We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise has a name” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gordons Bay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 28 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise has a name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in GBGH for 11 nights over Xmas and what a delight it was. There was 7people in our party and we booked out 3 rooms in the guesthouse. We were a little apprehensive about staying in a guest house in SA as we usually stay in hotels but there was absolutely no need to worry! The accommodation was excellent, the food was superb, the honesty bar worked a treat and the owners was very special people indeed. We had the mountain view room and the views of stellenbosch and false bay were spectacular from our room.

Chris, Joy & Jim were excellent hosts. Chris & Joy prepared breakfast every morning and it was amazing. Full Irish, full buffet continental, juices, coffees- you name it nothing was too much hassle. Jim organised any trips we wanted to do and advised us on best ways & times to see certain things. He was so good he even took us around himself. I think he secretly enjoys the sightseeing too!

We left there after making 3 new friends and we certainly miss them all!

I strongly recommend staying at this guesthouse if you enjoy the personal touch and my best piece of advise would be to listen to any of their recommendations asbtheynwere generally spot on!

Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
36
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Gordon's Bay Guesthouse is situated close to all the shops, restaurants, bars and is just a two-minute drive from the beach. They have a lovely Jacuzzi, swimming pool and a beautiful view. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious! It's safe and private. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Madz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and i stayed here or one night in September 2011. It was very enjoyable and we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was lovely and we were served a delicious cooked breakfast. The price was very good and worked out to be £42 Bed and Breakfast/couple.
Definitely intend to stay longer when we visit again.
The owners know lots of interesting information on the local area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easyjettraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

A lovely location where we were made most welcome by the owners.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentine02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Myself and my family enjoyed the most wonderful holiday in South Africa where we stayed at the Gordon’s Bay Guesthouse for 17 nights. This was our first trip to South Africa and even before we arrived the help that the owners had provided us via email and phone was invaluable and made us feel really welcome.

Our itinery was quite complex, taking in safari trips, trains journeys and internal flights and all along, the owners, Chris, Jim and Joy were fantastic in making sure everything ran smoothly for us.

Before we arrived Chris & Jim had organised collecting us from the airport and looking after our spare luggage whilst on safari. When we returned we had great difficulty getting a hire car so the owners kindly offered us the use of their own air conditioned 4x4 for the duration of our stay, a fantastic gesture we thought.

We stayed in the Africa Suite a very spacious Queen bedroom with full air conn and an additional sofa bed. The owners kindly provided an extra single bed for our daughter so we had full use of the suite throughout our stay. The room and premises are quite secure; our room could be accessed either via the main building or a separate guest’s entrance. The rooms also have a small safe where we could leave our valuables.

We thoroughly enjoyed the time spent in the Guesthouse itself, the breakfasts were a real treat and most mornings Chris & Jim helped us plan our days out whether it be travel advise or indeed booking tickets in advance for us on their computer. We also enjoyed the evening guest barbeques with the owners and the various local taverns and restaurants which they recommended.

Gordon’s Bay is a beautiful and peaceful location, ideal as a family base to explore the Western Cape. After day trips we would relax by the pool and often enjoy a drink or two with the owners and other residents.

In short the Gordon’s Bay Guesthouse was the best choice we could have made, we arrived as guests and left as friends and really look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_Mandy_Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Upon arrival we were met at the airport by our host Jim who straight away made us feel very welcome and whisked us back to the lovely Gordons Bay Guesthouse with its amazing sea and mountain views.Dropped our bags in our great room and met the rest of the great team of hosts Jims wife Chris and Joy who cracked open a very welcome cold beer on the poolside patio area were we where made very welcome and straight away felt very comfortable and at home.
Went to bed feeling like we had made a good choice and we were proved to be right over the course of the next 2 weeks It was in a nut shell an absolute gem of a place to stay and explore the delights of South Africa helped by Jim,Chris and Joys invaluble knowledge of the local and surrounding amazing things to do including Cape town,the winelands,sharkcage diving (yes we really did it and so did JIM ) whale watching,cape point,Table mountain the list is endless we Loved it all and will definately be going again so strike up the Braii Jim ere we come.
I would just like to say we could find nothing negative what so ever about the Gordons Bay Guest House or our way too short stay it was very clean, fantastic location with a great group of people who owned it who we are now very pleased to call our friends.I would definatley recomend staying there and cant wait to be there again!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Having been picked up from the airport by Jim and then meeting Chris and Joy on the first evening I knew we had picked the right Guest House for our stay. Their hospitality continued over and above the call of duty throughout our 3 week stay. Our group of family and friends which extended to people staying in other B&B's around the area, were extremely well catered for, from Joy and Chris's superb breakfast's and snacks right up to Jim's famous braai's.
The location of this Guest House is another plus point. You have Cape Town centre 30mins away in one direction, Hermanus 60mins in the other and a number of brilliant wine routes just 20mins away heading ot towards Stellenbosch. And what with the beach, bars and resteraunts all being a 5min walk away, you couldn't be better placed.
Our party (Age range 17-60) hired out each room available, all of which were spacious, comfortable and clean. The pool and jacuzi were both clean and were well used by us all.
In addition to what the Guest House offer's itself, its hosts have an aray of contacts that mean great deals on excursions like, Shark Diving, Wine Routes, Cray Fishing, Game reserves. And their knowledge of the area means that you are directed to all the best resteraunts.
All in all this is a brilliant place run by brilliant people. Can't wait to stop here again, hopefully in the near future.
Thanks.
Alex Fletcher (30)
Sheffield

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldOwls1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.8 mi away
18 On Kloof B&B
18 On Kloof B&B
#5 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wind-Rose Guest House
Wind-Rose Guest House
#7 of 28 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordons Bay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordons Bay Guesthouse

Property: Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Address: Gordons Bay Road | 37 Boundary Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gordons Bay Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a beautiful Helderberg mountain slope with magnificent sea views over "False Bay" towards Table Mountain and Cape of Good Hope. All 9 en-suite rooms are air-conditioned with own private entrances and decking/balcony areas. The guesthouse is set within beautiful sub-tropical gardens with heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi and Braai-Lapa entertainment/bbq area, only +- 600 meters down mountainside to the beachfront with all its amenities. Monika & Jochen, Hosts & Managers are on hand living even next door to welcome their guests, could even organize tours & transfers throughout the area and to & from Capetown Intern. Airport, only about 1/2hrs drive or Cape Town City Centre(+-55km) and are passionate about best hospitality services, can give friendly advice's what to do, where to go, which restaurant & bar facilities around are best, as needed.The ideal location for a superb vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Gordons Bay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gordons Bay Guesthouse South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing