We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveler rating
97
64
25
14
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
97
64
25
14
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 208 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2015

Make sure you have your own transport if you book this place - the driveway is a 2 min drive.

The place is peaceful - the pool was being filled when we arrived and it took a day and a half to be filled - we used it but the water was freezing.

The room was clean - although we heard some noises in the night (like mice running on the ceiling) but they couldn't reach us from the roof as they have concrete on the wood so we didn't worry too much about that.

Only down side is that our shower was very very small - I barely could take a shower and my other half had to open the shower doors in order to shower properly.

We enjoyed the rest of our stay - although I wish that their restaurant was open as I would have liked to try it.

This is a small resort apparently run by a family. We had fun as it is not too crowded - we will consider to visit again when we are back in Sicily.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spongybugcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2014

The good :

- Clean rooms
- Family oriented.
- Peaceful and quiet area
- convenient parking.
- potentially beautiful resort
- good value for money
- Room cleaned every morning (except for last 2 days see below)
- Fresh towels every morning (except for last 2 days see below)

The bad :

- Slightly neglected and shabby looking
- Reception was non existing - there were times when we tried to contact the hosts and they were not available...
- No internet throughout the whole week we stayed there and no attempt or interest to remedy this
- Being low season all amenities such as pool, restaurant bbq area were not operational
- According to our hosts, we were not entitled to a breakfast because we paid low season fares (but the lady host offered us coffees, croissants and cakes daily)
- Credit Card was not accepted when we wanted to settle the bill
- During the last two days it felt as if we were on the resort completely on our own. No one tried to clean our room or get us fresh towels.
- For the last night we had to ask for clean towels which the host gave us, however we were reminded that usually fresh towels are only distributed once every three days.
- The room has no tv, telephone, glasses, fridge, or any other amenity. It is best that you get your own phone and internet connection otherwise you will feel stranded

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice little oasis to end touring days of the Baroque towns of SE Sicily.
Adequate facilities with a nice pool.
Welcoming, friendly and pleasant hosts.
Central wifi but not in the rooms. Then again, if you stay here no constant wifi is a bonus.

Room tip: If you need Wi-Fi on holiday, they have in central areas but not in the room.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bressane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Chose this place for a short 2 night break during a cycling holiday. Found the place easily as it is very well sign posted even though it is in a quiet rural area of Avola. It was a good base to explore the surroundings including Cava Grande. Since we were there in low season no breakfast or meals were offered, however, the owners kindly offered to ferry us (on both nights) to their restaurant and back since we had no means of transport other than our bikes, and we were not keen to cycle after sunset. We fell in love with Serafina, their pet donkey, who is the mascott of the place and is very friendly with the guests. Very good value for money. Hope to to back soon.

Room tip: Due to location I would recommend this place to people with own transport.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived at La Petrara "Resort" which we were able to find very easily, as directions on the roadway are clearly marked, however, at reception, sort of a "room" cluttered with a child's swing, ironing board, toys as well as a Great Dane who slobbers all over my husband's clothes, we met the hosts. Their reception desk is a plastic table littered with papers. We were immediately told that there was no food, and this was one of the reasons we had booked here for their "incredible" Sicilian cuisine which other reviewers raved about.

They did finally agree to make us a croissant and coffee, but no offer of dinner. Pool was closed, grounds were all closed up and we were told to keep our doors closed because of mosquitoes. Olives littering all of the walkways.

Room was clean, but bare bones, no tv, no phone, no glasses for water, and unlike every other B and B, Agriturismo! or manor house we have stayed in no offer of a beverage. Host also said we had to speak quietly because his daughter was sleeping.

I stated that we could not stay here and the host immediately turned defensive and said that we had to pay and cancel through booking. We did... However, we should not have stayed even one night.

also, I was not happy with their cavalier attitude to our Canadian passports, left out on their desk for all to see. I value my passport as my legal identification, it should not be left out in the open for anyone to take.

I read the reviews on both Trip advisor and booking.com and this resort did not live up to expectations at all. I don't understand who could be happy to stay here, definitely not me!!!

Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghenia, Proprietario at La Petrara Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013
Google Translation

Ma veramente si arriva a questo punto???? Mia moglie fa l^accoglienza quando arrivano questi signori ed io sono in veranda con la mia bimba sul dondolo......ma è veramente vietato fare anche il dovere di padre per questa infelice signora????E^ specificato in tutte le lingue che la ristorazione è fino al 30 settembre----che la colazione ,con il prezzo a 25€ a camera non è ragionevolmente compreso nel prezzo ,pur tuttavia gli OFFRIAMO CORNETTO E CAFFE^ ,,,ma evidentemente è tutto troppo poco ...è tutto dovuto ...e i figli piccoli li dobbiamo mettere in soffitta o nasconderli quando arrivano questi personaggi??????La signora voleva anche la piscina (segnalata ovunque che la piscina chiude il 30 settembre) ma la signora non aveva neanche il costume . Però sembra che io sia un blasfemo quando dico che LA TELEVISIONE non esiste a casa mia .Ultima considerazione ....quando si parla con le persone non si emula un tenore ,ma si parla con un tono umano anche perchè noi sentiamo perfettamente Grazie veramente di cuore cara signora.....giancarlo riscica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews