We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm, picturesque, but central - right in the middle of everything!”
Review of Tenuta Don Paolino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta Don Paolino
Ranked #9 of 46 Avola B&B and Inns
germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calm, picturesque, but central - right in the middle of everything!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you're renting a car anyway, why bothering with traffic and tourists right in front of your bedroom window. We found the perfect place while staying at Paolo's pituresque windmill between lovely smelling lemon trees. Calm, clean, great breakfast even for Germans :-) By car you can very easily reach Noto, Siracusa, a natural beach, Roman villa etc. as there is a motorway. At Avola you can have a lovely dinner, too. You won't miss anything, if you like to travel "lonelyplanet like" but fancy! We would love to come again as soon as possible!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ankir002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    16
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

First of all many thanks to the owner Paolo for making sure the property had all the comforts to make it a great vacation.
The "tenuta" sits on a beautiful field full of lemon trees and other fruit trees, we could pick up has many as we wanted... and we did! The location is strategic if you want to visit the baroque cities of the southeast Sicily. Noto is only a few minutes away by car and Ragusa, Siracusa, Sicli, Modica are within an hour. Also highly recommended a visit to one of the many vineyards in the Nero d'Avola valley. We had a blast at "Zisola". And the sea? Calamosche is an unforgivable beach, within the Vendicari natural reserve. In summary, sun, beaches, wine paired with great food what else can you ask???

Room Tip: We booked the whole tenuta, the largest room is on the first floor, all rooms have private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Margovoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gijón, Asturias, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed 4 days in May 2013 and for us it was like a haven in Siciliy.

First, the hospitality of Paolo and his father. They were very warm to us and always trying to help and advising us about places to visit, restaurants, etc...

The room was very special, clean and tastefully decorated.

It was a pleasure to have breakfast outside, surrounded by lemon trees. Quality of breakfast was good.

All in all, we strongly recommend it as a place to be if you travel to south Sicily.

Paolo, thanks for everything and keep the good work!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos Luis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We rented the whole house on a self-catering basis for a week in April. It's a beautiful, well appointed house, designed by the owner and surrounded by lemon trees. Paolo was friendly and helpful. There's a fantastic huge balcony with distant views to the sea, also great outdoor space at ground level and use of barbecue. Car essential but great base for exploring Siracusa, Noto and Modica.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GazCreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We've just got back from the Easter break in Sicily. We spent 4 nights at the Tenuta Don Paolino. What a beautiful place: serene, relaxing, the house was designed by Paolo with lot's of taste and style, the surrounding citrus plantation is amazing (you're invited by the owner to taste the fruits straight from the tree), breakfasts served in the garden are mesmerising and overall the service is great. Paolo is going to great lengths to make the guests feel well!! Thank you Paolo!!
Then within 15-45 minutes up to drive you can reach fantastic places like Siracusa, Noto, Modica, Ragusa and several very nice beaches are nearby... (the Tenuta is close to the motorway) In one word a perfect place to visit Sicily and relax after a busy day!!
However please note that Tenuta is located in a peaceful, remote place in the outskirts of Avola, so you absolutely need a car to go anywhere. Hence if your idea of vacation is to be in a busy city or straight on a beach, within walking distance to restaurants and services, Tenuta might not be the right place for you. For us, active visitors it was just perfect!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michal123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Avola hotels
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Pacla
Grand Hotel Pacla
#1 of 3 in Avola
260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria sul Mare
0.7 mi away
B&B La Terrazza sul mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ermes
Ermes
#11 of 46 in Avola
33 reviews
1.3 mi away
B&B Stella del Sud
B&B Stella del Sud
#18 of 46 in Avola
43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Chiusa di Carlo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Don Paolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Don Paolino

Property: Tenuta Don Paolino
Address: Contrada Petrara, 96012 Avola, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Avola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Avola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It 'a great place to live day to relax, away from everyday life, immersed in the Mediterranean countryside. And 'an estate in the green, surrounded by citrus groves owned, ideal for those who love nature and tranquility of the countryside. Its location allows easy access to the centers of Siracusa, Noto and Modica UNESCO recognized for their exceptional beauty culture, architecture and landscape. Other sought-after destinations as close, just a few minutes are Cavagrande the canyon, the natural oasis of Vendicari and Pantalica. In less than an hour you reach the foot of the still active volcano Etna and a half hour plus you can point directly to the ancient beauty of Agrigento and Selinunte. The B&B has 5 rooms, all equipped with bathroom, heating, air conditioning, TV, a kitchen and a spacious living room. The rooms present with un'arredamento sober; 1 change of linen once a week for every 3 days for linens and bath kit.The gracious hospitality and unobtrusive, the rooms furbished with your wealth, and comfort of the Sicilian climate, will make you fall in love with this place. It is just 5 minutes from the beach and the town of Avola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Priceline so you can book your Tenuta Don Paolino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Don Paolino Sicily/Avola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing