We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spain ish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Piscina

La Piscina
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Parcent
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great spain ish food”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great food and Spanish food and service help yourself starter great bread and Ali oili the service was brilliant

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sootysoo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    26
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We always try to visit La Piscina in Parcent when we stay with friends in Monte Pego. This time we visited as a small group of 4 and as always the whole experience was excellent. From the self service starters, which is an all you can eat buffet from a superbly stocked mixture of salads,cold meats and cheeses, through the main meal which is a choice from a range of meat and fish dishes, and onto the dessert the whole meal was an enjoyable experience. The accompanying house wine and the music provided by a local pensioner on a piano all add to the enjoyment of the occasion. Sadly the owner was off on his pursuit of following the Spanish football team in Poland and Ukraine but his replacements looked after us well in his absence. The whole meal for 4 which included 3 bottles of house wine was still only about £65. We will return next year,

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crockett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EN75AG
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Do not miss the opportunity”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The restaurant is open daily from 12:00 to 16:00 so take advantage of this window of opportunity. You will not be disappointed in any way. Excellent food and wine served in sublime surroundings and with a friendliness to be found rarely these days. Book ahead just in case as it can get very busy.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PETERPAMEN75AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pego, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“La Piscina - Wonderfully genuine and generous”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

How many times do you go on holiday to Spain and think there must be an authentic Spanish restaurant where the food is in plenty, the wine flows as only wine should and you are not herded in and rushed out!, well La Piscina does all of this and more! plus Flamenco in its most authentic form. Just 1km outside Parcent on the C3318 road to Tarbena lies the old municipal swimming pool and tea rooms. The pool is now disused, and has become an oasis of green water lillies and carpe in the murky water, the terraces are now overflowing with potted plants and the tea room is now a restaurant jammed full of memorabilia.

Only open at lunch time for the afternoon, La Piscina is a family run restaurant, Mama in the Kitchen, Papa as head of house controls the setting and daughter and boyfriend support, a truly family affair.

Food, well what can I say those that know me know I like my food, La Piscina in all honesty did not have one small detail that let the restaurant down. Almost bordering in being run by an eccentric, the food consisted of €15 Menu De Dia, consisting of eat as much as you can, running buffet starters, followed by a choice of approximately a dozen spectacular meals. This followed by a range of sweets and an allocation of wine. All inclusive.

As you park at La Piscina, the atmosphere envelopes you. Shown to a table you are immediately part of the whole dining family, Germans, French, Spanish and us Brits all mix in a cordial national melting pot. No rush here, eat your food and enjoy three hours of fine food and entertainment. We started at 12, and left at just before 4! wonderful. 5 Stars awarded by the Marley's. My own opinion was that this was the best afternoon in four years of Spain!

When I told Abierto how much we had enjoyed the day, his only comment was a slap on my back and one word "Recommend!" well only too happy to oblige.

Best phone and book as to turn up and not get a table would be a big disappointment.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorsetyokel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This is a very friendly restaurant, the food is always good, you have a choice of at least four main courses. First course, is a large tuna salad, second course various tapas, main course and then a choice of deserts. A bottle of wine between two is included in the price. Wait for it the price is, and I dont know how they can do it for this, and still make a profit is 8.50 euros per person, yes that is right not a mistake 8.50 euros. Extra wine only has a mark up of 1 or 2 euros a bottle, this includes cava. They also do a paella, but for me found that there was not enough meat in it (this has to be ordered 24hours before hand). In the summer they have music on a saturday evening still the same price.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank osaoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piscina also viewed

Parcent, Costa Blanca
Parcent, Costa Blanca
 
Parcent, Costa Blanca
Parcent, Costa Blanca
 

Been to La Piscina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing