We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveler rating
23
38
22
19
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
23
38
22
19
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 112 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile

Amazing place, room was very nice and enjoyed the baths. Definitely will come again. Go for the suites. There is plenty of choices for food also, from the hotel or local area. Out front is a park where you can relax and try putting your feet in the hot water.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

The hotel built for a long time, the internal facilities of the old. The yellow switches on the wall seem to have a long history as the Shimoda City. But the restaurant, the bath is still very clean and tidy, the staff is kind and polite. There are large windows in the room, you can see overlook the Shimoda Port during daytime. Stay in March, the guests rarely, so is still a more pleasant experience.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sortic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2016

I'd stayed there because it was the only hotel with an indoor swimming pool and with nice views from the harbour. Unfortunately I realize once I had arrived that not only the hotel needs a good renovation, but also it's website.
Staff is really helpful though almost anybody speaks English.
Rooms are clean, but not public areas. It was really disappointing.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJLevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2015 via mobile

The Kurofune Hotel is a large hotel with impressive facilities, but sorely in need of an upgrade. Staff are wonderful and try hard to make up for the fact that this hotel has seen much better days and is now struggling to bring in the crowds. A nice tourist class hot spring hotel.

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank J00lsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We wanted a private on-sen and was a bit disappointed on the first day since the water did not look clean. I guess they cleaned up after the room was last used but since it was an outdoor on-sen, small flies and dust/dirt got into the water when the room was unused. We stayed for two nights and obviously they cleaned it up after our first night's stay so the water was much cleaner on the second day.

For the price they are charging, I would not call it good value since good quality is quite average though in large quantity. While the grilled live abalone was a nice surprise, the lobster did not taste fresh at all. This is not a typical traditional on-sen hotel and perhaps too "tourist type" for my liking. But since we booked the hotel for the view, we could not be complaining about this.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apple_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews