We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but a busy loud pub”
Review of The Tavern - CLOSED

The Tavern
Cuisines: Mediterranean, African, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but a busy loud pub”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We met up with some family for dinner. The food was very good as was the service. Unfortunately the live band was very loud making conversation difficult. Overall a good spot for a drink and pub grub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    63
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Busy but good”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a meal at the Tavern from guest house recommendations.
Were lucky to get a table straight away with good service to say how busy it was. Had fish and chips served in a frypan was very tastey. Very lively place which seemed to be popular with torists and locals.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barlicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

great atmosphere, great seafood.Always busy so better to book a table.be prepared to wait for your food

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had an extended family meal there. The food was good, although not spectacular (but it's not that kind kind of eating place). The atmosphere is lively and the place is regularly full. It's in the quaint little harbour between the Naval College and the Yacht Club, looking across the bay towards Table Mountain. Very enjoyable on a warm summer evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Choose somewhere else”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Even though Gordons Bay does not have a huge amount of restaurants.. Do not eat here. Perfect place for a glass of wine, or a beer but the food was extremely disappointing. The menu offers a wide range of foods, but seems to specialise in fish which I was happy to see. I ordered the calamari and was told that they do not have 'rings' as specified on the menu but that they have 'strips'. Thinking nothing of this, I was like 'sure!' To my horror, it was processed, frozen calamari strips that hadn't even been cooked properly. If they had run out of fresh calamari they should tell their customers, so they have the option to change their order if they wish. As a result, I wasn't well the next morning, which I wasn't too pleased about. Im usually not too fussy, but this just wasn't good. Hopefully this was just a one off. Lovely place to go for a drink though!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
Gordon's Bay, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing