We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent,comfortable cottage with good...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Wisteria Cottage

Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Wisteria Cottage, folding doors to large enclosed private garden, with decking and picnic table
The sitting room has a log-burning stove, comfortable seating, Freeview TV and reading lamp & stand
The sitting room has large folding doors to a lovely decking & enclosed private garden
The charming dining area
The well-equipped kitchen (including dishwasher & washer/dryer)
The spacious bedroom can be king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The bathroom has a WC, hand-basin and large shower cubicle
The large garden is fully enclosed and has a private gate to the road
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of Daffodil in our gardens
The wildlife pond has frogs, newts, damselflies and dragonflies
There are lots of butterflies on-site, especially in late summer
A path up Humphrey's Hill is lined with red, orange and yellow Azaleas
There is a dramatic coloured maple in the Autumn
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Amazing views of Exmoor from the top of Humphrey's Hill
The cottages as seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of wildlife including ponies, deer, goats and birds of prey
There are lots of amazing coastal walks in Exmoor and North Devon
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosemarie...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent,comfortable cottage with good facilities,blissfully quiet location.”
Reviewed October 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a very good 5 day stay here- everything we needed and a log fire too ! We catered for ourselves ,apart from one excellent meal at the local pub, and used the DVD player and cds for entertainment .Books and games were available- and a nice touch was the fold up chairs to take out if needed. Bedroom and shower room were clean and comfortable, and everywhere was cosy thanks to storage heaters- and extra warmth in the evening with the wood burner. We would return happily another time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel of the cottage
Liked least: Would have appreciated grab rail in the shower
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. The games, books and fire really can make for a lovely evening, we are glad to hear that you made use of them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Exmoor Cottage Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernsider...
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a Lovely location,”
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Myself and partner stayed at Wisteria cottage for the week. What a lovely barn conversion,in a lovely village of Challacombe. We were greeted by John when we arrived,very polite and showed us around. The barn has been renovated to a high standard with kitchen diner as you walk through the stable door. All the white goods you would have at home were in the kitchen. The dble bedroom had plenty of storage and the shower room was lovely spotlessly clean as well. Favourite room for me was the lounge,nice comfy sofa and chair. Log burner with basket of wood and kindling available,we did light this one night. Very warm and cosy. There was a large bi fold door that opened out on to the private enclosed garden. There was plenty of books and information in the lounge as well as a couple of games scrabble being one of them. The whole barn felt light and airy in side and was spotlessly clean. Thankyou for the tea coffee and milk left for us. There are 5 holiday homes in total it is a lovely set up,with about 3 acres of ground to explore. We had a ffabulous week here blessed with lovely weather to. I can recommend the local pub The Black Venus,we ate here twice,Lovely food. For either a walking holiday or just to get away from it all,I thoroughly recommend this place. Thankyou John and Melanie for a lovely holiday. I wish you all the best with your knew project and for the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The cows.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you were very comfortable in Wisteria cottage and that you liked our grounds.
We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to welcoming you back to Challacombe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue m
Norfolk, England
1 review
“Great cottage, fabulous garden and extremely helpful owners”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a week at Wisteria Cottage and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the facilities available both within the cottage and the lovely spacious garden where we enjoyed breakfast on the sunny mornings. Location was spot on and we enjoyed several walks and then fabulous food at the Black Venus every night. John and Melanie have a wealth of knowledge of Exmoor and we much appreciated their guidance especially when we visited Porlock and Worthy using the toll road. Definitely would recommend this cottage to friends as it is such a gem.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Town Tenement Farm and are really pleased that you found Worthy and the toll road! We always like to share local gems with our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianne...
Almere, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed in Wisteria Cottage with our dog. The cottage is lovely and offers everything we coud wish for. It has a lovely garden wich we enjoyed very much. The property itself is beautiful with its huge garden and beautiful views. The proximity of the Black Venus Inn and the village shop contributed to our holiday fun. The Inn serving good food and a welcoming atmosfere, also for our dog. And the village pub with its very friendly owner providing for our daily needs suchs as wonderful sandwiches for lunch. But most of all Melanie and John made us and our dog feel very welcome and gave us many tips for walks. Should we ever come to Exmoor again we will be sure to stay with you again.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay (and your dog too). The Black Venus is great. We look forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny S
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Escape to the Country”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We spent four lovely days at Wisteria cottage, such a delightful setting and so very peaceful, set on the edge of the village.The cottage itself is very well equipped with plenty of space for two and a lively spaniel. The garden area is very attractive and a great place to sit out in the warm weather.
Locally, the village pub, the Black Venus, deserves a good mention, excellent food at very fair prices. The local walks are a joy, being able to step straight out from your front door is a real bonus. A drive along Woody Bay and a visit to the Valley of Rocks near Lynton is a must, quite spectacular!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: low water pressure to the shower.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful countryside - Woody Bay is spectacular.
Town Tenement Farm is very well placed with an excellent pub and local shop just a few minutes away, and many walks from the door.

The shower is gravity fed (not a power shower) so is a bit weak but has loads of lovely hot water.

We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libby N
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy Cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We could not fault our holiday. The cottage was well maintained and very cosy, the peacefulness of the location is priceless. The local pub serves good food and is 2 minutes away, as is the village shop. The countryside is beautiful with wonderful walks in every direction. Wisteria was very dog friendly with a large garden. Don`t forget to look skyward at night, amazing what you can see without light pollution. Last but not least John and Melanie visit site every day and couldn`t be more helpful. Perfect. Will shall be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are happy that you had a peaceful stay, Challacombe really is a lovely quiet village. The lack of light pollution make Town Tenement a great place for stargazing - Exmoor is beautiful by day and by night.
We are very lucky to have the award winning Black Venus Inn nearby and a great local shop too.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHilton91
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everything you could want from a cottage”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

A cosy, welcoming and warm cottage that fits perfectly into a lovely village.
The cottage was clearly well kept and loved. The kitchen and bathroom were smart and fitted in to the cottage feel. The living room was wonderfully light with the windowed double doors, log fire and comfy sofa. The bed was very comfortable, 3 nights of good sleep.
The welcome book was very useful and everything had been thought of, if it wasn't provided you were told in an e-mail beforehand and where you could buy it on arrival.
The owners were pleasant and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them as they worked on site (not that there were any problems!).
The pub, The Black Venus, was friendly and welcoming. The food was fantastic and we went back to eat every night. It was so close to the cottage, the people were lovely and the menu was varied.
I already have recommended this cottage to a few people and would be very happy to go back and stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well prepared facilities, kitchen had everything, lots of great additions
Liked least: the shower wasn't very powerful but heated and useable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are really glad that you had a lovely stay and good sleep - Town Tenemnt is very paeceful.
We are pleased that you found our emails and info book interesting and useful.
The Black Venus is great, we are lucky to have such a great pub nearby.

The shower is gravity fed, and whilst not a power shower - it has oodles of hot water.

We look forward to seeing you again and to welcoming your friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing