We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Pub, Great Restaurant”
Review of The Black Venus

The Black Venus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly Pub, Great Restaurant”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Having recently moved to the North Devon/Exmoor area, we needed to find a "local"close to home. The Black Venus is it. What a great, historic pub and restaurant. We will certainly be returning again and again. They have a lovely menu, with something to suit everyone, and their chips are out of this world !

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    86
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Visited this place twice back in February. Thought it was a lovely pub at a very nice location. Came here once for a drink and once for a meal. Food was absolutely superb and we would certainly come back to this place again at some point. This pub does not take bookings so if you wish to come for a meal, best to come early as it can get very busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nbruce62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
1 review
“Brilliant food and service - highly recommend”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We only stopped in for a quick bite to eat before rushing off again but the staff took our order speedily and efficiently and the food arrived promptly. Quality food and great cider, very friendly staff and a wonderful classic pub atmosphere. 10/10

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Large Varied Menu - Good Quality Food”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Ate here when we stayed in North Devon and enjoyed the food very much. Weather was fantastic so sat outside in the beer garden. Large menu to choose from inside of starters mains and desserts and fair to say there was something for everyone. Portions a good size and food of a decent quality and described as somewhere between pub and bistro in terms of food style. Reasonable value although nowhere in Devon appears to be particularly cheap but worth getting in the car to get to for a lunch or evening dinner. Service friendly and nice staff but nothing special, but then this is a pub after all!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flumph77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Arrived very late for a friends birthday celebration. They were very busy ; 14 in our party and other diners too - our friends had nearly finished eating when we ordered ( hubby had the Chilli and I had the Duck). Food was excellent - very tasty and plentiful. First visit to the area and when we do a return trip, we will definitely be eating here! I teach Food Safety courses and it was great to see that The Black Venus has an excellent food hygiene rating too. well done.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gilly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Venus also viewed

Kentisbury, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Parracombe, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Black Venus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing