We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous!”
other travelers have booked this property
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
The living room with stone inglenook fireplace, bread oven and salt safe The dining area in the living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
C18th Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
The living room with stone inglenook fireplace, bread oven and salt safe
The dining area in the living room
The separate kitchen is very well equipped, including dishwasher, washer, dryer, etc.
The main double bedroom overlooks the courtyard
The second bedroom can be a king-size or twin using a ziplink bed
The third single bedroom
Bathroom with bath, WC and shower cubicle
Path to rear garden - the pergola supports a magnificent white Wisteria
Rear enclosed private garden with impressive dry-stone walling and built-in bench
Inglenook Cottage from the courtyard
Inglenook Cottage from the car park
The pond is a perfect place to relax and watch the wildlife (e.g. frogs, newts and dragonflies)
There are loads of butterflies on site in late summer
One of the paths up Humphrey's Hill
The wildflower meadow at the top of Humphrey's Hill
Play area with two towers, bridge, swing, slide, firemans pole, periscope, etc.
Magnificent views from Humphrey's Hill
The cottages seen from the surrounding hills
Challacombe lies in a sheltered valley
Charming Challacombe ford
Exmoor has lots of amazing coastal walks
The heather on the moors is very colourful in late summer
Exmoor has plenty of wildlife, including wild horses, deer, goats and birds of prey
Spring flowers - we have over 10 types of daffodil in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Challacombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrea J
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Cottage was very clean and tidy & fully equipped with even a dishwasher - unexpected in such an 'old world' setting. We were comfortable & warm and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, walks and play area. My mum, daughter, myself & granddaughter would have no hesitation in recommending Exmoor Holiday Cottages to all our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charming rural setting
Liked least: Chill wind!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally F
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable,welcoming cottage with every amenity in an enchanting location”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just spent a glorious week on Exmoor, staying in Inglenook Cottage, blessed by amazing sunny weather. Our location was idyllic, close to the river Bray in grounds burgeoning with flowers and wildlife. The cottage is full of character, very cosy and comes equipped with everything you could possibly need. The owners are warm and friendly, and ready to offer local knowledge without being intrusive. We catered for ourselves some evenings but also dined out at the local Pub - which was excellent. Our little dog was welcome in the bar area there and made especially welcome at Inglenook Cottage. We hope very much to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2015
Thank you very much for your great review. We are glad that you were comfortable in Inglenook Cottage (and your adorable little dog!). We look forward to welcoming you back (and hope to have spotted the Cuckoo by then!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosebudha...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“homely relaxed country cottage”
Reviewed March 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed a 2 night stay with our family and dog in Inglenook cottage. This is a well cared for cottage which is in a group of cottages. The local pub was brilliant for dinner and worth a visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2015
Thank you for your review, we are glad that you were comfortable in Inglenook Cottage. The local pub is great, a short walk and excellent food.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hana C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, superb location!”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed in the cottage for three nights with the children. The location is amazing, and the cottage itself is lovely, very comfortable and cozy. We went for long walks every day. We were very lucky with the weather, and December is quite empty in this area - we felt that we had the trails for ourselves!
We will return in spring, or maybe autumn.
John and Melanie were very helpful, left all the instructions, and Melanie recommended breathtaking walks.
Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review - the weather was great for you and we are glad that you enjoyed the walks!
We look forward to seeing you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy R
St Columb Major, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage, with all the equipment you might need, clean & comfortable and warm.”
Reviewed September 28, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The cottage has all you need for the day of arrival, tea, coffee, milk, sugar also no need to take tea towels and cleaning products, all provided. We met John, who was very helpful on where to go. Our dogs enjoyed the long grass on the hill looking for creatues. We are going again next year, can't wait. Told all my friends about this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfortable cottage
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad that you enjoyed Inglenook Cottage and look forward to welcoming you again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizasmam...
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic setting, beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Family holiday, hired 4 of the 5 cottages. Very warm and welcoming. We have 2 children (5yrs and 6 months) and plenty of space for them. Bedrooms ideal sizes and stunning views from the front ones. Pond area is beautiful and very relaxing and walled/fenced for kids safety. Play area is great although a slight climb behind cottages, worth it though just to see the views. Parking wise plenty of space and room to drive as near to your door as poss for loading/unloading. Inside there is plenty of space and fully equipped kitchen etc. Great place to stay. Plenty of places to visit if you don't mind a small drive (some very windy roads so not for the wimps like me, hubby did the driving!). Minehead was a nice day out and not a bad drive distance wise. Ilfracombe was one of the prettiest places I have been with lovely little shops, harbour area, quiet beach. Lynmouth and Lynton fab although some steep roads (at least I think there were, my eyes were shut!).

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are really happy that you all had such a great stay.
Some of the roads are indeed a bit 'exciting'! There are so many lovely little towns along the coast, Ilfracombe, Lynmouth and Minehead...

We are glad you liked our play area - our aim is to exhaust the children - hence it's up the hill ;-), and that you found the lovely peaceful pond area.
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertBro...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Devon Country setting”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How friendly and helpful the owners were and it was great to find that everything was beautifully clean with everything provided when we arrived to enjoy our stay.
The location was ideal for us with the hospitable Black Venus being so close and country walks for us and our dog available from the lane outside the cottage.
The back garden was secure although not private.
We would come again and recommend to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and character of the cottage and the welcoming owners.
Liked least: Top stair - ? provide a second rail.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you found everything that you needed in Inglenook Cottage. We are very fortunate to have the award winning Black Venus Inn nearby and the local walks are great.

We do provide a night light beside the top stair as a visual reminder and there is a vertical grab rail on the right (as you are going up the stairs)...we are sorry if you had difficulties with this.
Our Garden Cottage and Wisteria Cottage are both at ground-floor level throughout - perhaps we could interest you in one of those for your next visit?
We look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing