We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
18 On Kloof Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Amazing hospitality, great food and beautiful views. Had a perfect stay and would definately recommend 18 on kloof to those looking to relax, or to those wanting a hub to travel from. Thanks for making the holiday that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kyall P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

It was great having you and we are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Keep well and good luck with all your travels!
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 144 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

Both my husband and I wanted somewhere cozy and welcoming but that also offered magnificent views and was located close to the ocean. We couldn't have found a better place! The service was amazing and friendly, and there was always plenty on offer for breakfast. We would love to go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us - hope we will see you again soon (or at least when you celebrate your first anniversary!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This B&B can compete with a 4 star hotel. The view to the sea is amazing (we saw dolphins and whales while having breakfast). The rooms are clean and cosy and have their own balcony. The people are just so nice and the breakfast was awsome.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinchen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us - and that you had the privilege of a show by whales and dolphins while having breakfast!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Personal service excellent. Friendly owners Lovely rooms with excellent sea views. Gordons Bay is close enough to various places of interest - Wine Farms. Beautiful scenic drives, Whale watching etc. Not far from Stellenbosch & Cape Town Well worth the stay!!! .

Room Tip: All rooms are great with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Jean
Thanks for the positive review of 18 on Kloof. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stunning views are a big feature of 18 on Kloof but the furniture and fittings are so different from that which we have seen anywhere else.The Dining furniture is made from old Railway Sleepers and the collection of Designer Pewter by Caroll Boyes really intrigued us.
The Breakfast was superb and the Locum hosts Estelle and Dennis looked after us extremely well.
The bedroom was air conditioned and the bed comfortable.

I have to say that it is accommodation that suits Younger Couples best as the stunning views and proximity to the Harbour and its Restaurants are because it is on a Hill which is steep and for my wife walking to Restaurants was not an option due to the steep uphill walk back.

The steps even from the parking area make it unsuitable for wheelchairs or people who have difficulty climbing steps.

Parking is on the property but not totally secure in that there are no security gates which are very common in SA and access is sharply off the Main Road which at times can be a bit noisy. The air conditioning gives the option that the windows can be kept closed to reduce road noise.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies overlooking Gordons Bay.The only reason i took one star off sleep quality w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Golfer37
Thanks for the positive review of 18 on Kloof. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. It is true that we do have quite a lot of stairs on the property - inside as well as outside the guest house. An alternative is to book the Self Catering Unit which is situated on the ground floor and only has about 5 stairs from the parking to the unit entrance.
Our property is unfortunately not suitable for people with disabilities or people in wheel chairs.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for 20 days and used this lovely hotel as the basis for exploring the beauty of Western Cape. Our room was very comfortable, clean, equiped with everything one might need. Breakfast was always delicious. The view from the balcony over the bay and mountains is fantastic. But the thing that impressed us most was the attention and care given to us by Rita and Pieter. They helped us make our daily plans and their advice was always invaluable. We wouldn't have seen a half of it if not for our nice hosts. Will certainly recommend to everyone this great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptishoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Ptishoe
Thanks for the positive review of 18 on Kloof. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope you will return again and be able to see some more of our great area and country - and also that you will be back @ 18 on Kloof!
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Friendly welcome, much appreciated glass of orange juice on as very hot day. We were booked in the self catering unit which had its own lovely private deck. The main bedroom was nice, but with the bathroom being off this, it wasn't great for 3 adult - but it was exactly as described.

What really let this self catering accomodation down compared all others we stayed in in SA, were the little extras that you don't want to travel with - washing up liquid, dish towels etc and although not a problem for us staying one night, we were surprised to find no oven.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strollinthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Strollinthepark, thanks for the review.
Kindly note that the unit has been advertised as a "Family Unit - Self Catering" specifically because there was one bedroom with en-suite bathroom and two sleeper couches (meant for children) in the lounge. The guests sleeping in the lounge had to go through the bedroom to the bathroom - and that was why we did not accept bookings for 2 couples or people other than families. Your enquiry was for a family of 3 adults and it only came to light later that it was actually 3 single people.
We have however recently (2 weeks ago) changed the whole set-up of the unit. It now consists of one bedroom (where the lounge was) with queen size bed, a/c, tv/dvd and one sleeper couch (for one child). The "old" bedroom has been changed into a big bathroom with bath and wash basin (and the cupboards and dressing table - it is therefore a dressing room / bathroom) and the old bathroom is still there with the shower and toilet. It is a huge improvement - if I may say so :)
The kitchenette is still the same - and it was advertised as having a 5-plate gas hob (did not say anything about an oven) and there is also a microwave oven, very few of our guests have ever asked for an oven. The dishwashing liquid and towels are always provided for guests.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
291 reviews
2 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
#12 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 18 On Kloof Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 18 On Kloof Guest House

Address: 18 Kloof Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa (Formerly 18 On Kloof B&B)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: $80 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 18 On Kloof Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 on Kloof Guest House is a 4 star guest house that offers stunning views – as well as great hospitality and affordable prices! 18 on Kloof is situated in Gordon’s Bay, overlooking the beautiful False Bay. We have two magnificent seaview bedrooms, all en-suit with private balconies. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated and are equipped with TV, DVD, free WiFi bar fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, ceiling fans, cotton percale linen, air conditioning and electronic safe. We also have two self catering unit consisting of one bedroom with queen size bed, A/C, TV/DVD, free WiFi, sleeper couch and big en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. Unit has kitchenette, private patio with barbeque facility (only one room) and private entrance. Steps and a short walk take you to the Beach, restaurants, the harbour and all other activities. We are ideally situated for visits to the surrounding wine/fruit estates and for whale watching during the winter months. Only 60km from Cape Town and 30km from Cape Town International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 18 On Kloof Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
18 On Kloof Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing