We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the horseback riding with Riaan - Orion Stables!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colourful Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colourful Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp
2 reviews
“Try the horseback riding with Riaan - Orion Stables!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

Thanks to Paul, Marjolein and Riaan (Orion Stables) we had a beautiful stay at the Colourful Manor. Rooms are very spacious, decent and peaceful. We had the three day horseback riding program at Orion Stables organized by Riaan. Every day he took us to another place (mountains, coast, winelands), so we got never bored of it. Horses are healthy en well groomed. Lunches included at for example Waterkloof were amazing!
Thank you for taking good care! Wish you the best!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    45
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
42
103
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Colourful manor is situated in a prime location in Gordon's Bay. The amazing views of Strand and Gordons bay are making the spot special. Because it is very centrally located is it easy to go to the several 'must sees' in the area. Don't miss the wine estates in Stellenbosch, Franschhoek, The botanic garden(s), The Whales and the great (star)restaurants nearby. We loved the warmly greetings by the hosts. They made our stay unforgettable within all the advice and help we needed.

Room Tip: I would recommend the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

With hotels in the winelands being so expensive we decided to look a little further and found Colourful Manor. The rooms are well presented & furnished with great views & the hosts were very friendly and helpful. It also gave us the opportunity to explore Betty's Bay, buy some great pottery & enjoy the lovely botanic gardens. Waterkloof restaurant did not disappoint and the scenery on the drive to Franshhoek was spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crudots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Loved the spot, the breakfast, the rooms, the wine at the 'honesty bar', the view, the trips that were arranged for us, the weather, the restaurants nearby (Waterkloof!), Paul and Marjoleins hospitality, the golf courses, and so on, and so on. My advice: don't hesitate, book.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room with poolview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

I have nothing else than very positive feedback : well situated and nice place designed with a lot of taste.
Also very friendly hosts ready to give advice on what to do and where to go in the area. Don't miss the waterkloof restaurant !
Close to the wine estates and to the bay.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_J1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Ideal location to stay near Cape Town. Comfort rooms, great design and wonderful hosts Marjolein and Paul. Big breakfast. Perfect for trips like Shark cage diving, whale watching, golf and visit excellent Michelin star worth restaurants like waterkloof and rust & vrede. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiels_taste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oosterbeek
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

When we arrived at Colourful Manor, we really were very surprised.The view, the rooms, the breakfast and last but not least, the very nice people ,Paul and Marjolein.They helped us to make very nice trips and visit the most beatiful golfcourses.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irma d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
2.6 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
2.7 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apricot Gardens Boutique Guesthouse
2.5 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wind-Rose Guest House
Wind-Rose Guest House
#7 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colourful Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colourful Manor

Property: Colourful Manor
Address: Sweetwatersroad | Farm 959, Portion 28, Gordon's Bay 7150, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colourful Manor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colourful Manor is beautifully located on the slopes of the Gordons Bay mountains overlooking False Bay, Cape of Good Hope, Table mountain, the Atlantic Ocean, the Hottentot Holland mountains and the vineyards of Vergelegen Wine estate. Modern decorated luxurious rooms with either sea of mountain view. Superb bathrooms, top quality beds and linen. Great service, very personal service and recommendations by the owners and freshest breakfast with Italian coffees. Centrally located for Capetown, Stellenbosch, Franschoek, Hermanus and the winelands. All scenic routes start and stop at Colourful Manor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colourful Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colourful Manor South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing