We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Two glorious weeks on Exmoor based at the...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Gatehouse

The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David P
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Two glorious weeks on Exmoor based at the Gatehouse”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This was our second visit to Town Tenement Farm - previously we were a larger group and stayed in the Farmhouse which was equally good.
On this visit as there were only two of us plus two dogs we opted for the Gatehouse - which proved to be an excellent choice.
Good standard accommodation throughout and the owners on hand to sort out any small problems.
Will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fire in the cool evenings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2014
Thank you for your review - it was nice to welcome you back to Exmoor Cottage Holidays.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.

(Again we apologise for the shower fail - and are glad that we were able to replace this quickly for you).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We enjoyed a truly lovely three night break here. The cottage is very homely and well equipped and was spotlessly clean. The best thing about the stay was John who was an absolute mine of information about what to do and see while we were there. We crammed in as much as possible but will need to return to do the area justice. Thank you for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and found plenty to do - Exmoor really is an amazing place!
We look forward to welcoming you back for your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostygir...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The owners of Town Tenement Farm, John & Melanie work hard to ensure that all the visitors to their cottages have comfortable and pleasant surroundings in which to relax. The Gatehouse is typical of that attention to detail and the garden appears to be the largest of the complex. It is densely planted which, in the height of summer can make the cottage a little dark inside, but it has a decked area which has sun for most of the day; if you're not out discovering the quiet, scenic walks around the village, or off playing on a nearby beach. One must, is a visit to Exmoor Zoo (just a 5 minute drive away), a charming little zoo, with animals you don't normally see but you will have excellent views of all the animals that are there.What's better after a day at the zoo than a 2 minute walk to the local pub or (if it's a Tuesday) pick up a takeaway meal from the Challacombe shop; we had pork in cider with mash & broccoli in front of the telly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No mobile phone signal, comfy sofas
Liked least: Pillows
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2014
Thank you for your comprehensive review, it was lovely to see you on your second visit. We are glad that you enjoyed the food in the local shop and pub - we are lucky to have them both so near. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizziesvi...
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A perfect holiday”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We spent two weeks at the Gatehouse in August, with 2 of our grandsons aged 6 and 4; it was an absolutely perfect holiday.
Booking the cottage was very straightforward and Melanie was very helpful. On arrival we were greeted very warmly by both Melanie and John. They talked us through the cottage and its' appliances and amenities and gave us tips on the surrounding area.
The cottage was delightful, very clean and had everything we needed. Outside was a garden with a bench table and there was also a bird table where we were able to watch all varieties of birds.
Perhaps the only slight downside was that the garden was advertised as 'enclosed', but in fact our Bearded Collie went straight through an opening and into the lane. In fairness, John had said that no other dog had done that, which didn't surprise me, as she's very bouncy and agile.
Each request we made whilst staying at the cottage, was fulfilled at the earliest opportunity and Melanie and John went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.
Within the grounds was a steep hill (Humphrey's hill), which led to a wooded area and a superb play area. The boys spent very many happy hours playing there. It even had a bench table underneath where we had an early morning breakfast and picnic lunches.
Outside, running beside the quiet lane, was the prettiest of streams, with a ford further along. To the boy's delight, there were fish swimming in the stream. We took them paddling on a few occasions, they tried to catch the fish with nets, but only managed a few Water Boatmen.
Across the ford and a little further up the lane, was a superb pub, the 'Black Venus', where the welcome was warm and the food, delicious.
Next to the pub was a village shop and post office which sold just about everything you could want.
The cottage was perfect - cosy, warm, spacious. The welcome, help and advice from Melanie and John, was outstanding. The surrounding area left you wanting nothing.
The thing we liked least - going home!!
The perfect holiday! Thank you both so much.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - the care we received from John and Melanie; the cottage; the surrounding area.
Liked least: Would have liked the garden to have been Maddie-proof, but the worst thing, by far, was going home!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thank you so much for such a comprehensive and lovely review! It was a pleasure to meet you and your family (and of course Maddie the escapee! ;-) )
Town Tenement is very well placed for a family holiday - we are glad that you enjoyed our play area and pic-nic seating. The stream nearby is an endless source of entertainment for many of our guests.

We very much look forward to seeing you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen T
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a fantastic week here. The cottage was excellent, beautifully decorated, equipped with everything we needed. Even when we forgot our dog bowls they provided them! The grounds we lovely and the location of the cottage within the village was great. A very short stroll to an excellent pub.
Melanie and John were very friendly and helpful with great knowledge of the local area.
Hope to go back when we can

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments.
We are lucky to have such a good pub, just a short walk away and we are glad that you enjoyed our grounds.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumsy2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“super holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Wonderful 3 day break in a fantastic location. Cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Owners were really friendly and helpful. I would recommend to anyone who wants a home from home in beautiful surroundings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spotlessly clean cottage and friendly owners
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2014
Thank you for your great review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Gatehouse comfortable.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham H
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cosy retreat in a hidden valley”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We only had two nights at the Gatehouse, which was a real shame as the tranquil feel of Challacombe had really started to work its magic by the morning we left, and I wanted to stay longer!
The Gatehouse is a cosy little place, well equipped with everything you'd need. The wood burner really made it for us, and I liked the generosity of offering free logs throughout our stay, not just the one little bag you get in most cottages.
The real draw here is Challacombe itself, a peaceful valley, filled with sounds of the river, bird song and even the occasional frog chorus from the pond! It really felt like we had got away from it all, but as the Gatehouse is part of an old farm (now all holiday cottages) it didn't feel too isolated. Melanie and John have really capitalised on the beauty of the surroundings, with a beautiful pond and even a little hillside walk. During our stay, snowdrops covered the hillside, and dozens of wild birds visited the feeders which hung outside our cottage. Idyllic!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - you will have to stay longer next time! We like to encourage the wildlife - it is good to know our guests enjoy it all.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing