We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage in a tranquil location on...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wisteria Cottage

Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand
The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
The charming dining area
The well-equipped kitchen (including dishwasher & washer/dryer)
The spacious bedroom can be king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The bathroom has a WC, hand-basin and large shower cubicle
The large garden is fully enclosed and has a private gate to the road
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of Daffodil in our gardens
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on-site, especially in late summer
A path up Humphrey's Hill is lined with red, orange and yellow Azaleas
There is a dramatic coloured maple in the Autumn
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Amazing views of Exmoor from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PixieFord
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable cottage in a tranquil location on beautiful Exmoor - very relaxing”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Town Tenement Farm is a tranquil and idyllic spot, ideal for exploring beautiful Exmoor and the north Devon Coast. Wisteria Cottage is spacious, comfortable and well-equipped, with a pretty enclosed garden to enjoy the sunshine in. Humphrey’s Hill (the wildlife garden) was a real bonus for our dog’s morning and evening walks. The excellent (dog-friendly) Black Venus pub is a few minutes’ walk away, as is the well-stocked local shop. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Wisteria Cottage and would hope to return for another relaxed summer break. Thank you John and Melanie for making us feel so welcome.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage and exploring Exmoor with your dog. We are lucky to have the shop and pub nearby. Hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn G
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a lovely time and would thoroughly recommend”
Reviewed August 9, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Wisteria Cottage is perfect as a base to explore Exmoor. The cottage is very well presented and equipped with everything you need for a comfortable stay, a real home from home. The food and the welcome at the Black Venus, which is just five minutes walk away, was excellent, every bit as good as stated in other reviews. We came home feeling great and would not hesitate to recommend Wisteria Cottage to anyone seeking some serious rest and relaxation. Also ideal for dogs. Thank you Melanie and John

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothong
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 10, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are indeed lucky to have the Black Venus so close, and dog friendly too! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to meeting you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancheste...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Had a Wonderful Time”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

For the third year running my Son & I had a wonderful time. In the past I have always stated that it's not worth staying at one place more than twice, after all whats left to see, we go everywhere on our holidays, out every day, yet here we are again and booked for next year (4th time). Why - the cottage is set a few minutes from the village with it's shop and great pub for meals (leave your car keys behind). Just a mile or so away is the main road to the coast and other places to visit. The owners Melanie & John give you such a greeting after one's fight through the traffic to get there and then they are your friends for all your stay. Nothing is too much bother. The cottage is spotless, the setting is perfect and there is so much to see in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's setting so close to the village. The large lounge with big television. Privacy.
Liked least: Can not find anything
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
Thank you for your great review - we are always happy to see you both. We are really pleased that you find new things to see each time you are with us...we are still finding new places to visit ourselves after 18 years and are always happy to share these with our guests!!
See you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegman_1...
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We very much enjoyed our stay. The cottage and surrounding area was beautiful. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. The cottage was well equipped with lots of little extras, e.g. milk, tea, coffee, toiletries and cleaning products, everything was in good order and worked. We had a safe enclosed garden for our dogs. Excellent pub a short walk away and very dog friendly. We will be back, hopefully with family and would love to stay in the big farm house.
Thank you Susan and Gareth Knight

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2015
Thank you for your great review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Wisteria Cottage - the garden is great for children and pets, and the area is particularly beautiful in Spring.
We look forward to welcoming you (and your family) in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie573...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay in Wisteria Cottage”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely few days staying in Wisteria Cottage with our 2 dogs. John and Melanie were very friendly and we felt very relaxed and comfortable there. The evening sun on the patio in our own enclosed garden was the icing on the cake. Great to investigate the pubs recommended by the owners and driving over to Lynton and also to Woolacombe Beach. Beautiful countryside.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. Wisteria Cottage is very comfortable and we are glad that you were relaxed and enjoyed the patio too.
Exmoor is home to many scenic routes and great food - a great reason to return - we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitadog
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful Cottage in great Exmoor Village”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The owners are delightful and very welcoming. With the Black Venus just 2 minutes away with excellent food there is little need to self-cater. The village shop is close to the pub. The cottage is fitted out beautifully with a good sized garden and very relaxing surroundings. Would certainly hope to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2015
Thank you for lovely review. We are certainly fortunate to have a good pub and shop nearby! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun-Jan...
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed March 19, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have just stayed for a weekend break at Wisteria Cottage. It is comfortable & clean with all the facilities that you need.
John introduced himself to us & checked that we had everything & advised on local places to visit.
We only cooked breakfast in the cottage & had evening meals at the Black Venus, which we couldn't fault. We bought all we needed at the small, but well stocked local shop, where the owners were helpful & friendly & even ordered my morning paper for me.
It was lovely to see all the small birds in the garden & courtyard feeding from the bird feeders which are replenished daily by the owners, plus we saw pheasants, a pair of jays & on the way to Ilfracombe we saw a group of red kites.
At night, with no light pollution, it's lovely to sit & study the stars, but if you go for a walk in the evening be sure to take a good torch.
We had a relaxing, comfortable weekend & we hope to return.

Shaun & Jane

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location, no light pollution
Liked least: no phone signal.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2015
Thank you for your great review - we are glad that you had a good stay.
We are lucky to have such a good local shop and excellent local pub. The dark skies are amazing, as is the wide range of wildlife.
We look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing