We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of White Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shimoda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels / Ryokan in Shimoda
Shinjuku, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun in the sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my Japanese partner for 3 days during our summer vacation.
I had traveled from Tokyo - Sendai - Tokyo -Mt Fuji- Izu (white Beach) - Tokyo by car.
I stay at a lot of hotels around Japan and overseas, my partner and I enjoyed the relaxed (freedom) break from city life and enjoyed may new dishes and the cooling clear ocean.

White Beach has a few different areas to relax or swim, one area on the left has swimmers only then body boards and then surfboards (mornings are best for short boards and in the afternoon the long boarders emerge.
The areas to the right have 2 smallish coves that are small enough and safe enough for small kids, these areas have no surfing or body boards.
White Beach has lifeguards and they are at the beach till 300 pm ~ 400 pm.

The hotel is very close to the beach.
At the end of the drive way of the hotel, cross the road, use the railed steps to go over the sea wall and you are on the beach for a full day of relaxing.
Heading back to the hotel for lunch or a few extra cold beers takes a few minutes.
Big beach towels you can use to relax on the beach with are supplied and are in your room, these are separate to the towels for the bathroom,
White Beach Hotel is an Eco hotel and changed the towels and made up the room every 3 days, if your towels are really in need of a change of course hotel staff will change them for you.

Previous comments here say they had to climb a sea wall, there is a sea wall in place for safety against tsunami, this sea wall has steps with rails and no climbing is required, small children might need a bit of help bit it is good that there is a separation from the beach to the road.

White Beach hotel is at the quieter end of the beach, great for families and couples looking for an un-intrusive stay, with no hotel staff constantly asking if they can help you (iyashaimasen) if you want to be waited on hand and foot this is not the place for you, but in saying that the staff will go out of their way to help you if you ask, this place lets you focus on relaxing with your family and partners at the beach or over a tasty dinner.

There is a beach rental gear shop close to the beach, seats, umbrellas, body boards and colorful animal flotation tubs of all shapes and sizes, great for the kids, I think the hotel had some that can be used for free, no reserving it is just first to get in the morning get them.
I took my own UV dome tent that I got from the Internet; I think it is a must if you intend to stay the whole day at the beach, the hotel does not supply these.

In the morning you can get a big breakfast with bacon egg, and all the trimmings like you get back home, that's what holidays are for though, a bit of indulgence or something simple.
A guest pizza chef from Tokyo comes to the hotel on the weekend to make his designer pizza's, unfortunately I was there midweek, next time I hope I get a chance, Pizza are available midweek and I actually thought that the chef from Tokyo was there because they were so good.

In the evening dinner is served outside on the balcony, the menu had something for everyone, from tasty pizza to a chicken dish that was my favorite.
A booking for diner is required, try do it when you book, there are a few other places up the road but it made sense to me to enjoy what was on offer and we were not disappointed.

I hit the bar one night and it was well stocked, the atmosphere was great with many international guests enjoying a few drinks after dinner and some parents enjoying a drink and some time alone after the kids had gone to bed.
If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the Balcony area but after a day at the beach and a hearty dinner washed down with a few great brews sleeping will not be a problem.
The weekends can get a bit noisy and it can go on a bit late at night, best to just join in and have a few nightcaps.

The staff serving dinner and at the bar can speak English; they are university students that are on their summer jobs, they are very nice and do their best to serve you.

A relaxed feeling was felt at the hotel, you could lounge outside, have a coffee or beer at the bar or at the tables inside.
International feel, my partner was the only Japanese person staying at one point.

Kids feel relaxed; they can speak English or Japanese to the staff, sliding doors in the foyer are set so that the doors are not easily opened by very young children, another nice safety feature.
Kids have a play ground (jungle gym)

Parking is available just ask the hotel staff when you book.
Eco friendly rooms, No fridge, phones or TV's in the rooms, I saw this as a great chance for a family or couple to have quality time together.

Room rates are great, I was surprised that it was half the rate of the hotel in Fuji I stayed at.

This is not a Japanese hotel, if you are looking for a hotel that has a spa, massage or in house activities then this is not the place for you.

WiFi is available free.
Rooms are Air-conditioned

This is in the country and close to the beach; there will be bugs but nothing to worry about just cover up at night if you go outside.

Because going to the beach every day is the main reason to stay at White Beach Hotel
Staying at the hotel all day is possible but with such a beautiful beach at your door step why would you.
The local conveyance store is not so close so get what you need before you get to the hotel.

All in all it was a refreshing change that made me feel like I truly had a holiday.
I will return sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Talk to the manager, if you require a room closer to the bar I think he could arrange it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueseasOHyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    7
    5
    9
See reviews for
27
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Positives: friendly (but not mature) service staff, ok location, nice deck & excellent pizza

Negatives: very basic accommodation (room small & musty, no room cleaning or changing of sheets), very noisy at night, slow immature service, relatively expensive

The White Beach Hotel gives you youth hostel quality at a 2 star hotel price. If you go with a family (as we did), be prepared for a loud, late night crowd keeping your family up (ask for a room on the quiet side of the building if it exists). Would recommend it if I was single, staying alone, wanted to stay up late drinking and/or didn't mind the noise.

The beach near the hotel is nice for swimming and surfing but you must climb over a large concrete embankment to reach the beach (other beaches in the area such as Iritagahama & Tadanohama don't have this).

I've been going to Shimoda for 10+ years and love getting out of the chaos of Tokyo but for the price, I've stayed at higher quality places. If you absolutely need a native English speaker, this is what they do offer however other places now have some level of English capability (enough to book a room, etc).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bedroc98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shimoda hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Minato-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

White Beach may be no frills but when you are with kids, want to be right on the beach, and do not want to spend a fortune, this little hotel is great. The beds and futons are new and comfy and the food is tasty Italian. We went with a huge group of families and White Beach helped us smoothly execute the whole weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Firstly, people who have given WBH bad reviews simply don't get Shimoda, don't get the experience and should likely stay elsewhere. I have been going to Shimoda for over 10 years and White Beach is exactly why I return again and again. The hotel is pleasant, clean and friendly. Relaxing by all means with a pace that makes Tokyo feel galaxies away. Kevin, the Manager, and his staff do a wonderful job of making everyone feel welcome and at home. Whether you are with 12 other families (with 40 kids!!!), as I was last weekend or with 4 mates hanging out for the weekend...you cannot but have a wonderful weekend. Great company, friendly staff, fresh food, wonderful drinks (homemade cellos of various flavors but recommend the chocolate), all 100 meters from the nicest beach in the best beach town on Honshu.

So for all the naysayers, my recommendation is just stay away because you don't get it. If you are looking to put Tokyo in your rearview mirror for a day or a long weekend. You really cannot do any better than this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyNightlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Really laid back. Nice and casual. Great pizzas !
But the rooms are tiny and the bathrooms extremely small and old. Very cool staff.
One major issue : rooms are not cleaned every day !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
196 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The location is just great, very close to the Ohama beach, beautiful white sand and black rocks falling into the sea. The atmosphere is quite nice, contrqsting to usual rigid local style, but service might gain to be a bit more rigourous.
The food is ok, quite nice breakfast and pizza diner. Then, the rooms are extremely small, the bathroom super tiny, and the all, very old and not as clean as one could expect. And by the way, how come that the room is not cleaned every day?
It's a pity with such delicious location.'
If you decide to go, do not miss Sunny side cafe just between the hotel and the beach.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokosuka, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sure the rooms are old, the bathrooms are tiny and there are almost no amenities, but look at the price. We had 4 in a room, it was cozy, but we were at the beach all day so it never mattered. We had an esky/cooler with us so there was always a drink and a snack for the kids. We ate at a café in town and the food was really average. So I would pay the hotel prices and enjoy your food. Pizza was amazing! Fries the best we found over 4 days in the area. Bar was fun, staff friendly and we loved every minute of it. Will be back without a doubt..

Room Tip: Front of the hotel/ocean view rooms slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimoda hotels
Bondi
#24 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Totei
Totei
#10 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
Shimoda Tokyu Hotel
#3 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Uraga
#18 of 67 in Shimoda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Prince Hotel
Shimoda Prince Hotel
#7 of 67 in Shimoda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Shimoda Onsen
Shimoda Bay Kushiro
Shimoda Bay Kushiro
#12 of 67 in Shimoda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Beach Hotel

Property: White Beach Hotel
Address: 1902 Kisami, Shimoda 415-0028 , Shizuoka Prefecture
Location: Japan > Chubu > Shizuoka Prefecture > Shimoda > Shimoda Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 67 Hotels / Ryokan in Shimoda
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Entrance ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing