We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of heaven”
Review of Twitchen Farm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Twitchen Farm
Ranked #1 of 3 Challacombe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A touch of heaven”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband was trapped working during the London Olympics, so what is a girl supposed to do??? We usually opt for country cottages, but this time I decided to try a farm style B and B with my georgeous 9mth golden retriever "Dora" and made a late booking. We had a fabulous week, despite some changable weather. Excellent breakfast, really nice clean and comfortable rooms (I tried 2 of them), loved the resident dogs and absolutely beautiful location, very peaceful and quiet. If you come with a dog try Hele Beach (just east of Ilfracombe) dog friendly and with good parking. Also, go to the excellent Old Mill for coffee and scones- tucked behind the garage.
Jaye and Helen are excellent hosts and make you feel very welcome. Information and facilities are excellent. I was very impressed and can recommend Twitchen farm to anyone trying to unwind from busy lives back home. Hilda (and Dora).

Room Tip: There is an excellent room and floor plan so choose between the more plush rooms in the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    13
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
58
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Returned a week ago from a glorious holiday at Twitchen Farm with my two grand-daughters. Stunning location, luckily we had the best weather ever. Great breakfasts. Grand-children loved it. They were able to run about in complete safety. Ideally situated for the coast and so close to Exmoor Zoo. Everything was laid back and relaxing.

We look forward to returning for another great holiday. Thank you for making our holiday perfect. - Janet, Megan & Ellie

Room Tip: We had a family room called Moles Chamber - great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here with my partner and my two children for her dads 60th birthday and I must say it was wonderful,the location is stunning with breathtaking views and the owners could not have been friendlier!!!including the very enthusiastic dogs to welcome you back every day!!!. We look forward to coming back in the future

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lineyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Really pleased that your birthday party weekend was such a success. Hope the kids feet have dried out after the night walk to the pub!
Look forward to meeting you all again soon.
Jaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just returned home following a 2-night stay at Twitchen farm.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The owners are so friendly and helpful. We were shown up to our room and given information about the local area.
The location is idyllic and so peaceful, we instantly felt relaxed. We.spent the first day exploring the farmland and going to the local pub, the black Venus. The food was lovely and we can highly recommend the cherry cheesecake.
Our room was perfect, family room with spacious en-suite bathroom. The bed was so comfortable. Plenty of space for us and our dog. Breakfast was also wonderful. Full English breakfast with all the works. Cereal and fruit was also available. Perfect start to the day and for exploring exmoor which is just on the doorstep.
We had such a fantastic time and will definitely plan a return visit soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandajayne78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaynej, Owner at Twitchen Farm, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your lovely feedback, and especially for the great photos.
Jaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here on a Sunday night and were immediately made feel welcome. Fantastic walks around the farm and down to a wonderful pub. The rooms are well proportioned, excellent facilities and a great breakfast. The owners were very friendly and their pets made it feel like a home from home. What more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We only stayed one night on our journey home. The people were very friendlyas were the animals. The rooms clean and breakfast was spot on. Hogs pudding must be tried and enjoyed.
Lots of lovely walks around the farm and maps in the room. Only thing was we had a shower and I was longing for a soak in the bath....
We will go back and stay for a few days next time.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kindlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Having spent a couple of nights here a few years ago, we were well aware of how good it was. When friends suggested a trip to Exmoor, we immediately thought of it. We were certainly not dissapointed, comfortable beds, a delicious breakfst, and above all attentive and charming hosts, superb.

Room Tip: the luxury rooms are exactly what you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hindonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Challacombe
4.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
561 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
4.7 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
14.7 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
3.3 mi away
Moorlands
Moorlands
#3 of 3 in Parracombe
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twitchen Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twitchen Farm

Property: Twitchen Farm
Address: Challacombe | Devon, Challacombe, Exmoor National Park EX31 4TT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Challacombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Challacombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Exmoor National Park, close to Challacombe village. Twitchen Farm is an 18th century courtyard farmhouse converted to offer high quality en-suite accommodation. A family business run by Helen and Jaye, Twitchen Farm takes pride in serving a fantastic breakfast, sourced from local and organic producers when possible. Enjoy the real ales and great food served in our award winning village pub the Black Venus. Well behaved dogs are welcome in some of our rooms. Farm walk and other longer routes. A great base for exploring North Devon's beaches, villages, National Trust properties, gardens etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Twitchen Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing