We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, the absolute best with magnificent views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
18 On Kloof Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Since we discovered 18 on Kloof, we don't stay anywhere else, unless we have to be right in Cape Town. The accommodation is very comfortable, and rates reasonable, the view is the absolute best and the hospitality shown by Rita cannot be beaten. Breakfasts are great, her suggestions for visits and restaurants in the area are spot on. 18 on Kloof is great for touring the winelands, Hermanus area and even the peninsula.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 142 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2010

Location; high above the beach on hill-side with a remarkable view over the bay towards Strand and False Bay. A road with heavy traffic is passing through just out-side the premises, which give a lot of noise during day-time.
Room; very comfortable equipped with a nice bath-room. Great view from windows over the bay.
Service; for the room ok, but not for the morning breakfast as we could not decide when to be served, the hostess where prompt not before 09.00. When using areas out-side the room, a feeling of observation occured.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Airlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2010

Dear Airlies
I am very sorry to see that you have apparently not enjoyed your stay at our guest house – this is however the first complaint we ever received because all our previous guests have given us the best of reviews.
A few points made in your review need to be addressed:
Upon check-in all our guests are informed about breakfast being served from 08:00 to 10:00 (or as early as 07:00 upon request from guests who need to have breakfast earlier). We then ask the guests what time will suit them to have breakfast. We never tell anybody that they will have breakfast at a specific time.
Your feeling of being observed is also very strange. The guest house is a building with large windows – built to enjoy the spectacular sea views from all the rooms. We (the owners) also live here and move around inside and outside, as do the cleaning staff (between 08:00 and 16:00). If you have ever experienced the feeling of being watched while sitting on the balcony or other public area, I apologise because it was not intentional.
During your stay the noise of traffic during day time was more than usual as it was the beginning of the school holidays and a lot of vehicles took the road in front of our place to their destination as there are road works on the N2 highway. For that I do apologise but it is unfortunately out of our hands and we cannot do anything about that. Our guests mostly do not spend their days at the guest house, they visit the numerous places / activities in the area and only return late afternoon or early evening and then the traffic have subsided quite considerably and the traffic therefore do not bother them as they are not here while it is busy or noisy.
We value the privacy of our guests, we want them to enjoy the time they spend with us and we try and give them the best service possible. I do think we succeed in this, because we have quite a number of guests who return on a regular basis.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

I stayed in the Elephant Room, my colleague stayed in the Lion Room. Both rooms were amazing, the decoration was of the the highest standard. Every comfort was provided, down to a fridge and selection of magazines! The breakfast room was stunning; early every day Rita provided a delicious breakfast and looked after us whenever we had enquiry. The B+B is excellent value for money, with amazing beach views, a great selection of close restaurants and easy access to the motorways. I would highly reccommend 18 on Kloof to anyone wanting to stay in the area!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESEImperialStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lazze51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fannyProvence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank immink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank uw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Celtic Manor & Spa
Celtic Manor & Spa
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 18 On Kloof Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 18 On Kloof Guest House

Address: 18 Kloof Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa (Formerly 18 On Kloof B&B)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: $73 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 18 On Kloof Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 on Kloof Guest House is a 4 star guest house that offers stunning views – as well as great hospitality and affordable prices! 18 on Kloof is situated in Gordon’s Bay, overlooking the beautiful False Bay. We have two magnificent seaview bedrooms, all en-suit with private balconies. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated and are equipped with TV, DVD, free WiFi bar fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, ceiling fans, cotton percale linen, air conditioning and electronic safe. We also have two self catering unit consisting of one bedroom with queen size bed, A/C, TV/DVD, free WiFi, sleeper couch and big en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. Unit has kitchenette, private patio with barbeque facility (only one room) and private entrance. Steps and a short walk take you to the Beach, restaurants, the harbour and all other activities. We are ideally situated for visits to the surrounding wine/fruit estates and for whale watching during the winter months. Only 60km from Cape Town and 30km from Cape Town International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your 18 On Kloof Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
18 On Kloof Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing