We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Incredible Guesthouse and Hostess”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Horizon Guest House
Ranked #10 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Incredible Guesthouse and Hostess”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family spent 8 wonderful nights at this establishment and couldn't have asked for better. Every amenity you could ask for is provided and if you need anything more Karen goes out of her way to assist. \she even telephoned the airline to enquire how best to fly all our wine back home!
Our Deluxe suite was light, airy and beautifully decorated with stunning views of the mountain AND the sea. The breakfasts were delicious and every morning there was a surprise option, eg savoury mince, sausages, boerewors etc. The house rates as 4 star but really deserves 5. We wanted for nothing, and will be back here at the very first opportunity.
Thank you Karen for an exceptional stay!!

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are a must for incredible sunsets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighPistorius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonGh, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much Leigh. It was wonderful having your family stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again. May the restaurant be a huge success!!

Karen & The Blue Horizon Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 14 day holiday in Cape Town. We stayed at the Blue Horizon Guest House in Gordon's Bay.
The place appears brand new and has great views. The rooms are cleaned everyday. The free wifi was a great plus for my teenage children who are usually very difficult to please. Karen and her staff prepared a hearty breakfast every morning and they made it a point to chat to the guests at breakfast. This makes everybody feel very special.
We will definitely be returning to Blue Horizon on our next trip to Cape Town.
P.S. With the atrocious Cape Town winter weather, we were quite surprised to be provided with umbrellas on our way out.
From Sasiwe
Pretoria

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sasiwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonGh, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you Sasiwe, what a great review! It was lovely having you and your family stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again on your next exploration of the Western Cape. Warm regards from the Blue Horizon Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This guest house is amazing. All amenities are provided, it's boutique in size so you feel very at home. Breakfast choice is unbelievable and all staff and super friendly and helpful. The rooms are beautifully furnished and comfortable. You can come and go as you please, perfect for short or longer term stays. The location is also convenient to get the nearby Stellenbosch Wine lands. Perfect guest house!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, some have more of a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2013c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHorizonGh, Owner at Blue Horizon Guest House, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you Sarah, for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanshya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My Wife and I recently had the privilege of staying at the Blue Horizon Guest House in Gordon's Bay for a few days, sadly it was only for a few days. We arrived and were pleasantly met by our wonderful hostess Karen, who went out of her way to ensure that we were settled quickly and comfortably before leaving us to enjoy the late afternoon sunset. We had the best of two worlds in that we had privacy as well as our needs constantly met with a smile. Blue Horizon and Karen offer that ideal relaxing atmosphere for a perfect comfortable holiday or that quiet professional environment needed when trying to focus on business at hand. Best and most comfortable beds I have ever slept on...Its the place to be and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Blue Horizon Guest House. The warm welcome we got from Karen when we arrived was like we had been there before.The views from the Guest House was stunning both in the day and night. Very private and the rooms are just stunning. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time staying at a Guest House. We received the warmest welcome from Karen.The Guest House has stunning views and beautiful rooms. Very private. Will definitely be going back, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful 10 days at Karens guest house in Gordons Bay, Karen made us and our little boy so welcome from beginning to end and we will definately be coming back! I would not hesitate in recommending a stay at Blue Horizon. Thanks again Karen. Jayne Eugene & Albie

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayney71M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
1.4 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wind-Rose Guest House
Wind-Rose Guest House
#6 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
18 On Kloof B&B
18 On Kloof B&B
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Guest House

Property: Blue Horizon Guest House
Address: 56 Boundary Road (Grens Weg) | Gordon Heights, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Horizon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Horizon Guest House is set against the backdrop of the majestic Hottentots Holland Mountains and surrounded by spectacular views. Supporting all modern conveniences, Blue Horizon offers guests a calm, tranquil atmosphere with breathtaking sunsets across False Bay and the awe-inspiring beauty of the mountains. Relax and enjoy the tastefully decorated rooms, warm hospitality, delicious breakfasts and cooling swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Horizon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing