We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb seafood!”

Harbour Lights Seafood Grill
Ranked #20 of 23 Restaurants in Gordon's Bay
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb seafood!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Food was great! Unfortunately, we got put into a corner, which wasn't great, but we really enjoyed our meal!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    37
    25
    29
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the 4th time that I had been to Harbour Lights and having been satisfied with the service and quality of the food on those previous occasions, I decided to treat my wife and mother to a Sunday lunch.
It seemed as though there had been a water leak in the restaurant as there was a bucket and tarpaulen in the pathway -this day, however was sunny with clear skies, and nobody thought to remove the obstacles, which spoilt the ambiance of the venue.

Most of the seafood on the menu was not available (no tuna, sole or dorado), wines I selected on the menu were not available, but they were prepared to provide a substitute (not on the menu) at the same price (even though I knew that the substitute was an inferior cheaper wine) -not ethical.
The restaurant was not full, but the service was slow and not considerate.

I ordered Fillet steak with a pepper sauce -the steak was sour tasting (and looked like rump) and the sauce was too salty to eat -on the second try, the sauce was darker but had no flavour at all (it tasted like crushed peppercorns mixed with cream) -it was insipid.

Only after I complained the second time was I told that the normal chef was absent and his replacement was not coping- if a chef cannot make a pepper sauce, then he is useless.

My wife's mussels in garlic sauce did not taste of garlic at all and had a very bland taste -the tiny mussels also did not also excite her tastebuds.
All in all, my mother enjoyed her calamari strips (cheapest main course dish on the menu at R90), but she never raved about it.

My past good memories of Harbour Lights was washed away last Sunday and it will take much persuasion to return there in a hurry.
I write this not to criticize only, but to prompt management that action needs to be taken to revive a potential goldmine, which in my opinion is now an empty hole -(in my opinion, the lights have gone out).

Competition is abundant in Gordons Bay/Strand/ Somerset West and customers will choose the venues that give them the best quality service and food, irrespective of price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robby62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Went to this restaurant for the first time and what a disappointment. Both my wife and I had a crayfish and it was the worst ever. Can even make better ones at home. The staff not friendly at all. Think their name a n location went to their heads

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaconiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

nice to eat at, scenic views and right inside the harbour, plenty of parking and great roads to get there. pretty location, take your camera and tip your waitresses, good is good although a tad bit expenisive, it comes with the upmarket style of the restaurant, afterall you get what you pay for.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank B18C3VIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not overly impressed”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

They offer a range of fish in several types of sauces which I felt were perhaps a little experimental. The fish was overlooked so made it tough to eat and the sauce was incredibly bitter that it ruined the dish. Friends had other varieties and felt the same about theirs. Larges prawns were very overlooked and made the meal difficult to enjoy when struggling to get the prawns out of the shells. The meals weren't terribly hot either. Nice friendly service and the waitress is very knowledgeable about her menus and wines, but the chef needed to taste his creations before sending them out to the customer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank witchypooSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbour Lights Seafood Grill also viewed

Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Harbour Lights Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing