Often large groups are made up of players with various abilities so occasionally the length of play can be affected. I can see that the original booking in the system did have a longer break between rounds for lunch than the 30 minutes you mention. I will pass on your kind compliments to the Chef in relation to the Gala Dinner, he is an expert on catering for Gluten Free guests as he follows a Celiac diet himself.

Your comments regarding the Jacuzzi have been noted and since your stay it has been serviced so is now back in full working order. Upon speaking with our reception team regarding the towel issue they think there has been some confusion. Towels are available for our guests to use when visiting the pool and they can be collected for the Leisure Reception desk up on arrival however you may have made your way to the pool internally and missed the leisure desk. I have asked the reception team to be more specific when advising guests on this matter.

Thank you for highlighting our great location, we are indeed a small taxi journey away from Formby Village which has a great variety of shops, restaurants and cafes plus the National Heritage sites at Formby Point,

We have some great special offers planned for the Autumn months so I do hope that we can tempt you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,408 - 1,414 of 1,977 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just had two great nights at Formby Hall and have to say it was fantastic value, we did the Spa special that gave us bed and breakfast with evening meal and a tension treatment at the spa each day, All the staff at the hotel and spa were spot on, the food was good and we had a large room, the only problems with our room was the shower cubicle had black mildew on the tiles and the shower head, the free wifi had no signal in our room and it was the same for any mobile signal, we will defiantly be returning

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tafontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Tafontour,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Formby Hall Golf Resort and Spa, from your review it sounds as if you stayed on our Serenity Spa Break which offers fantastic value for money. I'm so glad that you found the spa treatments, food and staff to be of a high standard however I'm disappointed that your bedroom fell short. Our housekeeping team generally maintain very high standards so I'm so sorry that your bathroom was in need of further treatment, which is very unusual I have forwarded on a copy of your review to the Housekeeping Manager so that she may inspect all of the bathrooms to ensure they are free from mildew.

We do have free wifi to all areas of the Resort so I'm sorry that you struggled to get a signal during your stay, I have passed on your comments to our IT Consultant so he is aware and can make sure the sytem is running correctly.

I'm glad to read that these small issues would not deter you from visiting the Resort again, I can assure you that we take great pride in offering the best to our customers and as such value all feedback we receive.

We have some great offers planned for Autumn so hopefully we can wlecome you back again very soon.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here again with my family for a 2 night break. We had a family room which was big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. The atmosphere is very relaxed and pleasant. I took my daughter to the spa to have her nails painted for treat and she was treated really well by the staff and special thanks to Zilma who mad her very welcome.
Not the cheapest hotel in town, but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBoyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you so much for posting your review onto TripAdvisor, how lovely to hear that Formby Hall Golf Resort is your favourite Hotel in the area. We are a popular choice for families during the school holidays due to our fantastic facilities and location.

I have forwarded on a copy of your review to each of the department Head's so they may share your compliments with their teams. I will also make sure Zilma is aware you appreciated her efforts during your daughters visit to the spa.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again very soon.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Had a great day in the spa. Was treated to a fantastic body massage and facial (well done Rian) together with a lovely light lunch. Staff were all exceptional in the cafe bar at the spa. Check in was great our room.....outstanding! We had cocktails before a fabulous dinner and again the staff were great particularly the young man in the restaurant. Breakfast was again fantastic I loved it and cant wait to go back a great birthday treat thank you Formby Hall!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancyrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Nancyrow,

Thank you for posting your fantastic review, it is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the Resort. I have forwarded on your kind comments to the departments involved so they can share them with their teams.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, we have some great Autumn offers planned.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 3 friends for one of the spa break deals. We all had the back massage which was lovely. The evening meal was lovely. We all had something different and all thoroughly enjoyed it. We had room 214 which was nice but my friend had 219 where the window was screwed shut and s film over it so you couldn't see out. It was very claustrophobic.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hothead65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online, I'm so glad that your party enjoyed their Spabreak at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa and that the treatment and evening meal were of a high standard.

We do have 2 rooms at the Hotel which due to their location do have internal windows which are frosted glass and for H&S purposes unable to be opened. Some guest do prefer to have these rooms as they are quieter and darker however should a guest be unhappy we will always do our best to move rooms unless we are fully booked.

I do hope this would not deter you from staying at the Resort again, we have some great special offers planned.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just had a two game one night dbb here with 21 others - very pleased with golf course and the staff at the hotel were brilliant - always smiling and happy to help in any way. The drinks were reasonably prices and there was a wide choice of beers available - unusual in a hotel of this type. Overall would recommend to anyone. Didn't get to use the pool and spa but will get there next time we come.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear peter_sunnyside,

Thank you so much for your great review, I'm so glad your golf group enjoyed their stay at Formby hall Golf Resort and Spa.

The details within your review will prove very helpful to potential golf groups considering staying at the Resort, we are finding more guests are consulting tripadvisor before booking so thank you.

We have some great special offers for future golf groups booking for 2014 so please don’t hesitate to get in touch with the sales office and we can advise those to you.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went for a one-night stay in a deluxe room on a spa package. The room (129) was well-designed, large and the fixtures and fittings were good. Complimentary water, bottle of Italian rose wine and Baileys miniatures. No fruit, which was a shame but a small detail in the end. Two flat-screen televisions and a docking station, and a terrace leading on to the golf course. The bed was firm. The bathroom was well-fitted and spacious.

All in all, a great room.

The spa package was not exactly what had been booked. We were told it included a one-hour treatment for each of us; in the end, it was a 25-minute treatment. The treatment itself was well done and the spa environment is well-designed. The other spa rooms are good - the "Tranquility Suite" with docking stations, is calm and restful; "Thermal Heaven" (Therm Eleven, as I heard it first time) contains a good hot sauna and a reasonable steam room. Downstairs, a 20-metre swimming pool is set at a good temperature, and the adjacent steam room is very good - better than the one upstairs.

Sadly, it appears someone in the changing room saw fit to pinch my young son's t-shirt while I was otherwise distracted. I think the staff did what they could to look for it, but it goes to show that however good the staff are, you can find scumbags everywhere.

The breakfast is adequate - probably more three-star than four-star; the cooked food looked ok but the fried food was greasy. Lunch in the "19th hole" was reasonable - good portions but quite uninventive menu. The evening was very good. Well-trained staff and well-presented food.

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindyourhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear mindyourhotel,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Formby Hall Golf Resort and Spa, we appreciate all feedback from our guests as it does help us to continually develop the level of service and facilities we offer to our guests.

I have looked into your booking so can advise a couple of points in response. Our Deluxe rooms do not have fruit as part of the extras; they have robes, slippers, chocolates, bottle of wine, luxury popcorn, miniature baileys plus sitting area. We have in the past added fruit but found it went to waste which is why we now have the additional extras mentioned above.

I can see that you had reserved our Purity Spa break which does include 1 x 25 minute spa treatment pp, the details of this were confirmed in the email sent to you along with a copy of the spa treatment brochure. We do have other packages available which have longer treatments included within them however they are on average £20pp extra. I'm sorry that there was some confusion regarding this however I'm glad that you found both the spa and treatments to be of a high standard.

Please accept my sincere apologies that your son's t-shirt was lost, I do remember speaking with you regarding this and directing you to the Spa Reception area so they could check the lost property. I so sorry that the t-shirt wasn't found and hope that it was simply picked up by another guest by mistake and not stolen.

I have forwarded on your comments regarding breakfast and the menu within the 19th Hole to our Chef, we have recently made some changes to the offering in both of these areas so hopefully you will see an improvement should you visit the Resort again.


Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formby
5.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 23 in Southport
3,229 reviews
5 mi away
The Vincent Hotel
The Vincent Hotel
#4 of 23 in Southport
1,218 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Southport Hotel
Travelodge Southport Hotel
#6 of 23 in Southport
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Best Western Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
3,487 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Bold Hotel
The Bold Hotel
#3 of 23 in Southport
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Formby Hall Farm Southport Old Road, Formby L37 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Formby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Price Range: $159 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 200 acres of parkland, at the heart of England’s Golf Coast, Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa offers the definitive 4* golf resort, luxury spa and hotel experience. We have 7 luxury treatment rooms, including 1 triple & 2 doubles, available for massages and treatments such as wraps and facials, manicures and pedicures by Leighton Denny all carried out by our highly trained therapists. The challenging 72-par Old Course boasts an excellent pedigree and is an established venue on the European Challenge Tour, while the 9-hole par three course has been described as the best in the UK. For corporate golf days, visitor golf open days, weekend golf breaks, golf society days, or even a golf lesson at the UK’s first PGA National Residential Golf Academy, Formby Hall is the ideal place to improve your game. So whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned pro, welcome to pure golf heaven. We have a choice of four purpose built air-conditioned rooms to suit any size meeting or conference. All meeting & conference rooms at Formby Hall can be tailor made to suit your exact requirements by our experienced events team. We can also offer support for any secretarial, travel or equipment services you may require.Stunning location, friendly atmosphere - Formby Hall is the ultimate party venue, whatever the occasion. With a choice of chic function suites we can accommodate virtually any size of event. The dance floor and bar provide plenty of room for guests to mingle, while those wanting a quiet moment can step out onto the balcony and enjoy the panoramic views over the golf course and parkland. But it's about much more than just the setting, it's about the service too. Our dedicated event managers will help you plan your special day down to the last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formby Hall Golf Hotel Formby
Formby Hall Golf Resort And Spa
Formby Hall Hotel
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing