We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no veg on main meals”
Review of Hotel Sas Morin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sas Morin
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Pozza di Fassa
Certificate of Excellence
leigh england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“no veg on main meals”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I spent xmas 2012 at the sas morin in pozza de fassa, in general the hotel was very good with a few reservations. The room was a bit small but very clean and tidy, the food was a bit hit and miss I liked the hot option with the salad I thought this was the highlight of the food on offer, the soups were very tasty and wholesome and the pasta starters filling.however the main meals were a let down very small portions and to my amazement we never saw a vegetable apart from potato all week this is a first in any hotel I have ever been in and I have been in many, the sweets were acceptable with verbal options. the general appearance of the hotel was very good, I used the sauna and steam room every night and they were both excellent especially the steam room its the hottest I have ever been in. the location however was awful we had to ski over to alba then catch as bus to canazi then do the same coming back which meant waiting and queuing for ski buses to come although the owner of the hotel ran a courtesy bus up to the main lift station it wasted valuable time in getting on to the the sellaronda ski circuit this though is no fault of the hotel I will not be caught out with this again. Overhaul I would recommend this hotel but not the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oddwood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    71
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
95
70
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We’ve just returned from a week staying half board at the Sas Morin (booked through Crystal Ski) and it really exceeded our expectations.

The food was superb – hearty 4 course meals after a long day on the piste, with lots of local dishes and a well-stocked salad bar. The highlight was a fig ravioli with pear ragout, which was a taste sensation! The chef clearly takes great pride in his work.

The service was excellent. Our waitresses spoke good English and had a lively charm - nothing was too much trouble, even when it was busy and there were only 2 of them covering the tables. We occasionally had to ask twice for something but it was never a problem.

Our room was spotless, spacious and warm. Generally the hotel was very quiet – there was minimal noise in the morning/early evening when people are moving around before breakfast or dinner, but we slept peacefully and undisturbed.

The hotel is well located in the middle of Pozza. However, to save your ski legs, the owner Fernando runs a free minibus service. He’ll take you to the main Bufaure lift and other local ski areas – and if you want to go further to e.g. Canazei/Campitello he’ll take you for a small charge (much cheaper than local taxi service). He was incredibly obliging when my mum fell and sprained her ankle on the slopes, taking her to the local doctor and then collecting her afterwards.

All round, we had no complaints about the Sas Morin and for a 3* hotel, it was definitely at the top end of the scale. Unless you have unrealistic ideas of what a 3* hotel offers, you should have a wonderful stay too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The SasMorin is a family run hotel - very hospitable hosts, good food, spacious bedrooms, very clean throughout and with the added bonus of a Wellness Centre which we used every day after a hard day's skiing. The hotel is situated quietly in Pozza and we used the hotel minibus each day to get to different ski lifts. A great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with a balcony overlooking the back of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

just returned from a weeks holiday in january we got this hotel as a late booking paying £341 for flights and half board i have been on many skiiing holidays and can say without doubt the dolomites are the most beautifull ski area i have ever visited, the hotel is really pretty and myself and my family were more than happy with the accomadation and the wellness centre was excellent a really treat after a hard days skiiing,we were very impressed with the food yes some nights the service was slow but youre on holiday so whats the rush we would definately return to this hotel its a great little hotel.we never had to wait for the shuttle service to the lifts a tip is to ski over to alba and catch the bus to canaize you can be there for 9 15 and you miss all the crowds and the busy busses same on youre return it was lovely skiing back to the village every night some evenings we were the only people on the slopes so in my opinion dont look at the negative reviews i have been on more than 40 ski trips and this as got to be one of the best hotels i have stayed at

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We booked a late deal away to Hotel Sas Morin for myself, my Mum, my Dad and my fiancee. We had an absolutely fantastic week.

The hotel itself is beautiful. We were on the second floor in 2 separate rooms. The rooms were very different but both perfect. Amazing shower with plenty of hot water, beds were quite hard but fairly comfortable and made spotless every day, plenty of storage and we had a little balcony that over looked the piste where you can do night skiing, if it takes your fancy.

The food was amazing! Breakfast consisted of tea, coffe, fruit juice, cereals, yougurt, eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, rolls, croissants, cakes and fruit. Pretty much everything you could want and plenty of it. No there isn't a full English breakfast but...you aren't in England!

Evening meals consisted of a salad buffet to start with a couple of hot options each night, then a course of soup or pasta, followed by a meat course and then dessert. You choose you meal at dinner for the following night, 3 choices at each course. In the past we have found the 'meat' course can be a little bit interesting, but here it was fantastic. Lovely steaks, meat kebabs, all sorts and all cooked perfectly. And the puddings...delicious. Everything from tiramisu to gelato to panna cotta, all delicious and obviously homemade.

Yes the hotel is a little way from the main gondola in Pozza but Fernando will take you there as and whe you please, for free, in the hotel's own mini bus. We took his number and phoned him if we needed collecting too, which was always done very promptly. He took us to Canazei a couple of times for 10Euros (for up to 8 people) and he also took us to another area, Obereggen for 10Euros (again for up to 8 people) which Crytal were charging 30Euros per person for the same 'trip'. No we didn't have ski guide, but the area was very easy to learn and we had no problems getting around. It was a great day out. Again we rang Fernando upon our return and he came and collected us. The perfect end to the holiday.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. They are very proud of it, and rightly so, yes some of the guests were asked not to lean their skis against the hotel but...there is a ski rack outside for that purpose. I think it is fantastic that they take so much pride in the hotel, and it shows!

One little tip: The easiest way to get back to Pozza from Canazei is to get the bus up to Alba and ski across to Pozza. It is only a couple of runs and you can get the gondola down for the last bit. Getting the bus back from Canazei can be a bit of a squeeze otherwise!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem nice, but I think staying on the second or third floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kins_SurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Just come back , the hotel was clean and well presented , room comfortable and always cleaned well and plenty of hot water , though i would suggest if want some privacy in your room ask for a room that is not over looked by another room , unless you are prepared to close your curtains.

we were on the first floor but our room was over looked by next door , also if your non smoker and have the room windows open your going to smell smoke .

Food was reasoable , but basic , paster most nights , and salard bar the same every night which was a bit unsatifactory . i suggest you get down early for meals , as the hostel seem reluctant , to restock , people after sking seem want to eat quite alot , and not enough to go round . if you have meat dish be warned , meat come on it own , not much in way of warm vegatables if you want them, and all my meat dishes bar one were cold . ovisioulsly left standing in kitchen

younger staff friendly and speak English , though i would say they lack waiting skills at the tables, and not enough staff , so is wait between meals , I also observed that if you did not spend money in the same way as other tables you did not get the same service .

i suggest you keep eye on things , such as salt peper etc as they will disapapear as not enough to go round , and you would have long wait waiting on staff , if you asked for them , furher it would have been better if they asked before taking this did not happen .

their is a bus service from hostel to main lift , if you want to go further their is a charge run by hotel .

The owner is very protective of his hotel , and quite set in his ways , but what did spoil my stay which was a reasoable stay up to that point , was his attutude when we returned from sking , on our last day , we wiped down our skies , to take into hotel , and rested against the wall out side , he went shell we say over the top , shouted , screaamed at me across the street , as they live opposite , and to be honest as paying custom spending money in his hotel , his reaction was over the top , agressive i would say , , so be warned unless you like being shouted at actross the street in over top fashion , we have been sking for many years , and never had this reaction , unacceptable i would say !

other than that a reasonable stay for the money .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

just come back from skiing holiday in the absolutly fantastic sas morin hotel wot a little cracker, great value,super food, lovely staff the house red wine was excellent & only 7 euro's a bottle lovely jubbly!!! the hotel runs bus to local ski area which we found very handy a lot of the sella ronda circuit was closed for a few days due to high windys but there's plenty of skiing in the dolomites for all to do try it you'll love it

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pozza di Fassa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rene
Hotel Rene
#3 of 23 in Pozza di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ladinia
Hotel Ladinia
#10 of 23 in Pozza di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#6 of 23 in Pozza di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Family Hotel Gran Baita
Family Hotel Gran Baita
#1 of 23 in Pozza di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel Mater Dei
Park Hotel Mater Dei
#2 of 23 in Pozza di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Valacia
Hotel Valacia
#12 of 23 in Pozza di Fassa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sas Morin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sas Morin

Property: Hotel Sas Morin
Address: Strada Donato Zeni 4, 38036, Pozza di Fassa, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pozza di Fassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pozza di Fassa
#4 Family Hotel in Pozza di Fassa
#4 Spa Hotel in Pozza di Fassa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pozza di Fassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sas Morin 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the Fassa Dolomites and set in a mountain scenery among the most fascinating in the world, the Sas Morin Hotel is the perfect destination for your relaxing and comfortable stay. The Sas Morin Hotel is situated in the centre of Pozza di Fassa, in a townarea called Meida that is a no- traffic zone and located in a sunny position. The Hotel is eager to make you taste the magic of a mountain holiday in the Fassa Valley, the so-called " pearl of the Trentino". It has been renovated in 2005 and furnished with our local wood with the purpose to offer its customers a very functional and comfortable structure and to create that kind of familiar and easy atmosphere that only nature can offer us. The rest will be done by the passion of the Gross family, who has been managed the hotel since 1981. Passion is synonym of quality and competence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sas Morin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sas Morin Pozza Di Fassa, Italy - Province Of Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing