We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent pet friendly cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
The Gatehouse and French doors to fully enclosed private garden
The spacious living room has a multi-fuel fire and beamed ceilings
The dining area in the living room
The open-plan kitchen is well-equipped with dishwasher
The large double bedroom overlooks the private garden
Another view of the double bedroom
The triple bedroom has a single bed and bunks
The bathroom with WC, hand-basin and bath (shower above)
The Gatehouse from the courtyard
Decking in private enclosed garden  with picnic table
The wildlife pond has lots of frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on site, especially in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
The play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including wild ponies, goats, deer and birds of prey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo D
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

16th Sept - 20th Sept 2013
This is our second stay at Gatehouse Cottage and it is absolutely lovely, well equipped and cosy, lovely wood burner with free logs. Excellent base to explore North Devon with lovely village shop and Pub which does excellent food. The owner John and Melanie are really helpful and friendly and most importantly they allow our dogs to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2013
Thank you for your good review - we look forward to welcoming you again, and your dogs of course!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria...
Cornwall, England
1 review
“Secluded cottage getaway”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I have stayed several times at Town Tenement Farm, in both the Gatehouse and Inglenook Cottages, with our two dogs. We always enjoy our stay and are due to visit again shortly. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable, John & Melanie are lovely hosts. We have come to know the area around and find it a good base to explore Exmoor. There is no mobile phone signal and we have not had wifi access whilst staying so it is a real getaway from our busy working lives. Would highly recommend and very much looking forward to our next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review.

We have now got WiFi (but you don't have to connect to it if you don't want to ;-) )

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon B
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, quiet and get away from it all holiday”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have stayed at Town Tennent Farm on many occasions and now twice at the Gatehouse. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable with plenty of space for 4/5 people. It has very good facilities in the cottage to make it home from home. The cottages are situated in a great location, close to a lovely pub that serves great food and beer. Next door to the pub is a local shop where you can get all your necessities like bacon and eggs for breakfast. Melanie and John are lovely hosts and are very accommodating at all times, nothing is to much for them to make your stay even more enjoyable. This is a must place if you want to explore the North Devon countryside and beaches, we love it!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Gatehouse, we are glad that you enjoy your 'home from home' and look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing