We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Views unusual and quirky touches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
18 On Kloof Guest House
Ranked #6 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Stunning views are a big feature of 18 on Kloof but the furniture and fittings are so different from that which we have seen anywhere else.The Dining furniture is made from old Railway Sleepers and the collection of Designer Pewter by Caroll Boyes really intrigued us.
The Breakfast was superb and the Locum hosts Estelle and Dennis looked after us extremely well.
The bedroom was air conditioned and the bed comfortable.

I have to say that it is accommodation that suits Younger Couples best as the stunning views and proximity to the Harbour and its Restaurants are because it is on a Hill which is steep and for my wife walking to Restaurants was not an option due to the steep uphill walk back.

The steps even from the parking area make it unsuitable for wheelchairs or people who have difficulty climbing steps.

Parking is on the property but not totally secure in that there are no security gates which are very common in SA and access is sharply off the Main Road which at times can be a bit noisy. The air conditioning gives the option that the windows can be kept closed to reduce road noise.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies overlooking Gordons Bay.The only reason i took one star off sleep quality w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfer37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Golfer37
Thanks for the positive review of 18 on Kloof. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. It is true that we do have quite a lot of stairs on the property - inside as well as outside the guest house. An alternative is to book the Self Catering Unit which is situated on the ground floor and only has about 5 stairs from the parking to the unit entrance.
Our property is unfortunately not suitable for people with disabilities or people in wheel chairs.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 144 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed for 20 days and used this lovely hotel as the basis for exploring the beauty of Western Cape. Our room was very comfortable, clean, equiped with everything one might need. Breakfast was always delicious. The view from the balcony over the bay and mountains is fantastic. But the thing that impressed us most was the attention and care given to us by Rita and Pieter. They helped us make our daily plans and their advice was always invaluable. We wouldn't have seen a half of it if not for our nice hosts. Will certainly recommend to everyone this great hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptishoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2012

Dear Ptishoe
Thanks for the positive review of 18 on Kloof. It is always good to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We hope you will return again and be able to see some more of our great area and country - and also that you will be back @ 18 on Kloof!
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Friendly welcome, much appreciated glass of orange juice on as very hot day. We were booked in the self catering unit which had its own lovely private deck. The main bedroom was nice, but with the bathroom being off this, it wasn't great for 3 adult - but it was exactly as described.

What really let this self catering accomodation down compared all others we stayed in in SA, were the little extras that you don't want to travel with - washing up liquid, dish towels etc and although not a problem for us staying one night, we were surprised to find no oven.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strollinthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Strollinthepark, thanks for the review.
Kindly note that the unit has been advertised as a "Family Unit - Self Catering" specifically because there was one bedroom with en-suite bathroom and two sleeper couches (meant for children) in the lounge. The guests sleeping in the lounge had to go through the bedroom to the bathroom - and that was why we did not accept bookings for 2 couples or people other than families. Your enquiry was for a family of 3 adults and it only came to light later that it was actually 3 single people.
We have however recently (2 weeks ago) changed the whole set-up of the unit. It now consists of one bedroom (where the lounge was) with queen size bed, a/c, tv/dvd and one sleeper couch (for one child). The "old" bedroom has been changed into a big bathroom with bath and wash basin (and the cupboards and dressing table - it is therefore a dressing room / bathroom) and the old bathroom is still there with the shower and toilet. It is a huge improvement - if I may say so :)
The kitchenette is still the same - and it was advertised as having a 5-plate gas hob (did not say anything about an oven) and there is also a microwave oven, very few of our guests have ever asked for an oven. The dishwashing liquid and towels are always provided for guests.
Kind regards
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Arriving from a long drive, the friendly reception, clean room and spectacular views were a welcoming sight. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Service was always friendly and the breakfast delicious. Watching the sun set over False Bay while sitting on the balcony was spectacular to say the least. We will definitely visit again, and can also recommend 18 on Kloof to anyone. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LourensH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

My wife and I had an excellent stay with Rita and her team at 18 on Kloof in Gordon's Bay. We were looking for a small B&B outside of Capetown where we could relax and this fit the bill. Rita was there to great us a little after midnight after a late flight from Angola. The next morning we woke to the view of False Bay from our bed. Our room has to vie for one of the best bathroom views anywhere. We were served wonderful breakfasts and provided with all sorts of information on the sights of Capetown and the surrounding areas during the three nights we stayed there. Gordons Bay is close enough to easily get to Capetown, but far enough out to be restful. We were very pleased with our base out side Capetown.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nudibranch22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Enjoyed our stay but not very keen on the busy R44 on which it is situated. Beautiful views and attentive owner.

We were also unhappy that we had asked for a room with a shower in our original enquiry but we had a room with bath only. The owner did allow us to use a separate shower room on the landing nearby for part of our stay but not for the 6 days we were booked.
Unfortunately, my husband has difficulty with a bath and therefore this was very inconvenient for us. Double check your booking if this is a problem for you.
18 on Kloof is not for you if you have a problem with steps or stairs and I think prior warning would be advisable to future visitors as we would not have booked if we had known.

For the above reasons we would advise friends to confirm the above points before booking and also to be happy with steps and steep stairs. This is our reason for our reply to below.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawnswood13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18kloof, Owner at 18 On Kloof Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Dear Guest

I appreciate the time and effort you took to write your review. I kindly wish to comment on the points made:

In original enquiry made you have asked a quote on a Standard Double Room with shower, which I have then given – together with the names and descriptions of the rooms I have quoted on. You however replied that you had a look on the internet and see that the Lion and Leopard Rooms do not have private balconies and that you and your husband would prefer to have a room with a private balcony.

I then quoted again on the Deluxe Double Room with shower OR bath (Buffalo OR Elephant Rooms) and private balconies. You replied the following: Please will you book us a room with a balcony – the Elephant Room looks good – from 12/2 to 18/2 (and as you have looked at the rooms on the internet I would think that you were aware that the Elephant Room is the only room with a bath?)

I then proceeded to book the room you have requested and you have received a booking confirmation email with the details of the booking as well a full description of the room booked, which clearly stated: Accommodation booked Double Room with a/c and balcony/bath – allocated to Elephant Room. After payment of deposit has been done, you have received another form with booking confirmation which also stated “Double Room with a/c, balcony and bath”. If you had a proper look at one of the forms you would have seen that the room requested has a bath and if you had a problem with the bath in the bathroom, you should have requested to change the booking to the Buffalo Room. I have booked the Elephant Room after you specifically requested it and I have not changed the booking to another room after the booking has been made.

When you mentioned upon check-in that you actually would prefer a room with a shower, I offered the use of the shower opposite your room to you for 5 nights, but unfortunately the room was booked for the last night of your stay and you could therefore not use that shower for that one night. I could also not move you to the Buffalo Room with shower as it has been booked as well for some of the dates. I did not want to inconvenience you by moving you to another room for 2 nights and therefore I did not make the suggestion.

Regarding the steps or stairs mentioned, when looking at pictures of the property, you can clearly see that the building has 3 levels as it is built on the slope of the mountain – and you can think that there will be stairs as guest houses can unfortunately not install a “lift” – it is just not practical and too expensive. The stairs inside and outside are built according to building regulations and therefore normal regarding steepness and there are railings installed as well.

After your stay with us, a new balcony has been added for the Lion and Leopard Rooms and as they are on the 1st floor, there are therefore not as many stairs to climb if you book one of these rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here after reading the great reviews on Tripadvisor. It was really easy to find with plenty of parking and a short walk into the beautiful village on Gordons Bay. We walked back to the B&B one evening in the dark and felt quite safe. It is a bit of a steep hill back but only 5 minutes so useful if you go out for dinner/drinks. We were booked into the Lion Room which had a four poster bed and had the most beautiful views across the bay. We could not have asked for more in the room - everything you needed was there including a fridge, tea and coffee, bottled water and toiletries. Our room did not have a balcony but that didn't matter as there is a shared terrace but to honest there is so much to do around that you would not spend much time staying in!
Rita was incredibly helpful with suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to try within easy reach of the property. The location is perfect, being on the main road and within easy drive of Hermanus and the Winelands. The breakfast each morning was the best we had whilst on our trip with lots of choice and all home made.
We really wish that we had stayed here a bit longer as after 2 days we moved on to another area. Of the three properties we stayed in, this was without doubt the best in terms of hospitality, location and standards. We hope to return to the area as we loved it so much and if we do, we would definately stay here again and would recommend to our friends.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em_J4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
291 reviews
2 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
Oceana Palms Luxury Guesthouse
#12 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 18 On Kloof Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 18 On Kloof Guest House

Address: 18 Kloof Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa (Formerly 18 On Kloof B&B)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range: $79 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 18 On Kloof Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 on Kloof Guest House is a 4 star guest house that offers stunning views – as well as great hospitality and affordable prices! 18 on Kloof is situated in Gordon’s Bay, overlooking the beautiful False Bay. We have two magnificent seaview bedrooms, all en-suit with private balconies. Bedrooms are tastefully decorated and are equipped with TV, DVD, free WiFi bar fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, ceiling fans, cotton percale linen, air conditioning and electronic safe. We also have two self catering unit consisting of one bedroom with queen size bed, A/C, TV/DVD, free WiFi, sleeper couch and big en-suite bathroom with bath and shower. Unit has kitchenette, private patio with barbeque facility (only one room) and private entrance. Steps and a short walk take you to the Beach, restaurants, the harbour and all other activities. We are ideally situated for visits to the surrounding wine/fruit estates and for whale watching during the winter months. Only 60km from Cape Town and 30km from Cape Town International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your 18 On Kloof Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
18 On Kloof Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing