We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage with everything you could ever...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wisteria Cottage

Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand
The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
The charming dining area
The well-equipped kitchen (including dishwasher & washer/dryer)
The spacious bedroom can be king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The bathroom has a WC, hand-basin and large shower cubicle
The large garden is fully enclosed and has a private gate to the road
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of Daffodil in our gardens
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on-site, especially in late summer
A path up Humphrey's Hill is lined with red, orange and yellow Azaleas
There is a dramatic coloured maple in the Autumn
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Amazing views of Exmoor from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Beveridge...
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage with everything you could ever wish for”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed in Wisteria Cottage for four nights with our two golden retrievers. This cottage was everything we wanted for our short break. Very well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed and a really good size lounge with doors opening on to a secure garden. Oh and a great walk in shower in the bathroom. Our weather was good enough to have breakfast in the garden on one morning - a bonus for early April. Good pub and shop in close walking distance - once a week the shop provides a takeaway service - we had pork and apples in cider sauce with carrots, celeriac mash and mini roast potatoes, cooked to perfection and excellent value with the bonus of no washing up apart from plates and cutlery. Our dogs loved the freedom of walking from the lounge into the garden as they wanted (we don't have patio doors at home). The cottage is ideally placed to explore the rest of Exmoor and the surrounding area.
We recommend you give this place a go and don't forget to order your takeaway or try the pub which also has good food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home comfort of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2016
Thank you for your great review - we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Wisteria Cottage and its garden. All of our cottages have enclosed gardens - ideal for families with children and/or dogs.
The takeaway food from the shop is getting great reviews as is the award winning food from the pub - there are so many great places to eat on Exmoor.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Town Tenement Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Loved it! A lovely, simple cottage in a really quiet, beautiful location with excellent pub, good dog walks and local shop all a walk away. Both of us and our dog thoroughly enjoyed our week here. The owners are very helpful and friendly too. We'll be back definitely!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn F
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing, peaceful, ideal location.”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a 3 night night break at the wonderful Wisteria cottage with our dog. Melanie was so welcoming and knowledgeable about the area and places of interest. An ideal base to explore the moors and the coast. The cottage was well equipped for our break with a welcome pack awaiting our arrival. It was a haven for many birds and wildlife. The night skies were fantastic.
The surroundings were so peaceful and relaxing.
Hoping to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2016
Thank you for your great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and in particular the birds and starry skies. We look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Really Great Break !!”
Reviewed March 16, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just got back from a short break at Wisteria Cottage, and am pleased to report it was all we had hoped for. Light, airy, and flooded with sunshine in the daytime, warm and very cosy in the evenings. The kitchen had everything you could possibly need. The bed was oh so comfy. You had your own little patio and garden, plus a brilliant pub at the end of the road. What more could you want from a holiday cottage in a beautiful part of the country.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2016
Thank you for a great review, really glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed lucky to have such a brilliant pub so near by. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ziggyRedr...
redruth, cornwall, uk
2 reviews
“Fantastic retreat in the countryside”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed in Wysteria cottage with our 2 dogs for 5 nights and enjoyed the stay very much.It was so quiet and peaceful you could hear the birds singing regularly.There are many walks near the cottage and a fabulous pub 200 metres away.The food there was excellent we ate 4 evenings .Melanie the owner was very helpful and will advise you on anything you may want to know.We would not hesitate upon returning to Wysteria Cottage.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We also like listening to the little birds.
The local walks are great and a meal at the pub a lovely reward.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrahamTro...
Trowbridge
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just perfect for us!”
Reviewed February 26, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We stayed for three nights and it was excellent. The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything that we needed . The location was just right - we had our very active Spaniel with us and he loved the walks and the beach at Woolacombe (about 25 minute drive away). The log burner was the perfect compliment to a couple of bottles of wine - we felt almost romantic!

We will stay again when it will be less muddy and we can get out onto Exmoor.

Melanie is a delightful lady and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Being on Exmoor and close to the coast is ideal for walks, and the log burner is ideal for evenings in with wine!
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaME...
Lyons, Kansas USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed December 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My husband, myself and our 2 small dogs stayed here for our first ever visit to Exmoor. Wisteria cottage had everything you could ever need for a comfortable stay, from hot water bottles to all kitchen utensils. The location of the cottage is ideal if you like being a little more quiet and remote getaway. The pub (The Black Venus) is literally a 2 minute walk and is a must to visit. The cottage was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Felt like a home away from home. The back garden is fenced so ideal if you have dogs staying with you. There is also a great play area for children. John was extremely helpful and pointed out great places to visit on a Map and was extremely helpful and accommodating to our needs. My husband and I was sitting by the cosy fireplace in the cottage on our final night planning our next visit. Would never stay anywhere but here. Strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 26, 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review.
Challacombe is a great place to stay on Exmoor walks in the area and the local pub are great!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Town Tenement Farm.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing