We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great great breakfast with a excellent hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berg en Zee Guest House
Ranked #3 of 27 Gordon's Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great great breakfast with a excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

The breakfast here was excellent. English people know how to make a good English breakfast. A lovely room, with plenty of space and very clean. The two ladies made our stay very enjoyable and couldn't do enough for us to help. The day we left we had an early flight, unfortunately we didn't have time for the wide selection of breakfast but they got up specially for us to prepare a bacon sandwich. Very kind. The breakfast options: Cereal, toast, scones, muffins, full english, yoghurt, fruit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSARGENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
111
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
madison wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

This guest house has all the ingredients of a wonderful stay.
Quiet, comfortable, beautiful setting along the ocean.
Clean, well appointed rooms, with a touch of class and old world charm.
Attentive staff and friendly owner who interacts with guests, and assures satisfaction.
Wonderful breakfasts cooked to your order with lots of options.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank experiencer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

The location, the view, the rooms, jackie and her team - a perfect combination!! Could not have been better. Jochen and Ulrike (London)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jochenulrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

My partner and I spent 12 days at Berg en Zee and can't wait to go back! Jackie and her team could not have been more welcoming or helpful. Her suggestions of places to visit and things to do was spot on. Our room was gorgeous - tons of space, beautifully furnished, lovely balcony overlooking the bay, tea and coffee making facilities, and free wi-fi. Breakfast was great and the coffee pot was bottomless! The atmosphere was of a home rather than a hotel. There was plenty of private parking just outside the door. Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance mean it is not necessary to take the car out in the evening. And it was great to have the option of heating up one of Jackie's delicious lasagnes, along with wine from the honesty bar, after a long hard day on the golf course! Gordon's Bay is a great centre to stay, being convenient for Cape Town, Stellenbosch and The Winelands, numerous excellent golf courses and the Whale Route. I would not hesitate to recommend this Guest House to anyone. In fact I already have but, such is its popularity, Jackie was unfortunately unable to accommodate my friends on this occasion!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kushtipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Wir waren 3 Nächte in Jackies Berg en Zee- Guesthouse und haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Die Lage ist super, die Zimmer liebevoll eingerichtet und das Omelett und das Müsli zum Frühstück ein Traum! Wir haben in Gordons Bay unsere Südafrika-Reise gestartet - einen besseren Start als das "Berg en Zee" hätten wir nicht haben könne. Auch die guten Tipps von Jackie haben wir befolgt und konnten so tolle Dinge abseits vom Touristenrummel sehen. Wir würden dieses Guesthouse jederzeit wieder buchen!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rheinlaender06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

The superlatives have been written about the place, and they are fully justified. Great place, people, rooms, atmosphere, breakfast etc.
Jackie the owner\manager is very knowledgeable on the area and is invaluable if you want to use your time to good effect.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANZ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Wonderful place, great service, fantastic location to explore Cape region. Gordon's Bay is a lovely spot, to stay, good choice, especially Berg en Zee! Jackie and all the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Jackie was so helpful in her recommendations prior to our trip via email, and then during our stay as well, and she assisted with directions for our day trips too. Thanks for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gordon's Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manor on the Bay
Manor on the Bay
#2 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
18 On Kloof B&B
18 On Kloof B&B
#5 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
Gordons Bay Guesthouse
#8 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berg en Zee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berg en Zee Guest House

Property: Berg en Zee Guest House
Address: 135 Beach Road, Gordon's Bay 7140, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Gordon's Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Gordon's Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Berg en Zee Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for exploring the attractions of Cape Town and the Western Cape, Gordon's Bay is a lovely Mediterranean-style seaside village. Berg en Zee is centrally situated just across the road from the beach with 6 spacious direct sea-view rooms and 2 luxurious penthouse suites. Delicious breakfasts. Free Internet and wi-fi. Walk to restaurants. English, Afrikaans, French spoken. Lots of off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Berg en Zee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berg En Zee Guest House South Africa/Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing