We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper
The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
The open plan kitchen is well equipped
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The twin bedroom overlooks a quiet country lane
The wetroom has a WC, hand-basin and shower
The private garden patio and picnic table - accessed through French doors from the sitting room
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in the late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildlife meadow at the top of Humphrey's hill
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of stunning coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
Play area with two towers, bridge, slide, swing, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 4, 2018 for a stay in November 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 6, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you were comfortable in our Garden cottage and that you found it to be well equipped.
We are sorry to hear that the bedroom was a bit small for you - our other cottages have more space in the bedrooms - please take a look at the options for your return visit....or give us a call and we will chat through each cottage. We like our guests to be happy (human and canine)

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Melanie and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mauras763
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay pet friendly Ecco friendly”
Reviewed October 14, 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Just returned from staying at Garden Cottage with husband and our springer spaniel had a lovely time. Cottage was all you wanted it to be cosy ,comfortable and well equipped .owners perfect hosts friendly and very knowledgeable about area. This destination had been reccomend to us by seasoned visitors to Town Tennement Farm very happy we followed their choice. Plenty of places to visit from here.
Mention to local shop opened shop especially on Sunday afternoon to allow purchase of bread and milk very friendly and provides quality home made bakes. Also Black Venus pub. Food very good and staff warm and friendly. Would happily reccomend for a country week away.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2018
Thank you for your great review - we are very grateful.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Garden Cottage.
Challacombe is indeed a friendly village and Exmoor has so much to do, places to visit, lovely walks and great places to eat (including the Black Venus). Our local shop is a good facility too.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Melanie and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayR395
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifull Exmoor”
Reviewed October 2, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Challacombe is a very quiet place to stay, with The Black Venus Pub serving very good Food. We stayed in Garden Cottage, which was perfect for a week relaxing or exploring Exmoor. The hosts Meliene & John were very helpful, making sure we had what we needed. Tennant Farm had lots of walks to do, perfect for dog walking. There was a shop & Post Office in the village, which we found had everything we needed. They also had a garden for cream teas etc. A perfect place to stay & we will return again soon.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2018
Thank you for your great review. It was lovely meeting and chatting with you - specially about your links with the locality.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passenger...
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 7, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

First time at the garden cottage with my partner. We absolutely loved it. Beautiful place. Defiantly will be returning. Thanks to Mel and John. A++

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. It was nice chatting with you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Melanie and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewed July 12, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you and your dogs had a good stay, and enjoyed visiting Exmoor, the local walks, and the shop & pub in the village. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Very best wishes, Melanie & John.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katherine...
1 review
“Absolutely brill”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Everything was as we would have expected or desired and more
Complete with Christmas tree and decorations all tastefully done .Perfection.
In a beautiful wooded valley with gravel bedded stream two fords and superb pub five minutes walk away..Real ales and home cooked food.
Dogs welcome.
My dog liked it and he has OCD.
A recommendation in its self.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Thank you for your lovely review - we are glad that you liked Garden Cottage and the Christmas tree & decorations.
Challacombe is a lovely village and the stream (with fords) is great for paddling or enjoying the wildlife.
A dog friendly pub - just up the lane is indeed a bonus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 28, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2017
Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Garden Cottage, and that you liked our grounds and the village. We are lucky to be well placed for the coast and the countryside, with the dark skies being a real bonus.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing