We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Angel

The Angel
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Grosmont
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pub serving food
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were on a road trip around this part when we stopped at this pub for lunch. It is a lovely place. The landlady is very nice and the food [ we had Sunday Roast ] was just amazing. The presentation was awesome and so was the taste and so was the portion size. We would have loved to come back for a meal if we ever passed by.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RajeSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    10
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Real Local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Situated in the main street of the historic & attractive village of Grosmont, close to castle & church. Friendly welcome from staff & locals. Good range of real ales including Butty Bach. A very reasonably priced menu & good sized portions. We all had sirloin steaks which cost approx £12 each. On the critical side they were tasty but a little chewy. Recomend eating in the bar which has more atmosphere than the rather spartan restaurant area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Angelic....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Superb little village pub sort of lost in time. Well worth a visit, there is a good selection of ales (Wye Valley Butty bach was exceptionally good) and very palletable food (two menus - restaurant and pub menu) with all dishes of locally sourced ingredients. The staff are friendly and efficient. The bar is inhabited by a steady stream of friendly locals, more than happy to have a chat.

Not much else to say really - call if you're passing!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrazyHarry1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
1 review
“Fab pub - great landlady !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were taking our 2 boys aged 3 and 5 for a tour of the Three Castles and stopped off here for lunch. We were made so welcome and the food was great - brilliant chips ! The landlady had time to stop and chat to us and showed us the new boules court out the back on the new sun terrace. The live music Thursday nights sound great.
This is a real proper pub - real log fire - locals - tourists - you won't regret it !
I wish the landlady every success - a great place !
She even gave the boys a little gift of an apple / orange on the way out - well done to her !!! Thanks !

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boliviansummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE - LIKE PUBS USED TO BE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

DO go to this place if you can...preferably on a weekend evening when they have some live music or a Satuday afternoon when a steady stream of locals grace the bar...

This is how pubs used ot be, it doesn't pretend to be anything other than a drinking place, the food is OK but don't expect gastro...which is fine because it is not the reason to go there really - it's just a fabulous place that you should try! (although hubby did have a very good steak!).

The village is fabulous and walks are amazing - views to die for. They did us a good Sunday lunch too, and very reasonable.

The landlord is a really great bloke and very friendly indeed...we would recommend this place to anyone.

If you want to stay you can try the Gentle Jane in the village...as I don't think the pub does rooms - which is great and I am about to review that now also.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLouW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel also viewed

Kentchurch, Herefordshire
Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire
 
Garway, Herefordshire
Skenfrith, Monmouthshire
 

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing