We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful from start to finish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Lancs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful from start to finish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Have just had a fantastic overnight spa break with my best friend. Arrived yesterday (11th July) and had two treatments before a lovely lunch on the balcony at the spa bistro. We sat outside, whilst soaking up the sun. After lunch had the 1hr full body massage, immediately followed by the 1hr facial. I have to say that they were the best I have ever had! Just wish I knew her name to say thank you. The quality of the treatments and the spa rooms were outstanding. Loved the thermal room where you could relax on the heated beds after the treatments. Highly recommend the mud treatment room too.

Our bedroom (room 123) was exceptional, with the patio right outside, so spent a couple of hours in the sun early evening, meeting new friends. The view was really good, overlooking the 18th hole. Loved the ducks and ducklings who were so friendly to the point of having to pick a couple up who had managed to get into our room! So cute. The room was very clean and the the bathroom was huge. Having a fridge in the bedroom was a bonus too.

The meal in the restaurant and today's breakfast were very good. The waitresses were very friendly and provided a really good service.

The reception staff were also really friendly and knowledgable. Please pass on our thanks to everyone, who made our visit so enjoyable. Can't wait to come back :)

Room Tip: Room 123, as you had the sun from morning to late evening. Could sit on your patio watching the golf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear AitchLancs,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Spa break at Formby Hall Golf Resort and Spa on TripAdvisor. I have forwarded on a copy of your great review to each of the department heads so they can share it with their teams, I'm sure they will all be really please they helped to make your stay so memorable.

I think for the details within your review you took advantage of our 251 Rebalance Spa break, this package represents great value for money with 3 hours worth of treatments for each guest £240.00 per room per night Mon-Thu, £290.00 per room per night Fri-Sun. This package is growing in popularity with many guests returning on multiple occasions.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, we have some great offers planned for the summer months and the 241 rebalance is available until the end of Dec 2013.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    350
    199
    159
    112
See reviews for
334
521
24
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Formby Hall Go,f Club is in a beautiful setting. Staff go the extra mile to ensure you are having. Lovely time. Whether you are staying because of a function which is being held there you are made very welcome by the reception staff, bar, restaurant or pros hop everyone wants you to enjoy your time there. We recently stayed as I had organised a summer ball in aid of woodlands hospice and I can say whole heartedly that it was the best ever and this was my 9th event there.

Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Helen H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your 9th event held at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa. I have forwarded on a copy of your lovely review to the Department Heads so they can share your kind comments with their teams. I'm so glad that you continue to choose the Resort as the Venue for your events, your loyal custom is very much appreciated.

We look forward to working with you again in the future planning another successful event for such a great cause.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just returned from a group 3 day golf break at Formby Hall, hotel staff could not have been more helpful throughout the 3 days, I sprained my ankle on the second day - ice packs and bandage was arranged within 10 minutes of me hobbling into the 19 hole. Visit to spa and swimming pool/steam room helped me get back on the golf course next day. Good rooms with views of the golf course, excellent standard of evening meal and good choice of breakfast. Golf course has a lot of water along many holes so take a ball retriever to claim back wayward shots, but thoroughly enjoyed the experience as I play at a links course. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notserph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear notserph,

Thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic review, I'm so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay despite your injury and that our staff were quick to respond to your needs which enabled you to recover quickly and continue your golf the following day.

I have forwarded on a copy of your review to each of the department heads so they can share your great comments with their teams, I'm sure they will all be thrilled their efforts were appreciated.

The Championship course does have some very challenging areas with tricky water hazards however our Proshop staff are always on hand to offer advice prior to play. Also available from the Proshop is a score card which have a course map on the reverse displaying the water hazards, in addition we also have a pin placement leaflet which provides a guide to the pin location and also indicates the water hazards and green side bunker positions. There are also stoke savers available in the Proshop for £5 each which provide a detailed plan of each hole including yardages from the tee to the hazards and from land marks up to the green.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and I hope your ankle is starting to heal.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The golf course is full of the water so beware ... It's an interesting course and challenges all levels of golf. The reception was beautifully set out and the food was good considering they were catering for over 100. All the staff were helpful and pleased to help. Always enjoy visiting Formby Zhall

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ange137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ange137,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent golf day at Formby Hall Golf Resort and Spa, I'm glad that you always enjoy your visits to the Resort and find our facilities and staff to be of a high standard.

I'm curious as to why you only rated your experience as 3 stars when the review compliments the decor, staff, food and golf course? I'm guessing that you perhaps lost a high number of golf balls due to the water hazards on the course.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort again very soon and of course if you have an feedback as to where you feel we can improve the Resort please don't hesitate to let me know.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a great night myself and friends had on this night. The meal was excellent, well presented and tasty. The tables were set out lovely and the room we were in was fab. The entertainment was good and there was a nice friendly atmosphere. I have been to Formby Hall many times for a meal but this is the frist time I have been to a tribute entertainment night. It was great value.

Room Tip: We did not stay the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June61Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear June,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Grease Tribute night and Happy Belated Birthday! I'm so glad that your party had such an enjoyable time at the Resort, your pictures look great!

Our Tribute nights are really growing in popularity, many guests are choosing these events to celebrate special occasions much like you did. They offer fantastic value for money especially with the special offer of 1 free place for every 10 guests.

I hope you were able to pick up a copy of our 'What's on guide' while you were here featuring events such as our 8 course ‘Celebration of the Sea’ Gourmet Night featuring a glass of wine to compliment each course 18th July, Kylie Tribute 19th July, Abba Tribute 30th Aug, Rod Stewart Tribute 27th Sep, Take That Tribute 25th Oct and George Michael Tribute 29th Nov.

We have also added 2 extra events for July which are a Michael Jackson Tribute night 26th July and a Comedy Night 27th July.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort again very soon, if you need any further information please don't hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Spent the night as a we were at the resort already for a wedding reception. Fantastic staff and service with a very well presented room. Wasn't the cheapest of nights, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Karl R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I'm glad that the wedding you attended was a success and our staff offered fantastic service.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort again in the future, we have some great special offers planned for the summer months.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Formby hall is beautiful and so is its settings. Me and my now husband stayed here on our first night away together alone. We had only been together 2 months and had gone to stay with my friends in Scotland then on the way back had booked to stay here. We had a dbb and spa offer that was very good value for money. Driving in the place seemed lovely. The room was decorated nicely. We went to use the pool straight away and that was lovely and relaxing and quiet. The bar and restaurant area was nice and the food was tasty. We had a lively time. The spa area was relaxing and the treatments were fab especially as me and my now husband were in the same room having treatments which made it all the more special

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessicarabbit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FHGRRevenueManager, Revenue Manager at Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Resort back in June 2012 and please accept my congratulations on your recent nuptials.

I'm so glad that you chose to stay at Formby Hall during the early years of your relationship and we were able to make this stay so memorable for you both. Where possible we do try to allocate the double treatment rooms we have within the spa to couples as it really does help to make the spa experience more enjoyable.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Resort again soon, we have some great offers planned for the summer months.

Kind regards
Gemma Adderley
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Formby
5.0 mi away
Vincent
Vincent
#4 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 28 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,673 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Southport Seafront Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#17 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool North Hotel
7.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#41 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Formby Hall Farm Southport Old Road, Formby L37 0AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Formby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Formby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst 200 acres of parkland, at the heart of England’s Golf Coast, Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa offers the definitive 4* golf resort, luxury spa and hotel experience. We have 7 luxury treatment rooms, including 1 triple & 2 doubles, available for massages and treatments such as wraps and facials, manicures and pedicures by Leighton Denny all carried out by our highly trained therapists. The challenging 72-par Old Course boasts an excellent pedigree and is an established venue on the European Challenge Tour, while the 9-hole par three course has been described as the best in the UK. For corporate golf days, visitor golf open days, weekend golf breaks, golf society days, or even a golf lesson at the UK’s first PGA National Residential Golf Academy, Formby Hall is the ideal place to improve your game. So whether you’re a beginner or a seasoned pro, welcome to pure golf heaven. We have a choice of four purpose built air-conditioned rooms to suit any size meeting or conference. All meeting & conference rooms at Formby Hall can be tailor made to suit your exact requirements by our experienced events team. We can also offer support for any secretarial, travel or equipment services you may require.Stunning location, friendly atmosphere - Formby Hall is the ultimate party venue, whatever the occasion. With a choice of chic function suites we can accommodate virtually any size of event. The dance floor and bar provide plenty of room for guests to mingle, while those wanting a quiet moment can step out onto the balcony and enjoy the panoramic views over the golf course and parkland. But it's about much more than just the setting, it's about the service too. Our dedicated event managers will help you plan your special day down to the last detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formby Hall Golf Hotel Formby
Formby Hall Golf Resort And Spa
Formby Hall Hotel
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa Merseyside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing