We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveler rating
102
166
63
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
102
166
63
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel is located shuttle bus buffet breakfast nice hotel overlooking the bay japanese standards steep hill gorgeous views the nicest hotels complimentary shuttle swimming pool hot springs renovation station ocean onsen coins
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 350 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2018

The hotel is located in a convenient spot. It's about a 15 minute walk to the supermarket and a few other attractions in the area.

The highlight of the stay were the outdoor onsen. You get gorgeous views of the ocean as you soak and relax with the fresh air on your face. We really loved it!

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A_P_Peers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018 via mobile

Not as it used to be before renovations, cheap fabrics, very disappointing, priority is given to the royal express customers, over crowded with very old people, not for young or families, food is pricey and tasteless. Onsen is ridiculously small, when the location is so beautiful, what a pity no one speaks English, used to go every year, won’t be back anytime soon

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank hatsubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

there's a pros and coins of this hotel, staffs are very friendly and there's outdoor onsen free of charge, but room is very small, plus hotel is located at the top hills area, if you don't have car I'd suggested you shouldn't pick it, there's complimentary shuttle but finished at 17:00, I saw many foreigners are walking back to hotel after dinner hours, it's not an easy trails.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2018 via mobile

We can highly recommend this hotel. It's location is great with a nice view over the bay, the choice at breakfast is big, and staff is really attentive and helpful (although few speak English).

One person we would like to particularly complement is Ito working at the lobby service. It was the warmest and nicest welcome we ever had at a hotel. He was very helpful, explained everything in detail, and gave us great recommendations for the Shimoda area. Every day when he saw us at the hotel he asked whether everything is perfect and whether he can do anything for us.

The only downside that the set dinner menu is quite expensive. We often felt like having a lighter meal in the evening, which we could not get at the hotel. There are however some smaller restaurants about 10 minutes walk away if needed.

Altogether, a nice hotel which was perfect for us to relax after a couple of exhausting sightseeing days. Finally, after comparing the different options for quite a while, it seems it is one of the few options where you get a hotel of high standard with a swimming pool and beach access (unless you fly to Okinawa).

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank petrizky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2018

Rated as one of the top hotels in Shimoda and no wonder, the place meets the expectations. Surrounded by a beautiful garden and sitting on top of a steep hill facing the sea the views from the hotel are great, like in a five star hotel. Friendly and professional service. Nice onsen. My fourth visit to Japan and the best breakfast so far.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Mayris2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews