We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor on the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Manor on the Bay
Ranked #2 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

It was a friendly haven. The rooms are beautifully decorated, comfortable and clean. It is very well located, within walking distance of several good restaurants and just across the street from the beach. They treated us to an excellent breakfast. I would love to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorotb, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time praising Manor on the Bay and we certainly hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    81
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
136
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We feel so refreshed and rested after being spoilt by wonderful owners and staff. Great views, spacious room and cosy stoep with a fireplace made for a memorable stay. Thanks Karin for a scrumptious breakfast and thanks to you and Hanel for your kindness and perfect hospitality. Regards, Ricky and Adrienne.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorotb, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for the kind words and your big THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Capetown
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Most friendly staff and owner couple.

Karin, that handled my reservation is the most friendly person I happen to deal with in a long time.

When I arrived to book in Candy was on duty and when I mentioned I had a sore throat she offered to make me home remedy. People that do more than the standard stuff.

I would recommend Room 1 and fore self catering unit 12. Both have lovely views.

The weather was pleasant on the day and its winter time.

Room Tip: Room 1 and for self catering unit 10 Recmmend the Harbour light restaurant that is 600 m away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorotb, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review and pointing out specific room features/restaurants for future bookings. Winter days are charming in this little town and we made sure to keep the fires going throughout this season. Sincerely hope you will be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Manor on the Bay. It is beautifully situated and has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The room was big comfortable and breakfast really good. The staff were friendly and helpful. One small negative that may not be important to most people was the availability of TV channels.

Room Tip: Lovely to have room with sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorotb, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Always striving to improve, we noted your comment about the TV channels and happy to anounce that we have upgraded our TV subscription. Hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent 6 nights at this really lovely guesthouse/B&B. The breakfast was great: cereals, fruit, bread/toast etc and you could also have a cooked breakfast (boiled eggs for me; a fry up for my husband and son). The dining room had a view of the bay and was really quite charming. We had rooms 9 & 10(spacious, nicely furnished) which didn't have a view of the bay, but of the small enclosed garden/courtyard from the little terrace where we sometimes sat to read and relax, which was still very nice. The owners and manageress were all very helpful and with the two young children and cats, the atmosphere was homely but still 'professional'. Perfect combination. We sometimes sat in the garden room, which had an open fire (the weather was a bit chilly) and views of the bay and garden. Guests often sat there in the evening reading, using their pc's and chatting over a drink. You can walk to a few nice restaurants (ranging from inexpensive fish places and pizza to slightly more pricey fish/meat restaurants). Generally, Gordon's Bay is well situated to explore places like Stellenbosch, the vineyards, Cape Town, and even Simon's Town which although on the other side of the bay, is not a lengthy trip and it is a scenic one. We did not drive south along the coast, only because we did not have the time. Maybe next time we visit??

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorotb, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
"Maybe next time you visit?".... We sincerely hope that you and your lovely family will stay with us again. I still remember those chatty gatherings in front of the fire with guests from all over the globe at the time. Happy days! Thank you for the lovely compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I have just had a lovely 9 day holiday at Manor on The Bay. My tenth visit as I come every year from UK. There is no where to compare to this beautiful place. The rooms are beautifully designed like a boutique hotel. The service is friendly and efficient. Thanks Karin and Hanel for looking after us so well. Anne Harriss, UK.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre nor room service as this is a guesthouse. All rooms are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorotb, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review Lady A. Looking forward to your return soon! The lavender is growing fast........Should have a flower on your breakfast plate this year :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We only stayed in Gordon's Bay for 1 night but what a great visit. Stayed in an excellent room in Manor on the Bay which had a wonderful view out over the bay in the sunset direction. Breakfast was excellently prepared and Karin was a terrific help and advisor on everything. Good food low key fish restaurant a safe short walk from hotel, lovely small safe beach right across the road from the hotel entrance, good secure car parking, good promenade walk down in centre of town and a fabulous drive from Gordon's Bay down to Betty's Bay. A terrific 24 hour visit hugely down to the Manor on the Bay location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorotb, Manager at Manor on the Bay, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for such a kind review, even though you stayed for only one night. Hope to see you back here for a longer visit as there is so much to do in this area as well as being central to so many Cape Town, Winelands and Route 43 attractions. Until next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berg en Zee Guest House
Berg en Zee Guest House
#3 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof B&B
18 On Kloof B&B
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor on the Bay

Property: Manor on the Bay
Address: 117 Beach Road | Western Cape, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor on the Bay Guesthouse is situated 50m from the beach, offering affordable accommodation, value for money and great discounted specials throughout the year, in picturesque Gordon's Bay, Cape Town, South Africa. We are 5 minutes’ walk from upmarket restaurants and Bikini Beach with Blue Flag status. Gordon’s Bay is a top tourist destination in close proximity to Cape Town, Table Mountain, the Winelands (Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Paarl, Helderberg) and over 12 golf courses and located on Route 43, one of SA’s most scenic routes (Gordon’s Bay to Hermanus costal road). Also famous for the Southern Right whales visiting us each year: Gordon’s Bay, Gateway to the Whale Route, August – November. Enjoy the warmer sea water – about 9 degrees warmer - than Cape Town’s icy waters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manor on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor On The Bay South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing