We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can we go again?”
other travelers have booked this property
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Spacious living room with exposed beams, multi-fuel stove and dining area
Living room with French doors to picnic table & patio with passionflower & virginia creeper
The dining area overlooks a quiet country lane
The open plan kitchen is well equipped
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The twin bedroom overlooks a quiet country lane
The wetroom has a WC, hand-basin and shower
The private garden patio and picnic table - accessed through French doors from the sitting room
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in the late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildlife meadow at the top of Humphrey's hill
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of stunning coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
Play area with two towers, bridge, slide, swing, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JaseMac12...
Wolverhampton, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can we go again?”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Garden Cottage for a week at the beginning of October. The cottage is very clean and cosy and was spacious enough for our needs (including our 8 month old labrador puppy). The little garden area outside the cottage was well enclosed so we had no fears that the dog could get out. The cottages at Tenement Farm are very dog-friendly - I think most of the occupants had at least one dog with them that week.

The owners John and Melanie were very welcoming and informative.

The local area is beautiful with some good scenic walks. The Black Venus pub is well worth a visit. We ate there twice in the evenings (lovely food). It was very busy both nights, so I would advise getting there earlier in the evening. The local shop came in very handy on occasions.

The WiFi works well for surfing the internet and sending emails etc.

The kitchen is well equipped, although there were a couple of very minor issues - a couple of items of crockery were chipped and one or two of the kitchen utensils had seen better days. However nothing would stop us from staying there again. Our only regret is that the week went too quickly.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are so sorry that you had problems with your crockery - I must have missed them when I got the cottage ready for your arrival, they have now been replaced.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the WiFi useful. The Black Venus has award winning food - what a bonus for our guests that it is so close. Challacombe and Exmoor are beautiful all year round - and it goes without saying that you certainly can 'come again', we look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn L
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage with all you could need and welcoming hosts”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My mother, sister and I had a really lovely week here and although we were fortunate in having good weather, the cottage was so clean and comfortable that I don't think bad weather would necessarily spoil a stay here. It had all you needed for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings. 'Humphreys Hill' was a delight for our dog and the welcome we all received, (four-footed and two- footed), was warm and friendly. John gave us helpful advice on places to visit and even lent us a map which was invaluable.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay - the maps are great for finding hidden gems.

We look forward to seeing you again at Town Tenement Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelyn2...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“compact, cosy and convienient”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Lovely cottage which was well equipped. The owner was friendly and helpful, giving perfect directions when asked . the only complaints were that the the single bed was very hard and a sever lack of adequate hanging space but other than that we had a most enjoyable stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the bed
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad that you liked Challacombe, it is a lovely village.
We were sorry to hear that you found the single bed hard, some people like soft and some prefer hard. The single beds in Garden Cottage are both new for this year and we went for firmer mattresses. There are four singles in Farmhouse, two are firm and two are softer - perhaps you might consider Farmhouse if you visit us again.
There is the wardrobe in the double bedroom and a small wardrobe in the twin bedroom - we do mention in our advertising that there is not much storage space in Garden Cottage, and we apologise for any inconvenience that this may have caused.
We are glad that on the whole you had an enjoyable stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inger M
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Excellent cottage accomodation in peaceful surroundings but in easy reach of all North Devon has to offer. I stayed here with my husband and dog for 5 days and we loved it. Good walks from the door step and an excellent local pub serving plentyful and tasty food.
John the owner, who is on site most days is friendly and helpful, and a mind of information on the area. We would highly recommend this cottage and will hopefully be returning very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
We are glad that you found our advice to be helpful, we always enjoy sharing local information with our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WH D
1 review
“Lovely cottage and garden, good location for exmoor”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lovely cottage and garden!
Well maintained
good location for exmoor
Friendly helpful owners, nice family run establishment.
Great pub with excellent food and village shop, just up the street

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The gardens
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Exmoor Cottage Holidays.
We are very fortunate to have a great local shop and award winning pub, just a short walk away.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimS8718
Northampton
1 review
“Best self catering I've stopped in”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed here at the start of June with my girlfriend and our dog.
Perfect location for sight seeing and really good walks with the dog, watersmeet and valley of rocks being the best of them.
John was very useful and very knowledgable about must see places.
The pub in the village is very nice to.
All in all a excellent place to stay and would recommend it to anybody and would go again and again myself.
Cheers.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy that enjoyed your stay and we will happily welcome you back.
We are very lucky to have so many lovely walks - watersmeet and Valley of Rocks are both stunning - and the local pub is a bonus too.

See you again - cheers!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostygir...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Great Escape meets System Reboot”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Garden Cottage is just one of the lets converted from Town Tenement Farm in the peaceful village of Challacombe. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and cozy and although there is WiFi at the property you won't be bothered by texts or mobile phone calls because there is no coverage for 2 miles. BLISS!!!!! This is a birdwatchers paradise, with a wide variety of species in close proximity. Rush hour consists of a farmer on a quad bike going one way down the lane and a van going the other way. The place is so quiet you can hear people walking all the way to the pub 400mtr away.

The farm area has an active veg patch, a small woodland, a pond, a damp meadow, a high meadow (with children's play area) and two helpful daytime 'hosts'. The village shop is a 2 minute walk away and stocks almost everything (including hot food, Takeaways on Tuesdays & cream teas in the garden); The local pub, next to the shop, has an extensive menu and the food is tasty and plentiful and neither are pricing for a captive audience. Dogs are welcome across the whole area and there are countless walks and bridleways around, including some NT properties close by. If you have to find something more exciting to do, there is a Zoo and a Dinosaur park within a 15 minute drive and safe, sandy beaches within a half hours drive. Did I mention the Alpaca farm, the water-powered railway, the Pannier Markets and the surfing? But everyone is so friendly you can't help slowing down a pace.

What I liked best; practically no man-made noise, other than quiet conversation
What I liked least; not getting a reminder when the rental balance was due.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy sofas
Liked least: Would have liked a reminder to pay off the rental balance
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2014
WOW - Thank you, what a great and comprehensive review!
It was lovely to catch up with you again and we are glad that you had a good stay.
Thank you for your gardening/plant advice (always welcome).

We have never sent reminders with regard to the balance payable and have not really had much problem with this - we are grateful for your observation though and will keep it in mind.

We hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing