We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky, calm & superb value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Grosmont B&B and Inns
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Quirky, calm & superb value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been to Part-y-Seal several times with friends as we love the calm ambience, the beautiful views, large portions of healthy well cooked & presented food & delightful owners.
It si different in a quirky sort of way but the quality is excellent & one comes away uplifted with the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Fred and Janette. The food was wonderful the beds very comfortable and the peace and quiet was just what was needed. We will certainly be visiting again and hope to have time to fit in a massage which are also on offer at this wonderful place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great we had the one that did not overlook the garden but it was very big and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Having previously popped in for afternoon tea we decided to stay for a couple of nights as we were amazed by how peaceful and quiet the place was. The room was lovely with a four poster bed and amazing views from the windows. Breakfast was superb, especially the eggs from the free range hens and the selection of berries from the fantastic walled gardens. I don't know how Fred finds the time to look after them! The famous plum drink is also a must if you have never tried it. There is also an option of having a massage on-site. We tried both the Swedish and the Hot Stone which were really good. If peace and quiet is what you crave then Part-y-seal is a must.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingRob70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a find! We were recommended by friends to stay at PartySeal, it really is a great place to stay. We had a room with a four poster bed it was a large and very comfortable room with fantastic views over the gardens and not another house in sight, is was so quite and relaxing. The complimentary cream tea we were given on arrival was delicious and the breakfast were excellent especially the eggs which came from their free range hens, the bread was freshly made and the honey was also very good, and from their bees. Gardens are well worth a walk around, wait until you see the vegetable garden!!
We couldn't resist trying out their evening meal which had a large selection of mostly vegetarian and all home cooked food, it was very enjoyable and being such lovely weather we were able to have it on the terrace and soak up the view and tranquility.
We were recommended to have a massage by some other guests staying and although we didn't have time on this visit ,we shall certainly have one on the next which will be fairly soon as there is so much to see and do in the area. Partyseal is certainly very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Booked this place as it was much cheaper for single travellers compared to other places in the area. Arrived to large comfortable bedrooms - one with four poster - with amazing views. Very good for £50 a night B & B plus a complimentary afternoon tea which was awesome. Breakfast was also delicious with home grown quality ingredients. Public areas could do with a clear out and found the dated rattan 80's shop stock, incense, lucky stones etc cluttering each room a bit much. This beautiful house deserves better. Do walk around the gardens to see what is being produced. The Angel Pub in Grrosmont and Bell in Skenfrith provided memorable high quality evening meals and both places only a few miles away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiardaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
267 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Every single time I'm in South Wales (about 4 times a year visiting family as I was originally from there) our treat is to go to Fred's for a cream tea. We have tried other foods but nothing beats the cream tea he serves. The scone and jam is homemade, it is a surprise to find out what flavour it will be, we've had all sorts, raspberry, strawberry, blackcurrant, plum, even prune!! and they all taste amazing even when sometimes you aren't sure of a flavour, only one thing would make it perfect and that is clotted cream not whipped cream.
They sell an amazing selection of chocolates as well as other knick-knacks.
The gardens are lovely, and though I've never stayed at the accommodation, we have seen the rooms enquiring on behalf of other family wanting to stay in the area and they looked very very nice.
The front of the building always looks like it needs a good dust and sort out but the actual inside rooms and clean and lovely with wonderful furniture. I can put up with the dusty front knowing I'm getting a cream tea once stepping inside.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

If your idea of a perfect break is an anonymous hotel with identikit furnishings, then Part-Y-Seal is not for you.If, however, you want a unique experience with amazing views over the Welsh countryside and couteous and attentive service, then you cannot do better than stay with Fred and Jeanette. Relax, chilll out, amble along the lanes on foot. Book yourself a proper therapy massage with Tanya. Enjoy superb vegetarian food fresh from their garden. You will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Peace and quiet are guarenteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast

Property: Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast
Address: Grosmont NP7 8LE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Monmouthshire > Grosmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Grosmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Part-Y-Seal Bed & Breakfast Grosmont, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing