We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Krystal Beach Hotel(Gordon's Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Spa
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gordon's Beach Lodge(Gordon's Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Somerset Links(Somerset West)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Somerset Lodge(Somerset West)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Exner(Grabouw)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spier Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
62
35
11
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
35
11
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest houseown private balconywater restrictionsminute drivenice staythree nightscape townan amazing placebreakfast was amazingwarm welcomemonikaguesthousehostsrefrigeratorpuppyjacuzzibay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 110 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This is my second time at your Establishment - First time I was solo as my fiance could not make it, Second time was myself and the kids - what can I say, you bring wonderful service that makes you want to come again and again, going that extra mile, even supplying the comfortable cruches for my young son whom had his leg in plaster. The jucusi was a bliss for the kids, and that room, was like heaven. Your hospitality was more then welcomed, even the dog was part of my kids enjoyment with his friendly attitude and playful mood. Breakfast is a morning delight, comfortable , relaxed and filling. When you leave, its like leaving home or saying goodbye to friends.

See you again soon.

Harry and sons - Jean / Kyle

Room Tip: If you would like a room with less traffic and in a garden setting, we call it the garden of Eden Rooms, as they are away from Main Building and more private, acces to pool , jucusi and easy access to your motor vehicle. (South Side Rooms)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We were given a very warm welcome by Winston, the Anatolian Shepherd Dog, and Jim.We were shown to a beautiful room which was very comfortable and had it's own entrance. The room was very clean and had great views. of the lovely garden The breakfast was excellent, the full English was very filling (only to be expected really when the owners are "ex-pats"!). Jim, Chris and Joy were very amiable, charming hosts and were very helpful by giving us their expertise on this beautiful area. The whole house was beautifully decorated whilst the garden and pool area was beautifully laid out with stunning views. We spent 2 fantastic days here and thoroughly enjoyed it, we can definately recommend staying there. Thanks very much Jim, Chris and Joy (and Winston) for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie-PapaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in GBGH for 11 nights over Xmas and what a delight it was. There was 7people in our party and we booked out 3 rooms in the guesthouse. We were a little apprehensive about staying in a guest house in SA as we usually stay in hotels but there was absolutely no need to worry! The accommodation was excellent, the food was superb, the honesty bar worked a treat and the owners was very special people indeed. We had the mountain view room and the views of stellenbosch and false bay were spectacular from our room.

Chris, Joy & Jim were excellent hosts. Chris & Joy prepared breakfast every morning and it was amazing. Full Irish, full buffet continental, juices, coffees- you name it nothing was too much hassle. Jim organised any trips we wanted to do and advised us on best ways & times to see certain things. He was so good he even took us around himself. I think he secretly enjoys the sightseeing too!

We left there after making 3 new friends and we certainly miss them all!

I strongly recommend staying at this guesthouse if you enjoy the personal touch and my best piece of advise would be to listen to any of their recommendations asbtheynwere generally spot on!

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Gordon's Bay Guesthouse is situated close to all the shops, restaurants, bars and is just a two-minute drive from the beach. They have a lovely Jacuzzi, swimming pool and a beautiful view. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious! It's safe and private. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and i stayed here or one night in September 2011. It was very enjoyable and we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was lovely and we were served a delicious cooked breakfast. The price was very good and worked out to be £42 Bed and Breakfast/couple.
Definitely intend to stay longer when we visit again.
The owners know lots of interesting information on the local area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank easyjettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews