We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Margot/Tony One Of Our Favourites.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Berg en Zee Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
2 reviews
“Margot/Tony One Of Our Favourites.”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've stayed at Berg en Zee several times over the past few years and count it as one of our favourite stopovers in South Africa. Great hospitality from Jackie and co., lovely place in lovely spot overlooking the bay. Half an hour after landing at the airport, there we are, on our balcony, enjoying the most lovely view. We've stayed at a lot of places on our travels and this certainly ranks among the top ones. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BergenZee, Owner at Berg en Zee Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Margot and Tony - it's always so lovely to welcome you to Berg en Zee. Out of our six years in the guesthouse, there has only been one year when we didn't see you and we think of you as good friends after all this time. Looking forward to your visit next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
112
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights in feb 2013. We had a great stay. Jackie and her team looked after us wonderfully. The house is wonderful. The breakfasts were delicious and varied!! Room and balcony were great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saulsheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

From the moment we set foot in Jackie's guest house we knew we'd struck gold.
A beautiful carpet and beautiful carpeted stairs and beautiful Jackie to welcome us!
Nothing was too much trouble. Maps provided and local knowledge. Lovely rooms. All spotless and tastefully furnished.
Delicious breakfasts. The best we've ever had in the southern hemisphere.
We can't wait for our fourth visit. We'll dream about it till next time!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rodney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BergenZee, Owner at Berg en Zee Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
This review really touched my heart - thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to your visit every year and it has been so lovely to meet all your family and friends, who have also stayed with us over the years. See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here with our family (2+2) for 4 nights during the christmas time. We came here from Cape Town to use as our base for trips around (winelands & cape of good hope).

This is a great small B&B 100 meters away from the public beaches. In the large family room we had a great view to the bay and beds for 4 with all needed amenities (including air con). The breakfast was a lovely experience with lot of choices and always very friendly and welcoming athosphere.The lady owner was every morning giving tips for trips - each of them were accurate and high quality.

In the B&B there is also a very affordable honesty bar with some emergency food (as on christmas day all restaurants were closed).

If your looking for a base outside the Cape Town we can fully recommend this !

the only thing missing is the pool as <20 degrees sea is not that attactive even on warm days...

Room Tip: Ask for second floor so your views will be better to sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jounianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is truly a guest house worth mentioning. Jackie and her staff are professional and delightful. The accommodation is spacious and immaculate and the view spectacular. Gordons Bay is well situated to trips to Cape Town and surrounding bays and wine lands.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

If you are visiting the Gordons Bay area or want a base near Cape Town or the Cape Winelands then this is the place to stay. Immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and Jackie and her staff cannot do enough for you. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

A home from home. A small guest house with beautiful sweeping views of Gordon's bay.
Generous size rooms sport some beautiful old Cape furniture pieces, obviously collected over some time.
Comfortable beds and crisp white linen make for a good sleep.
The convenience of a bar fridge, kettle , some basic crockery /cutlery/ glasses was a "nice to have".
Coffee, variety of teas, milk , sugar and a biscuit replaced everyday.
The property is immaculate and well kept.
Breakfasts are a treat. You will be greeted by that wonderful smell of freshly ground and brewed coffee.
All the usual brekkie goodies available and some little extras each day. Generous portions too.
The best aspect however is the "extra mile " type attitude of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble....and always with a smile.
Thank you for a lovely stay.
Special thanks to Jackie, Arena, Letitia and the team...you made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharrydk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BergenZee, Owner at Berg en Zee Guest House, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Many thanks for your wonderful comments, Sharon. It really is great for us to know that you were happy with all the different aspects of your stay at Berg en Zee. It was a pleasure for us to have you and your family here and we look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof Guest House
18 On Kloof Guest House
#6 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg en Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg en Zee Guest House

Property: Berg en Zee Guest House
Address: 135 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berg en Zee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for exploring the attractions of Cape Town and the Western Cape, Gordon's Bay is a lovely Mediterranean-style seaside village. Berg en Zee is centrally situated just across the road from the beach with 6 spacious direct sea-view rooms and 2 luxurious penthouse suites. Delicious breakfasts. Free Internet and wi-fi. Walk to restaurants. English, Afrikaans, French spoken. Lots of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Berg en Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg En Zee Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing